We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The bread and butter alone would blow many restaurants' main courses out of he water” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Lodge Country House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rowsley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Save
You added East Lodge Country House Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rowsley, Peak District National Park DE4 2EF , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rowsley
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The bread and butter alone would blow many restaurants' main courses out of he water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

It was home-made bread and truffled goats' butter, but still.

We went to celebrate my wife's 60th birthday and had a thoroughly good afternoon, taking the eight course "Chef's Table" tasting menu and the "Wine Flight" that accompanies it. This menu is served in the kitchen and dining on a quiet Monday lunchtime gave us plenty of opportunity to talk to chef.

The wines were gorgeous and well suited to the dishes.

It's not a cookery class and indeed the courses by their are based on largely pre-prepped ingredients put together to complement whatever carefully selected and lightly cooked piece of produce is the basis of the dish. That's not a criticism, just to make sure you know what you're getting. Chef is happy to talk about the food of course.

Any reason you wouldn't like it? While they offer to cater for dietary requirements I can think of some picky eaters who would make the experience less than fun for everyone. Take friends who like good food, cooking and wine! It's handy for the TransPeak and 6.1 buses, or a taxi from Matlock railway station is about £7.

At £65 for the food and £30 for the wine it represents excellent value. Do you ever look at a restaurant menu and wish you could have one of each delicate starter and a glass of each wine they only serve by the bottle? Your dreams have just come true!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    44
    11
    10
    12
See reviews for
49
128
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

A fan of east lodge, something has slipped.
Menu more limited, management noticeably absent, it seems the grass roots are being forgotten. Food excellent but the 'je ne se qui' missing. It says it all when no member of staff was present to return the coats, and bid farewell.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guiseley, UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stopped in this great little hotel for a couple of nights over the weekend. Took one of their Chatsworth deals in an executive room. The room was a lot bigger than I had anticipated and well set out; little too many cushions on the bed for our liking, where on earth are you meant to put them?

The dinner was excellent and the wine list not too expensive. Breakfast was hearty. Service for all the meals we had was attentive but not fussy. Probably lucky to get in as most of the time they seem to do weddings. On this weekend, no weddings and a good mix of residents and non-residents dining,

Thanks to all the staff for a great time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

On arrival staff were very friendly.

Hotel is spottless.

Beautiful location.

Evening meal and breakfast were 5 star.

Over the duration of our stay all staff provided a 1st class service.

Compliments to the chef.

Thank you to the owners.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Suggest you book if you want a table for lunch. This hotel should appear under restaurants as well.
We didn't stay here, we just came for Sunday lunch for my wife's 40th birthday. There were 8 of us, x2 parents, wife and I and our 2 children (8+ 11). We were made to feel welcome from the moment we stepped through the door. The large conservatory has plenty of seating whilst you select from the menu. The menu was "traditional British". However the quality of the food was out-standing. A good wine list and not too overly priced. The dining room was quiet with plenty of space between the various guests. The staff were helpful but not intrusive. At over £30/head with only 1 bottle of wine in that price , this is not the cheapest meal you are going to eat. But with such great food and service go and treat yourself.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We celebrated our wedding anniversary here in September. Everything was perfect. The staff were welcoming and friendly. The room was spacious with lovely views and had a huge bathroom with roll-top bath, large shower cubicle and television! The food was exceptional. We chose the Tasting Menu and each course was presented beautifully and absolutely delicious. We didn't have to travel very far as we live in Derbyshire, but if you were planning to visit the Peak District and wanted somewhere very special to stay, we would have no hesitation in recommending East Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Our son's wedding was held in August, before which we visited and ate twice. Everything worked, the location is stunning and the staff are brilliant. The wedding weekend, from Friday tea to Sunday breakfast was a delight. As a wedding venue, we couldn't give more praise.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to East Lodge Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Lodge Country House Hotel

Address: Rowsley, Peak District National Park DE4 2EF , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Rowsley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rowsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — East Lodge Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
East Hotel Country
East Lodge Country House Hotel Rowsley, Derbyshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Lodge Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.