We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grouse and Claret” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grouse and Claret

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Grouse and Claret to your Saves list
Grouse and Claret
Bakewell Road, Rowsley, Peak District National Park DE4 2EB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Rowsley B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Grouse and Claret”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A lovely restaurant in a beautiful village on the edge of the Chatsworth Estate. There was a good selection of dishes on the menu which seemed to cater for all tastes. The food was served quickly to say it was a Friday night and busy, and the restaurant staff were all really friendly and helpful. The decor was smart and contemporary. All in all an enjoyable evening in lovely surroundings.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    65
    36
    28
    17
See reviews for
43
92
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel/pub is easy to find as it is on the A6. Big car park and an attractive old building ( I think originally it was the Station Hotel as it is near the old railway station) . Inside was a bit of a disappointment as it is has clearly recently had the full design makeover and apart from the sash windows any evidence of its orginal look and character has been obliterated. Although there is a large bar, the rest of the space is devoted to eating . Early evening it was busy with a lot of families, kids shouting etc + it smelled strongly of cooking.
On the positive side , I was booked in quickly and shown to room. No need to pay in advance and drinks, food etc can all be added to the one bill paid for in the morning, which is good. Room was pretty standard for this type of small hotel/ pub with rooms. Not large but adequate: decorations standard OK; good TV: wi fi and strong shower.
Public area was quieter later and good choice of well kept real ales. Menu was similar to similar types of chain pubs. Burgers, Chicken, steaks with various sauces and a couple of salad/fish choices. For breakfast little non cooked choice but nicely presented cooked breakfast . Also served from 7 until 10.
Staff were friendly and helpful. So not much to complain about for £70 a night except a lack of character/ambience from its latest modernisation.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Following our visit to Chatsworth we stayed last Sunday night in this hotel. The room was clean, tidy and comfortable and having a restaurant and bar downstairs was so useful as we were exhausted after our day. The staff were all pleasant and having breakfast in the conservatory Monday morning was extremely nice.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On route to bakewell my wife and I decided to nip in here for a spot of lunch as we have seen it as we have passed many a time.
Once we got in the whole place looks and feels really nice the waitress was easy going but helpful in just the right way.
When we sat down and looked at the menu I was surprised how much choice and variety there was.
I had the yee-ha burger my wife had half a roast chicken and it came out in no time at all, well presented, tasty and filling.
All in all a nice pub with no frills will pop in again I'm sure.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We just had a random drive out looking for a nice restaurant to call at for tea after work. We ended up here and it was a lovely surprise how nice it was. The staff were friendly and the food was lovely and really cheap. I would definitely come here again. I can't wait for the next time!! Would definitely recommend.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel is very well located , easy to find , ample parking , room was a little on the small side but adequate , good shower , but again on the small side , good breakfast , and good food overall ,would use again

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Enjoyed our night stay, room was spacious for the 3 of us, clean, tidy, facilities were good, coffee/tea/biscuits. Enjoyed lunch in the restaurant, good prices, nice food & drink. Staff were friendly. Breakfast was lovely, plenty of it, coffee was fab. Great location for Bakewell, Matlock, Chatsworth.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked car park which wasn't noisy. No noise from downstairs either or other guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grouse and Claret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grouse and Claret

Address: Bakewell Road, Rowsley, Peak District National Park DE4 2EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Rowsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rowsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18th-Century Restaurant/Public House with 8 beautifully appointed double en-suite bedrooms. Situated just 1 minutes drive outside the Peak District National Park we are well situated for all local amenities including Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall, and the towns of Matlock and Bakewell. Nestled to the rear of the Pub, alongside the the River Derwent we also have 29 hard standing pitches with electric-hook-up to accommodate Touring Caravans and Motor homes and a separate Tent field, facilities here include Hot Showers, Toilets, Chemical Toilet disposal and Washing Up facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Grouse and Claret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grouse And Claret Hotel Rowsley
Grouse And Claret Rowsley, Derbyshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grouse and Claret, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.