We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just to eat !!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grouse and Claret

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Grouse and Claret to your Saves list
Grouse and Claret
Bakewell Road, Rowsley, Peak District National Park DE4 2EB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Rowsley B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Just to eat !!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

A family meal out, over an hour to get here and when we arrived we were shown to our table straight away. When every body arrived we were all chatting etc and we were asked if we were ready to order, to which I replied not yet can you give us a minute or two, the waiter came back to ask again and again and again, it was like they were trying to turn the table.
On ordering and after eating the food I was most dissapointed with the quality of my meal, I had a mixed grill, very poor for the price. Nice place on the whole but wouldn't go to eat again . Sorry

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    65
    37
    28
    17
See reviews for
43
93
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

From Nottingham. Stayed with my partner for a week day trip in November 2012. Extremely polite and friendly staff from beginning and on departure. Great quality dining at breakfast and dinner! Superb room and en suite facilities. Look forward to staying with you guys again in the New Year!! :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east of hull
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

i booked a one night stay for my wife and i as a half way meeting point with a friend .
staff were very friendly and efficient
the food was good and fairly priced
the rooms were spotless and nicley decorated
nice atmosphere in the bar with open fires roaring away and a full english with BEANS ........ which made a nice change as alot of places miss them off

all in all could not fault our stay and at a cheap £69 :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The main draw was the extensive menu, which is bound to have something for everyone, and the reasonable pricing. Given this, the food is perfectly adequate and portions overall are generous (apart from the ridiculous nachos - there were only about 5 on the saucer!).
That said, there was no welcome on our arrival (which worked in our favour as we were able to chose a large table next to the roaring log fire), and it took forever to get served at the bar. Add to that the fact that members of waiting staff communicated throughout the meal by shouting at each other across the restaurant, and I can understand some of the criticisms I've read on here.
I can't really justify rating it as poor as the food was actually pretty tasty and the atmosphere warm and cosy on a winter's night, but it's definitely a slightly-below-average.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heanor, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Having booked from the Christmas Fayre menu for the 8th Dec 2012, we found the veg let it down being luke warm and not a good selection, the brussels appeared to be cooked from frozen, not fresh. No bread roll with the soup as per menu, brown bread only and was not given a choice. no bread sauce with the main as per menu, no orange segments in Clementine Orange Pudding more like orange peel and had to look hard to find any. all in all rather Disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just back from a weekend break spent at the Grouse and Claret in Rowsley just a stones throw from Chatsworth.
Jon and his team made us very welcome and our room was in excellent decorative order with a comfortable bed, bath and shower,flat screen tv and fluffy towels.
We ate in the pub on both nights and found the food well presented with good sized portions and attentive friendly staff.
Our breakfast was one of the best we have had with an excellent choice served in the sunny conservatory.

Thankyou and we will see you again in 2013.

Alan & Janice

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisJon, Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thanks for your review, we were very pleased to here your kind comments about our food and service standards. I will pass on your comments to all serving and kitchen staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grouse and Claret when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We came in here for the first time, expecting something bordering on gourmet based upon the name, what we got was something I'd expect from a chain like the Harvester. Management is at fault here I believe. They don't keep their employees in line to give the customer good service instead the waitress and runners go about their duties for the night, ignoring the customers for the most part so that we had to wait on things like our drink orders to arrive because they were left sitting at the bar for far too long (this happened twice!), waiting to place an order for dessert (we gave up waiting in the end and went to go pay the bill instead) and the manager had to step in and help with the food order because we were being completely ignored by our waitress. The kitchen doesn't know the difference between a medium rare steak and medium and rare. I had my dish sent back once, it should have been twice because they couldn't get it right but we wanted to get back to our B&B. The vegetables were all overcooked and therefore inedible. They had a tacky sort of snow maker in the front lobby with an even tackier sign stuck in the middle saying 'don't touch'. They're trying to promote their Christmas menu but frankly I wouldn't even bother. They're clearly after your money without having to provide the good service and food that should go along with it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisJon, Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Grouse and Claret.

I wish to clarify a few of the points that you have raised.

1. We are indeed a "Chain Restaurant", we are part of the Marstons Inns and Taverns Group, who serve very competitively priced food in a pleasant enviroment.

2.Your claim that we didnt provide you with a very high level of customer service resulted in me speaking with your waitress on the evening, who has explained to me how hostile, rude and unfreindly you were towards her, thus hindering her ability to provide you with any sort of service whatsoever.

3. Your comments regarding the snow maker where taken with a pinch of salt as it was enjoyed by our many thousands of customers of all ages during the festive period.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grouse and Claret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grouse and Claret

Address: Bakewell Road, Rowsley, Peak District National Park DE4 2EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Rowsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rowsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18th-Century Restaurant/Public House with 8 beautifully appointed double en-suite bedrooms. Situated just 1 minutes drive outside the Peak District National Park we are well situated for all local amenities including Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall, and the towns of Matlock and Bakewell. Nestled to the rear of the Pub, alongside the the River Derwent we also have 29 hard standing pitches with electric-hook-up to accommodate Touring Caravans and Motor homes and a separate Tent field, facilities here include Hot Showers, Toilets, Chemical Toilet disposal and Washing Up facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Grouse and Claret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grouse And Claret Hotel Rowsley
Grouse And Claret Rowsley, Derbyshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grouse and Claret, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.