We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grouse and Claret

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Grouse and Claret to your Saves list
Grouse and Claret
Bakewell Road, Rowsley, Peak District National Park DE4 2EB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Rowsley B&B and Inns
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Had a lovely lunch today at Grouse and Claret, service was quick, friendly and efficient, food was hot and generous portion, desserts delicious, We have eaten here before and will do again when in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    65
    37
    28
    17
See reviews for
43
93
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Stayed here for one night in February...Clean, Comfortable and friendly. Main room finished to a high standard....bathroom wasn't quite up to the same standard but was clean. Decent TV and heating.

I would probably have given the BnB a strong 3/5 but the breakfast definitely bumps it up to four... Taken by a friendly member of staff the breakfast is cooked to order you choose exactly what you want with very generous portions. There is also fruit, yoghurts and cereal etc. that you can help yourself to...would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

This was our favorite restaurant but not any more. We have dined here numerous times but today was the first since a refurb....unfortunately the previous manageress has retired and a new chef is in place. I know because the soup the uneatable and the veg boiled to death, in fact it was dreadful! I was so disappointed I did ask whether the chef had changed and was told that was the cause. It also explains why the car park was nearly empty on a bank holiday weekend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I've never stayed in a pub before - we usually stay in hotels. Our friends were getting married down the road and this was the nearest place - so very convenient for us.
The rooms were clean and tidy, and we checked in early - which was very handy so we could get changed for the wedding.
The breakfast in the morning was great, just what was needed!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We have been here a couple of times before for meals and enjoyed it, but this last visit was a disaster! My partner got his main course but the other two didn't arrive, twenty minutes later, after asking about them they arrived - cold! We complained and were offered replacements. My partner was finishing as we were starting! My veggie pie was AWFUL! Hard pastry, bland filling. My partner had been served some unopened (inedible) mussels in his dish! Needless to say, we were in no mood for desserts& coffee!
As we left, a member of staff apologised for the late arrival of our main course, explaining that the waiter was a new, young waiter who kept forgetting to serve food. She added, "We just can't get the staff!" our experience has put us off returning.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

I wasn't expecting much but this was a great little place to stay.
Really friendly staff who made us feel welcome and went out of their way to make it a good stay.
20% off in the restaurant/pub in the evening for guests makes it a reasonable price and the food was pretty good.
Best bed I've slept in for ages
Wonderful breakfast, with cereals, juice, unlimited tea/coffee and a good full English.
Highly recommend and they are re-furbishing in March so it will be even better!
Good location for getting up to the Peaks, and Chatsworth etc

Room Tip: Back rooms are quieter and away from the road (these are on your left once upstairs and on corridor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed here for one night. We had a room on the back which was ok, but constant noise throughout the night from the kitchen extraction fan. The bedroom was ok, basic but nice touch with biscuits and toiletries. The bathroom was freezing cold and really needs updating, the grouting round the tiles was brown and looked unclean. The paint around the windows was pealing and there were damp patches.

Evening meal ok, we had the valentine special - it was nice but as we were seated directly opposite the entrance to the toilets, it wasnt what you would call romantic. It is a very busy pub-restaurant, so although we had booked there wasn't anywhere alternative to sit.

They do have a sign up to say it is closing for refurbishment for a short time in a couple of weeks - not sure whether they mean the restaurant or the bedrooms but they definately need to bring the bathrooms up to standard for a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grouse and Claret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grouse and Claret

Address: Bakewell Road, Rowsley, Peak District National Park DE4 2EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Rowsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rowsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18th-Century Restaurant/Public House with 8 beautifully appointed double en-suite bedrooms. Situated just 1 minutes drive outside the Peak District National Park we are well situated for all local amenities including Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall, and the towns of Matlock and Bakewell. Nestled to the rear of the Pub, alongside the the River Derwent we also have 29 hard standing pitches with electric-hook-up to accommodate Touring Caravans and Motor homes and a separate Tent field, facilities here include Hot Showers, Toilets, Chemical Toilet disposal and Washing Up facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Grouse and Claret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grouse And Claret Hotel Rowsley
Grouse And Claret Rowsley, Derbyshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grouse and Claret, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.