We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Altitude 1260 Resort

Altitude 1260 Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Altitude 1260 Resort to your Saves list
Altitude 1260 Resort
226 Westons Road, Crackenback, New South Wales 2627, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Crackenback B&B and Inns
Perth
1 review
“Spectacular and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had a great holiday recently at Altitude 1260 Resort. We were made to feed very welcome when we arrived and were shown around the common areas which were very comfy and had great activities to keep the kids busy.
Rooms were perfect for our family and with the closeness of the rooms too the common areas we were happy to have the kids in our room so we could have some adult time.
Meals were great and had an excellent variety for the week we stayed.
We found Michelle very helpful and she had a great amount of knowledge of the local area and helped us with any questions we had.
The location and views from the resort were second too none and we were lucky enough to get a snow fall whilst staying which really topped off the holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    10
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
19
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Had a great stay at altitude 1260 and will definitely be back again.

The views are spectacular, and you are constantly surrounded by kangaroos, wombats and the like at your doorstep.
Standing on the balcony you look over to the snow covered peaks and with things getting warmer it was great to sit on the deck after a day on the mountain with a glass of wine and relax. There are 2 warm fireplaces in the common room where you can sit and relax in peace and quiet, a pool table, table tennis table and TV in the next room to entertain the kids.
Definitely not a high energy resort but after skiing all day its the perfect place to unwind.

Breakfast each morning was great with a continental breakfast aswell as a hot breakfast offered until 9am and the dinner was beautiful, compliments to the chef.
The staff are always happy and smiling and so quick to help to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.
I look forward to returning in the summer and being able to make use of the pool.
Thankyou again Michelle and Jamie for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Our family went on a ski holiday recently and we stayed at Altitude 1260. The family rooms are really comfortable - we had a room with a queen bed and bunks. We could easily access the drying room (it was on the same floor as our room) and loading everything into it meant our room space was clutter free! Views were AMAZING from every area of the lodge and when we came back each day the kids were able to see kangaroos and wallabies on the lawn feeding. We were able to play table tennis with the kids and I taught my son to play pool too! The TV room was great and all the families mingled with stories of the day while the kids played games from the games cupboard - the kids loved twister!

Breakfast was early and helped us get to lessons on time. Dinner was limited menu but food was always good and really appropriate for the kids. Once the kids were in bed we were able to enjoy a glass of wine by the open fire in the lounge room and chat with other guests.

We caught the ski tube to Perisher each day and it was quick to get there, no hassles with traffic and no delays getting down the hill.

Staff were helpful, accommodating and great with the kids. We will definitely be returning.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Really enjoyed our recent stay at Altitude 1260. Located on top of a peak- the hospitaility of the staff , the morning sunsets, the views of the snow peaks, the closeness of the wombats and kangaroos , as well as the evening stars makes this place worth staying and revisiting. Michelle- manager of Altitude 1260 is great and is always obliging in providing information on the activities, eateries and sites that Jindabyne and the surrounding areas have to offer. The breakfasts are generous and hearty and keep you going all day. Just outside of Jindabyne - it is a convenient mid point between the snowfileds and Jindabyne. Thankyou again for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My partner and I stayed with Altitude 1260 for a weekend, We had an amazing time and would stay here again.

The trip was made a short notice and Michelle did everything she could to accommodate us and make us feel at home.

The rooms have been freshly renovated and are very comfortable. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are very warm.

We did have dinner at Altitude 1260 on the Saturday night of our stay and can not give enough credit to the chefs food and the wait staff where great.

Over all I would recommend this place and we will definitely be back to stay again.
Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile


ALTITUDE 1260 is NOT a resort! 

It is in every aspect a large bed & breakfast! This should be known to people prior to booking! The website is misleading in implying it is a resort!

The only pros are; the bed is very comfortable, the room is clean & cosy, and the view is nice. 

If you like a b&b u will be happy here. 

When you see 'resort' you think luxurious & fancy, NOT b&b with a communal tv ONLY.
People should know there are
- No tvs in the room
- no fridge/bar fridge in the room or even a common fridge.
 If you have brought food for yourself or your children you may as well throw it out on arrival. It was very difficult having hungry children and nowhere to keep food for them. 
Once the kids went to bed we had NOTHING to do. We weren't going to leave the kids in the room alone to go to the communal tv.
The walls were paper thin which meant my kids had to listen to the 'honeymooners' next door every night. Very uncomfortable. 
- so called 'licensed bar' is no bigger than an everyday breakfast bar at your own home, which closes very early. Strictly no BYO plus a communal tv leaves you wondering why on earth you are paying a ridiculous amount to be back at school camp. 
Fellow guests expressed their shock upon arrival just like ourselves. First thing they mention is 'we didn't know there had no tv or fridge'
The so called cable tv in the lounge room has the sports channels and that's it, but expect to watch cartoons all night anyway. 
you have to ring someone if you go out for the night and enter after 9:30pm, if it's after midnight you can't get in!
The 'restaurnt' has an option of 2 meals and they tell you what time you have to eat. 
You have no privacy, and with all the rules that are thrown down your throat on arrival it's a very uncomfortable stay.
Bottom line is it was a very awkward, outdated, and boring stay. The only trip we could not wait to end.
The manager is very quick to reply to all negative comments. We are just being honest & if your accommodation is listed as a large B&B you probably won't have people who expect a 'Resort' leaving negative comments. 

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altitude1260, Manager at Altitude 1260 Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback. I am disappointed to read that your stay did not meet your expectations.

Fridges and TV's are not in the rooms, however, this is noted on our website. It is unfortunate that your expectation was different.

For the security of our guests and staff the lodge is secured at about 9:30pm each night, however, our number is listed at the front door and management can be contacted to come and open the door or there is a doorbell.

Thank you for your comments and please feel free to contact me directly if you wish to discuss further.

Regards,

The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed recently for a weekend and had high expectations of an amazing place based on previous reviews. Sadly it missed the bar for us. The place is in need of renovation, rooms and living areas are all quite dated. As a B&B it was lovely, but it is definately not a resort.

Wasn't a fan of the hot breakfast - there was no choice of what was served - either you had a hot breakfast or you didn't, and the portions were tiny, but I suppose it was part of the room rate.

For dinner, there is no menu in their "restaurant", merely a choice of 2 entrees, 2 mains and 2 deserts. As a paying guest I would of liked to have been told how much they would be charging for these 3 courses, but that wasn't mentioned either. It wasn't until we checked out that we worked it out ourselves that it was around $80 for 2 adults and a child. I'm sure some people would want to know this beforehand.

The bar area is literally a bar for 4-6 people to be seated - that's it. Can be quite loud when you are trying to have a quiet dinner with the bar right next to you.

The beds were comfy but room was very tiny for a family room. Was especially disappointed to see there was no bathtub in the family room - young children don't do well in showers! And yes I agree with a previous reviewer, the walls are paper thin. You can hear people walking down the hallway in their ski gear - not nice at 6am when you're still trying to sleep.

All in all it is cheaper than other places for a reason. If you're after something that isn't flash then this place is perfect. If you want the wow factor I would pay a bit more and go somewhere else. We wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors would have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altitude1260, Manager at Altitude 1260 Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to offer us feedback on your stay. I am disappointed to read that your stay was not what you hoped for. Unfortunately not every venue is going to be the right fit for every customer.

You are correct in stating that breakfasts are part of the accommodation price, however, upon check-in all guests are advised of dinner prices and informed about the menu selections for the evening.

Our bar actually seats 8 - 10 people, however, most people chose to languish in front of the fire with a glass of wine or port to relax in the evening. The dividing wall between the bar and dining area acts as an effective buffer to any noise in the bar.

Our family rooms are considered generous for the snowy mountains area and were refurbished at the beginning of the year. We do not advertise that our family rooms have baths as clearly this is not the case.

Thank you for recognizing how well priced our accommodation is and again for taking the time to offer us your opinion.

Kind regards,

The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Altitude 1260 Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altitude 1260 Resort

Address: 226 Westons Road, Crackenback, New South Wales 2627, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Crackenback
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Crackenback
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of what the NSW Snowy Mountains has to offer at Altitude 1260. With breath-taking panoramic views from Lake Jindabyne through to the mountain peaks of Kosciusko, this year round resort is located on over 255 acres of natural bushland. A unique mountain retreat in the stunning Snowy Mountains, Altitude 1260 is the perfect location from which to explore and discover the landscape of the NSW High Country.Ideally situated 10 minutes from Jindabyne and 20 minutes from Thredbo, the resort has 12 ensuite rooms, games room, licenced bar, large common areas and heated outdoor swimming pool. A true lodge experience is created for our winter guests with a family friendly emphasis.Throughout summer Altitude 1260 is a boutique resort able to cater for weddings, intimate conferences, team building retreats and exclusive group bookings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Altitude 1260 Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altitude 1260 Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.