We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Snow Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Altitude 1260 Resort

Altitude 1260 Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Altitude 1260 Resort to your Saves list
Altitude 1260 Resort
226 Westons Road, Crackenback, New South Wales 2627, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Crackenback B&B and Inns
Melbourne
1 review
“Amazing Snow Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My partner and I stayed with Altitude 1260 for a weekend, We had an amazing time and would stay here again.

The trip was made a short notice and Michelle did everything she could to accommodate us and make us feel at home.

The rooms have been freshly renovated and are very comfortable. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are very warm.

We did have dinner at Altitude 1260 on the Saturday night of our stay and can not give enough credit to the chefs food and the wait staff where great.

Over all I would recommend this place and we will definitely be back to stay again.
Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    10
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
19
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile


ALTITUDE 1260 is NOT a resort! 

It is in every aspect a large bed & breakfast! This should be known to people prior to booking! The website is misleading in implying it is a resort!

The only pros are; the bed is very comfortable, the room is clean & cosy, and the view is nice. 

If you like a b&b u will be happy here. 

When you see 'resort' you think luxurious & fancy, NOT b&b with a communal tv ONLY.
People should know there are
- No tvs in the room
- no fridge/bar fridge in the room or even a common fridge.
 If you have brought food for yourself or your children you may as well throw it out on arrival. It was very difficult having hungry children and nowhere to keep food for them. 
Once the kids went to bed we had NOTHING to do. We weren't going to leave the kids in the room alone to go to the communal tv.
The walls were paper thin which meant my kids had to listen to the 'honeymooners' next door every night. Very uncomfortable. 
- so called 'licensed bar' is no bigger than an everyday breakfast bar at your own home, which closes very early. Strictly no BYO plus a communal tv leaves you wondering why on earth you are paying a ridiculous amount to be back at school camp. 
Fellow guests expressed their shock upon arrival just like ourselves. First thing they mention is 'we didn't know there had no tv or fridge'
The so called cable tv in the lounge room has the sports channels and that's it, but expect to watch cartoons all night anyway. 
you have to ring someone if you go out for the night and enter after 9:30pm, if it's after midnight you can't get in!
The 'restaurnt' has an option of 2 meals and they tell you what time you have to eat. 
You have no privacy, and with all the rules that are thrown down your throat on arrival it's a very uncomfortable stay.
Bottom line is it was a very awkward, outdated, and boring stay. The only trip we could not wait to end.
The manager is very quick to reply to all negative comments. We are just being honest & if your accommodation is listed as a large B&B you probably won't have people who expect a 'Resort' leaving negative comments. 

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altitude1260, Manager at Altitude 1260 Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback. I am disappointed to read that your stay did not meet your expectations.

Fridges and TV's are not in the rooms, however, this is noted on our website. It is unfortunate that your expectation was different.

For the security of our guests and staff the lodge is secured at about 9:30pm each night, however, our number is listed at the front door and management can be contacted to come and open the door or there is a doorbell.

Thank you for your comments and please feel free to contact me directly if you wish to discuss further.

Regards,

The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed recently for a weekend and had high expectations of an amazing place based on previous reviews. Sadly it missed the bar for us. The place is in need of renovation, rooms and living areas are all quite dated. As a B&B it was lovely, but it is definately not a resort.

Wasn't a fan of the hot breakfast - there was no choice of what was served - either you had a hot breakfast or you didn't, and the portions were tiny, but I suppose it was part of the room rate.

For dinner, there is no menu in their "restaurant", merely a choice of 2 entrees, 2 mains and 2 deserts. As a paying guest I would of liked to have been told how much they would be charging for these 3 courses, but that wasn't mentioned either. It wasn't until we checked out that we worked it out ourselves that it was around $80 for 2 adults and a child. I'm sure some people would want to know this beforehand.

The bar area is literally a bar for 4-6 people to be seated - that's it. Can be quite loud when you are trying to have a quiet dinner with the bar right next to you.

The beds were comfy but room was very tiny for a family room. Was especially disappointed to see there was no bathtub in the family room - young children don't do well in showers! And yes I agree with a previous reviewer, the walls are paper thin. You can hear people walking down the hallway in their ski gear - not nice at 6am when you're still trying to sleep.

All in all it is cheaper than other places for a reason. If you're after something that isn't flash then this place is perfect. If you want the wow factor I would pay a bit more and go somewhere else. We wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors would have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altitude1260, Manager at Altitude 1260 Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to offer us feedback on your stay. I am disappointed to read that your stay was not what you hoped for. Unfortunately not every venue is going to be the right fit for every customer.

You are correct in stating that breakfasts are part of the accommodation price, however, upon check-in all guests are advised of dinner prices and informed about the menu selections for the evening.

Our bar actually seats 8 - 10 people, however, most people chose to languish in front of the fire with a glass of wine or port to relax in the evening. The dividing wall between the bar and dining area acts as an effective buffer to any noise in the bar.

Our family rooms are considered generous for the snowy mountains area and were refurbished at the beginning of the year. We do not advertise that our family rooms have baths as clearly this is not the case.

Thank you for recognizing how well priced our accommodation is and again for taking the time to offer us your opinion.

Kind regards,

The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for a long weekend. Overall we had an enjoyable stay however have a few critisisums.
Firstly the walls of the rooms were paper thin therefore didn't get a good nights sleep at all during our stay.
Our bed was two singles pushed together resulting in a uncomfortable gap/lump in the middle of the bed.
The cooked breakfast was exactly the same each morning and very limited.
Also there are no TV's in the room so if your hoping to relax after a long day on the slopes with a movie in bed take a lap top!
And finally we were disappointed that there was no dinner served on Friday nights, we had to drive approx 20mins into jindabyne to get a meal.
However the room was very nice and has a very spectacular view! The common area also is lovely with two fires and very comfortable lounges.
The owner is very friendly and made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altitude1260, Manager at Altitude 1260 Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. It is important to hear what people value in their time at Altitude 1260 and equally important to listen to the points that people feel could improve. It's great that you were able to appreciate the view that is available from both the rooms and common areas of the lodge. Equally, I was pleased that the cosy feel of the lounge area with the large open fire had appealed to you.

It is surprising to hear you were unable to sleep during your stay as this has never been raised before and our internal walls are actually blockwork (very thick) and provide excellent insulation and sound proofing properties.

The beds in the downstairs rooms are actually king-single zips that allow flexibility to accommodate couples or two singles wishing to share the room. These beds are brand new this season and are clipped, zipped and locked together. The beds are to a commercial standard and widely used within the industry. There are no gaps or lumps in the beds.

Whilst we do not provide TV’s in each of the rooms there are two TV’s provided in the common areas of the lodge – one in the games area and another at the bar. We feel that maintaining peace in the accommodation area is key and by keeping TV’s in the common areas it minimises disruption to the rooms and our guests. Additionally it is great to have guests mingling and all the children playing together as well as quiet time in front of the fire.

Our restaurant operates six (6) nights a week – Saturday to Thursday. With a large number of guests checking in on Fridays it is impractical to run the restaurant as most people check in later in the evening after travelling from Sydney. It has been our experience that most people are very happy to take a 10 minute drive to nearby Jindabyne for dinner and we clearly list on our website the nights of operation for the restaurant.

Breakfast has always been designed to be a quick, hearty start to a days skiing and with toast, cereal, juice, bacon, eggs, tomatoes as well as tea & coffee for adults and the addition of hash browns for the kids instead of tomatoes it should be enough to kick start the day. Individual orders for eggs cooked in a variety of ways each morning would slow everyone down and make for a delayed snow experience.

I’m so glad that you felt welcomed and comfortable during your stay with us and I hope that you feel able to contact me directly to discuss any of your points further.
Finally, thank you for taking the time to offer valuable feedback.

Kind regards,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheelers Hill, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We decided to travel at very short notice in the middle of the winter season, to see our son compete in a snowboard comp at Perisher. Michelle found us a family room for two nights. The family room was practical clean and neat. The staff moved us after two nights, to enable us to stay one more night. Our next room had a comfy couch, very large Kingsize bed and was very warm and cozy, with a large glass sliding door that opened to the alpine air and overlooked the Mountains. Beautiful sunrise over Lake Jindabyne in the distance.
Plenty to do in the evening, watching Olympics on the big telly or sitting quietly in front of the fire with a book.
We found it far enough away from the crowds of the snow and the quiet and stillness was perfect. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains National Park, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We just had our 6th great stay at Altitude 1260. We keep coming back because it is away from the hustle and bustle of the local towns and has fantastic views of Jindabyne. For us it is centrally located as we like to ski both Perisher and Thredbo. Michelle is a fun loving host and always checking to make sure everything is ok. Thanks for another great stay Michelle.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Loved it! We are a family of five and were made to feel extremely welcome in this well appointed, homely accommodation in a beautiful setting with amazing views of the mountains and Lake Jindabyne. We drove in at 7pm and skied the next 2 days at Perisher/Smiggins which was only 20 minutes drive away. Thredbo is probably even closer. Had one dinner in Jindabyne itself, only 10 minutes away and the other dinner at the resort. Again, a relaxed and enjoyable experience. The included breakfasts were a great start to the day and drying and ski rooms were easily accessible for our gear.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Altitude 1260 Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altitude 1260 Resort

Address: 226 Westons Road, Crackenback, New South Wales 2627, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Crackenback
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Crackenback
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of what the NSW Snowy Mountains has to offer at Altitude 1260. With breath-taking panoramic views from Lake Jindabyne through to the mountain peaks of Kosciusko, this year round resort is located on over 255 acres of natural bushland. A unique mountain retreat in the stunning Snowy Mountains, Altitude 1260 is the perfect location from which to explore and discover the landscape of the NSW High Country.Ideally situated 10 minutes from Jindabyne and 20 minutes from Thredbo, the resort has 12 ensuite rooms, games room, licenced bar, large common areas and heated outdoor swimming pool. A true lodge experience is created for our winter guests with a family friendly emphasis.Throughout summer Altitude 1260 is a boutique resort able to cater for weddings, intimate conferences, team building retreats and exclusive group bookings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Altitude 1260 Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altitude 1260 Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.