We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pender's Barn - Our Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pender Lea Chalets

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crackenback
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pender Lea Chalets
1056 Alpine Way, Crackenback, New South Wales 2627, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pender's Barn - Our Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We recently stayed at Pender Lea Chalet's Pender's Barn from end of July to early August 2013. From the moment we opened the door we were in heaven. The atmosphere of the barn is amazing, it is well equipped [loved cooking in the kitchen], enjoyed evenings by the fire [which was well stocked with wood] and with the convenient location we were left to want for nothing at all. The bathrooms are stunning, the house is well heated [the underfloor heating is delicious], there are beautiful windows showing off the gorgeous countryside, wildlife is abundant and for kids the layout of the house is exciting and fun. Before leaving we tried to devise a plan to buy the house so as not to leave! I am sure Pender Lea Chalet's would never sell it, as it's one of a kind, however, if they do they know who to call :)] We will be back annually and already planning our next visit to the Snowy Mountains - a special time indeed. Many thanks Pender Lea Chalet's - see you soon!

Room Tip: If you like a quieter room there are two rooms you access by walking straight ahead from the front d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albury, NSW
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We ( 4 adults, 3 teenagers) stayed in the 2 bedroom chalet and loft. The place was spotless, well equipped kitchen and arriving at 9.30pm when it was -2 degrees walked into a beautifully warm building with a fireplace all set to go. The beds were great the loft a bit squishy height wise but it is after all, a loft and only for sleeping. Great location between Jindabyne and Thredbo and close proximity to Wildbrumby Schnapps Distillery which has wonderful food. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Four of us (2 couples ) stayed 2nights at Pender Lea chalets in early April. Loved it! Spotless comfortable beautifully equipped duplex in a great location providing easy access to Thredbo and Jindabyne as well as several other resorts. Sauna and spa are great not to mention the fantastic fireplace! Good value for groups (sleeps 7) but maybe a little squeezy with more than 4-5.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My friend and I stayed two nights in the Bedsitter, which a nice little studio with kitchen, comfy bed, and a nice outlook over the property.

We booked in for the Alpine lakes walk deal. This included 2 nights accommodation, a guided walk run by Thredbo and a breakfast basket. The basket was fantastic, filled with breakfast items for us to make a huge hot breakfast as well as fruit and cereal, etc.

The room itself was very cosy and had everything we needed, my only qualm would be with the shower which was a little temperamental (going hot and cold).... not what you're wanting after our long walk. Also as the bedsitter is attached to the cottage we were awoken by footsteps and voices coming through the walls and ceiling above.

The property is not hard to find however we arrived at about 7pm in the dark and I think we went up every single possible drive-way before we found the bedsitter, which we only found because the guests in the cottage directed us where to go. There could perhaps be better signage once you enter the property, or clearer directions before you arrive.

Besides that we had a lovely time in our cosy room, and also horse riding on the property. The location is an easy distance to Thredbo and Jindabyne, and just down the road from Wild Brumby Schnapps distillery which had delicious schnapps for tasting and a great place for lunch!

I would stay here again. If I managed to get a bigger group I think the Cottage, Barn or Post office would be excellent to stay in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have stayed at Pender Lea several times now at different locations. I find the property a very good value and some locations outstanding. The Barn is top of the line with a great feel especially in the winter, heated floors are a luxury appreciated after a hard day of skiing. Owners are easy to communicate with and a pleasure to deal with. This is my favourite spot in the Snowy Mountains.

Room Tip: The Barn is outstanding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I recently spent 2 nights in one of the chalets in the bush. I was not aware at the time of booking that the chalet was a duplex. The first night was fine as we didn't have a neighbour but the second night was spoilt by noisy neighbours. A cottage in the bush with noisy neighbours!
The decor is dated and we had to hire linen and towels. I also think a few basics such as tissues, fly spray, tea, coffee and milk would be appreciated. I would look for somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't book a duplex with noisy neighbours !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have been using these chalets for skiing and for March long weekends in Autumn for decades. They are great value and a true, test-of-time design. There are a few times during the year where the wear-and-tear is showing. I think the owners must go "all out" for the ski crowd (you even get linen and towels then) but in the off-season, the kitchen equipment, pillows etc are all a bit worn and overused. However, this is a superb location and the chalet designs are excellent allowing for every room to have its own ensuite. We use it for grown-ups during ski season and our Autumn sojourn involves about 12 kids and 20 adults (we book all 4 chalets).

Room Tip: The "uphill" chalets are the bigger ones (3 ensuite bedrooms + single sleeping in loft and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pender Lea Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pender Lea Chalets

Address: 1056 Alpine Way, Crackenback, New South Wales 2627, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Crackenback
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty lodging in Crackenback
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pender Lea Chalets are sited on 2800 acres of bushland adjoining the Koscuiszko National Park, convenient to the skitube and Thredbo Alpine Village, with quick access to the ski slopes and the Alpine country. Lake Jindabyne with its water sports is just minutes away. Have a fishing holiday on our property where the Thredbo River flows deep with a series of pools and running rapids. Thredbo in the summer offers walking tracks, mountain bike tracks, kyacking and much more. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pender Lea Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pender Lea Chalets to your Saves list