We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Habitats

Save Saved
You added Alpine Habitats to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alpine Habitats
4.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   11 Wollondibby Rd | corner Alpine Way & Wollondibby, Crackenback, New South Wales 2627, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

its more 20 minutes from the Thredbo slopes and dinner near by in the Crackenback Cottage is sensational.

The only thing I guess I would criticise was a knock on the door at 10.10 am asking us to ensure that we promptly depart. For a 4 1/2 star rating, I would expect better courtesy in this respect.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    7
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

We have now stayed here 3 times and this place is wonderful. The chalets are clean and new and yo ufeel good that the place is eco-frinedly. It is not in the hub of Thredbo Village so if you like long nights apres ski it may not suit but for families it is ideal. I am happy to drop the kids at the skifields or atthe Perisher Tube (only 3-4 kms away) and then to go back tothe chalet to walk or rest. I would seriously recommend this place to anyone travelling up to the skifields

Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

What a place - if you are going to Thedbo or Jundabyne then look no further - Alpine Habitats is the place to stay _ eco friendly and true to its name. Apartments have everything you need and the location is breathtaking. Cant wait to go back when theres snow around!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

I stayed at Alpine Habitats in August 2007 for a long weekend with my family and really really really loved this place!!!

It's new, clean, comfortable and convenient to both Thredbo and Perisher.

Our 'Habitat' had 2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, a combined lounge/dining area and a great little kitchen/kitchenette. There was also an outdoor area with a BBQ but it was too cold during our stay to make use of this. There was room for 2 cars each 'Habitat'.

I loved that it was clean and modern!!! It was warm, clean and comfortable.

I am looking forward to returning some time summer and winter!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights in January during very hot weather. Eco-friendly accommodation. Brand new facilities. 2 bedrooms. Kitchen with dishwasher and fridge. Outdoor barbecue. Methanol fuel fire for the winter. Convenient for Thredbo and Jindabyne. Would recommend this location if you don't mind driving out or cooking your own meals. Watch out for the kangaroos in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alpine Habitats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Habitats

Address: 11 Wollondibby Rd | corner Alpine Way & Wollondibby, Crackenback, New South Wales 2627, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Crackenback
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty lodging in Crackenback
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alpine Habitats 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Alpine Habitats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Habitats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.