We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel or Hotel!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Banning House Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Banning House Lodge to your Saves list
Banning House Lodge
1 Banning House Road, Two Harbors, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Two Harbors B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dallas, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hostel or Hotel!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The good: Gorgeous view, secluded and rustic..simple and quiet...vintage hotel. Linens are good quality and beds comfortable...atmosphere is peaceful. We had young children with us and they were 100% safe running on the grounds and on the beach without a lot of supervision.

The bad: The staff is indifferent and appears frustrated and removed. The shuttle bus does not have regular hours, we were staying on a boat in the harbour, our freinds stayed in the Banning House. The staff refused to pick up our guest at the dock no later than 8pm. Our guests rushed to leave a lovely dinner on board our boat to meet the driver who was then 2o minutes late. The van is filthy dirty. The hotel common rooms are dusty and drab. The bathrooms were not recently cleaned. We had to ask for toillett paper two or three times.There is a simple kitchen which does not have an oven.(so hard to cook a hot meal) Guests can store food in the fridge. For 200$ a night a room, I expect more than what is offered at a hostel.

The ugly: The place is a diamond in the rough. The views alone are worth the dirty floors and poor service its just sad as it could be a wonderful little hotel with a fantastic organic cafe. Unfortunately, who ever is running it seems to have missed the point. If you have a few million dollars offer to buy it..If you fix it up I guarantee you will double your money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    22
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
15
35
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just stayed at Banning hotel with two young kids. Lovely views and location. Easy to have young kids there because so little they can get into. Basic rooms but comfortable. Felt that the staff had a mediocre attitude-the fact that this wasn't a pristine hotel didn't bother me but it was symbolic of a place that has unfortunately been Let go a bit and no one cared enough to make it the amazing place it can and should be. Seems like no one was trying to do any more than they had to. If one is staying a $200.00 place one shouldn't have to track down toilet paper!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My finacee and I spent our anniversary here and it was so lovely and charming! The new manager there was more than accommodating and helpful. Learning the history behind the building (first a summer home to brothers who owned Catalina Island, then as a base for the military during WW2 to a girls school!) improved the place for me. Gorgeous view and a pretty good breakfast. Hiking and buffalo just steps away from the Banning House. If you want a quiet, outdoorsy, and beautiful vacation on a decent budget here is the place to go. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights. Very nice and quiet place. We enjoyed the fresh fruit and toast breakfast. After each hick was hard to take the stairs up hill to the room. But the view worth the hike to the room. Overall I really liked it and will come back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrightwood, CA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Right from the beginning, the service was excellent, thanks to Hillary. We went in the winter and had amazing weather (60* at night / 70* day) and therefore had excellent rates. The walls are a little thin, and as a result, sound travels. The hotel is quaint, honest and beautiful. Amazing views and access to all amenities that Two Harbors has to offer. Looking for the quiet, romantic place to spend with your loved one, look no further.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

G'Day, Trippers - let me tell you a little something about Santa Catalina Island: for those of you who have never been there and are looking to do the trendy thing, do the Avalon gig (the main port): it has bars, shops, tourist crap and overpriced everything. You will enjoy it once... Once being the key word. For those of you looking for relaxation, aka Tranquility, take the extra few moments to ride the ferry over to the other part of the island and visit Two Harbors. If you are not in the mood for tent-camping or lodge-camping (nobody likes getting up in the middle of the night to take a crap outside unless you grew up in the jungle... oh wait: I grew up in the jungle; ya'll are on your own), make a point of staying at the Banning House. BRILLIANT! No TV's, no noise, complete darkness so you can see the stars at night, fishing is wonderful, a semi-long walk to go surfing, Sarah, Cassie, & Cate are extraordinary hostesses, Jayson at the Harbor Reef Restaurant is great. Just look out for the sharks (oh wait, that was on the Avalon side... and I'm not talking about the fish)... Enjoy when you can.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We took advantage of a ferry/hotel package and stayed for 2 nights. The hotel is an historic building up on a hill affording excellent views. Our room was clean, quaintly decorated with good views of the water and adjacent to a communal outdoor patio. Upon check in, the hotel staff took us on a quick tour of the hotel - there is a walk in refrigerator in the kitchen stocked with juices, soft drinks, fruit, ice cream etc. that you can help yourself to any time. (You keep track with an honor system tab.) The rear outdoor patio had views of the two harbors and was a perfect place to read or have that late afternoon glass of wine. The continental breakfast was fresh and plentiful - bagels, cereal, toast, fruit, yogurt, tea, coffee. No TV or phones in the rooms which contributes to the tranquil scene. Overall, a very positive experience

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banning House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banning House Lodge

Address: 1 Banning House Road, Two Harbors, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Two Harbors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the West End of the island, the Banning House Lodge was built in 1910 as the summer home for the pioneering Banning brothers, who owned Santa Catalina Island. Now a charming, Craftsman-style bed and breakfast, the Banning House Lodge offers sweeping views of the Isthmus of Catalina and Catalina Harbor from its romantic, hilltop perch above Two Harbors A complimentary continental breakfast is served daily in the charming dining room. Van shuttle service between the lodge and Two Harbors village is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Banning House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banning House Hotel Two Harbors
Banning House Lodge Catalina Island/Two Harbors, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banning House Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.