We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short but sweet stay at the Heulfre!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heulfre B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maerdy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heulfre B&B
Save
You added Heulfre B&B to your Saves list
Dinmael, Maerdy, Corwen LL21 0NY, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Maerdy B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Short but sweet stay at the Heulfre!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful overnight stay at the Heulfre. Unfortunately it was only for one night which is not nearly long enough for this charming B&B. The hosts Malcolm and Sheila were lovely and welcoming, really couldn't do enough to cater for our every need - Malcolm even dropped us off and picked us up from a wedding that we were attending near by - now thats what you call service!

We stayed in a lovely room with comfy twin beds and had the sole use of a gorgeous bathroom with a luxury roll top bath. Towels were fluffy and white, bath robes and amenities were provided, internet was free and the breakfast was beautifully made to order. Everywhere was spotlessly clean, not a speck of dust to be found!

I would not hesitate to return here or to recommend this B&B which was miles better than some of the 5 star hotels I've stayed in!

Thanks Malcolm and Sheila for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful and decorated excellently!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeulfreBnB, Owner at Heulfre B&B, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for a lovely review. We really do appreciate your comments and would love to see you again, so that you take more time to relax and perhaps explore this beautiful area which is so often overlooked

Sorry it's taken a while for us to reply..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We've just returned from a 2 night stay in Heulfre because we were attending a family wedding at Plas Isaf locally. We basically just turned up at the house on the day to quickly introduce ourselves and pick up a door key as we weren't sure what time we would be returning that evening. Sheila and Malcolm were very welcoming and extremely helpful. Malcolm offered to drop us off at the wedding venue and kindly offered to pick us up later which meant we were both able to have a drink without worrying about driving. We had chosen room 2 which had a lovely, comfortable 4 poster bed and good solid furniture. A lot of effort and thought had obviously gone in to making the room very comfortable. The owners have an excellent eye for design and colour. The shower room was great. Fab shower and the toiletries were of a nice quality, plenty of brilliant white fluffy towels. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. Full English was tasty, plentiful and hot........yum. Should make particular mention of the homemade bread, marmalade AND delicious dried apricots seeped in a lemongrass, ginger and star anise syrup. We would recommend Heulfre and its lovely hosts to anyone and hope to go back again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeulfreBnB, Owner at Heulfre B&B, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you Jillian for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that we helped to make your stay an enjoyable one. Sorry it's taken so long for us to reply, we've had a busy year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a great break over a couple of nights in connection with a wedding locally. On arrival we had a warm welcome from Malcolm and Sheila who were very helpful and attentive throughout our stay. We had chosen room 3 which was really nicely furnished with some intresting furniture including the French carved bed (No aching back in the morning like some places we have stayed). The bathroom was well appointed, very clean and the roll-top bath was a nice change from the norm. Breakfast was excellent, with plenty of choice (cooked/ceriel etc) and worth the stay in itself! It is set amongst beautiful countryside and there are plenty of places to visit locally. Our only regret was not being to stay at Heulfre and relax a little longer; we didn't get to sit in the garden and chill out as we had to get back to reallity. We would thoroughly recommend Heufre, if your looking to stay in this area, don't think twice - book it!

Room Tip: I had the oppertunity to look at all the rooms at a point when they were un-occupied. They are all n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeulfreBnB, Owner at Heulfre B&B, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're glad you had a pleasant stay. Would be nice see you again, when you might have more time to relax and explore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Surrounded by stunning natural landscapes, the Heulfre is situated in a picturesque part of North Wales. The hosts, Malcolm and Sheila, were very welcoming and friendly. It was a nice surprise to be offered some home-made cake on our arrival which was gladly welcomed after our long drive!

The décor of each room has been delicately designed, matching its Victorian heritage, with furnished wood, eloquent bathrooms and even the lighting is matched accordingly. Everything was very clean and well kept and – strange it may seem – the carpets need a mention; they were soft and luxurious to walk on. There were also complimentary beverage refreshments in the room with fresh milk included.

For breakfast, we had some impressive full-cooked meals (locally sourced) and enjoyed the home-made toast with delicious home-made jams.

All in all a very high standard B & B, definitely worth a stay if you're in that area.

Room Tip: The middle bedroom had a very comfortable four-poster bed and a nice large walk in shower and lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeulfreBnB, Owner at Heulfre B&B, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and the compliments about the rooms and the food. We are pleased you
enjoyed the rooms as much as we enjoyed creating them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Sheila and Malcolm made us feel at home as soon as we arrived (home made cake!) and during our two day stay they went out of their way to help us including a free dropoff and midinight pickup from the wedding at nearby Maesmor Hall (much need though its only about 20 min walk away) and breakfast whenever suited us rather than the 8-9:30 we are used to.
We had two double rooms which were both unique and extravegant! Ours (Room 2) had an amazingly comfortable 4 poster bed and high spec modern bathroom while our friend had a great double (Room 3) with massive rolltop bath. There were only 3 rooms so we were glad we booked well in advance for the wedding. The full English breakfast was freshly made to order and perfectly cooked by Sheila with the home made Damsom jam and Star Anise apricots being other highlights.
Overall we found that for £70 it was amazing value with the place being made by its owners attention to detail and hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeulfreBnB, Owner at Heulfre B&B, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you felt at home and that we added to your enjoyment of your friend's wedding day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

A well maintained & tastefully decorated B&B run by the warmest hosts in entire Wales. Stayed only a night here along with my parents & family, but it was enough for the owners to leave a lasting impression. Highly recommend.

Regards,
Praveen

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeulfreBnB, Owner at Heulfre B&B, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments.
It was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us. We enjoyed talking with you
and your enthusiasm for what we have done with the house has made us very proud.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We booked a room here as we were attending a wedding at Maesmor Hall nearby. Our room was a lovely large room with a beautiful & comfortable bed and lovely views of the countryside. There were three of us so we had an extra foldaway bed which my friend said was perfectly comfortable. The room had a large ensuite bathroom with a roll-top bath which I sadly didnt have time to try out! The house was spotless, the sheets were fantastically fresh & clean, and we were even supplied with some homemade fruit cake with our tea & coffee making facilities. The breakfast is brilliant with the option of cereals, juices and full english breakfast. The cherry on the cake was the wonderful hospitality from Malcolm and Sheila, we felt very welcome and Malcolm even gave us a lift to the wedding and collected us at the end of the evening which saved us from what I feared was going to be a very long wait for a taxi. I could not recommend this place any higher and if I was ever back in the area I would definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeulfreBnB, Owner at Heulfre B&B, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments.

We are glad you had an enjoyable stay, and would look forward to seeing you again, maybe with time enough to relax in that bath.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heulfre B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heulfre B&B

Address: Dinmael, Maerdy, Corwen LL21 0NY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Corwen > Maerdy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Maerdy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heulfre provides quality Four-Star accommodation within a warm and welcoming traditional Victorian House. Corwen-bedandbreakfast Conveniently situated on the A5 Heulfre is centrally located for Snowdonia, Llangollen, Dee Valley, Bala, Chester and much moreEnjoy a comfortable and relaxing stay in richly furnishedrooms. (Antique bed, four poster, roll top baths, en-suite bathroom).Start the day with a traditional British breakfast, cooked to order, with home baked bread, and fresh local produce where available. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heulfre B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.