We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Without a doubt one of the best places you'll ever stay.. Absolutely outstanding!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pen Derw Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llangynog
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pen Derw Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Pen Derw Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Pen Derw, School Lane, Llangynog SY10 0ET, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Llangynog B&B and Inns
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
“Without a doubt one of the best places you'll ever stay.. Absolutely outstanding!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Four of us stayed in Pen Derw for a weekend in late October whist visiting Revolutions bike park. Words can't describe how truly awesome this place really is, and the couple that run it. I travel the world as a consultant and very rarely do you find such high levels of service, comfort, and hospitality, which have made our whole trip that much more of an experience. We simply loved every minute of our stay from from the close proximity to park, the warmth and cleanliness of the place, friendliness or people, hose to clean bikes, express laundry service, local pubs, and of course - Welsh breakie with duck eggs! We actually all left feeling like we'd known Mike and Val for years and can't wait to return with the rest of the family in Spring. Just hope it doesn't get too busy :)

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
55
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Lovely, comfortable kingsize bed and room. Lounge/breakfast room was pleasant. Mike and Val were very friendly and I'd recommend the Welsh breakfast especially the black pudding. The ensuite bathroom was of very high standard and I particularly liked the walk-in shower (and the cake!)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

What a find. Me and my brother stopped here for the wales rally. We could not fault it. We had a great welcome. As we would be leaving in the early hours we asked if we could have a packed lunch instead of breakfast, what a nice packed lunch we were given. The rooms are spacious and the decor is top notch each rooms has it's own fridge with tea and coffee making facility, on entering the room there was a large bowl of sweets and a plate of cake. The en suite was was clean to an standard that was on par with any major hotel chain in the capital. Mike and Val's hospitality is so personal they let you into their home and treat you as what seems like one of the family. Would I recommend this to family, oh yes, would I recommend it to friends, oh yes, will I be going back Oh Yes

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stopped here whilst marshaling on rally gb. Made realy welcome. Rooms are well equiped and finished to a high standard. Great on suite shower which was welcome after a day on stage. Had to be out too early to sample breakfast but our hosts insisted on supplying us with a huge packed lunch.
We'll definatly be back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Mike and Val are seriously the perfect hosts. As soon as we arrived, we felt at ease and very welcome. A great breakfast each morning whenever you want, a great big room with stunning views and homemade cake every day. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

arrived at the Pen Derw and was warmly greeted and very impressed by the accommodation. Room lovely and looked out on to a spectacular view, comfy bed and room had everything one could wish for, lovely cake, milk and tea and just a place to relax. Very helpful about the area with regards to walks and local attractions such as Rhaeder waterfall . Breakfast out of this world with refreshing fresh fruits, fantastic local yoghurts and a Welsh Breakfast that kept me going all day. This is without doubt a fantastic place and we only wished we could stay longer here and wander the hills and return to the hospitality of our hosts Val and Mike who made our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I spent an extra night, as it was too soon to leave such a lovely place. I was made to feel very much at home. Mike and Val are wonderful, friendly and welcoming hosts. Breakfast is excellent, with delicious freshly made fruit salad and terrific breakfast. Set me up for the day. Lovely touch of home baked cake and fresh milk in your room, plus bottle opener and glasses! Room and bed very comfortable, with lovely spacious bathroom and bath to soak in. Fantastic deal for a true place of quality. A gem.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pen Derw Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen Derw Bed and Breakfast

Address: Pen Derw, School Lane, Llangynog SY10 0ET, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llangynog
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llangynog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly situated in the picturesque village of Llangynog, surrounded by the Berwyn Mountains, Pen Derw offers luxury bed and breakfast accommodation (completely refurbished in winter 2011) in a light and spacious bungalow with stunning mountain views from every room. Pen Derw offers luxury accommodation comprising of two en-suite bedrooms each tastefully decorated and finished to the highest standards. All of the bedrooms have beautiful mountain views. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pen Derw Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.