We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical 'Spoons pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blackwater Stream

The Blackwater Stream
180 Lower Blandford Road, Broadstone, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 13 Restaurants in Broadstone
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Broadstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Typical 'Spoons pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Much, much better than before Wetherspoons took over. Nicely laid out. Typical of the newer JD Wetherspoon pubs

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    12
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poole
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Can't be beaten on value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

You know what you are going to get at a Wetherspoons, great value & quickly prepared food. It's great to see that a little investment can bring an old pub back to life.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good value, and very swift service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed an inter generational Sunday lunch for 8.
No problems with parking, the food drinks or service.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It's a Wetherspoons! What did you expect.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Cheap + cheerful (although staff are sometimes very overrun prompting 'grumpy service') - you pay for what you get I guess.
Children's meal deal is good value but the plates are always sooooo hot and they give my 4 year old full size cutlery! Portions are good.
Sunday lunch is rammed - be warned.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Catastrophie!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Went here for a quick lunch with my husband,we only had paninis,when mine came out I had 3 pathetic strips of chicken!put together wasn't even quater of a chicken breast!
We've been here a few times now and have left disappointed,not sure why we went back really,have complained before to be shouted at by an older long haired woman with glasses who quite frankly is fitting to work on a fish market! At no point has she ever been pleasant,helpful or willing to keep her customers happy,I've been in catering 14yrs and wldnt serve the rubbish we had nor have staff treat customers how they do in here,we shall stick to the Wimborne version who have always had it so right.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blackwater Stream also viewed

 

Been to The Blackwater Stream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blackwater Stream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.