We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wellfleet to Brewster on a bike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Cod Rail Trail

Cape Cod Rail Trail
MA
508 896-3491
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 211 Activities in Cape Cod
Type: Biking Trails, Hiking Trails, Trails, Sports
Activities: Biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This bike path runs 25 miles, from Dennis to Wellfleet.
Shutesbury
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wellfleet to Brewster on a bike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Cape Cod Rail Trail is extremely well maintained, easy to find and fun to ride on. As my husband and I rode, we passed by families, groups of teens and other adults enjoying the trail. Generally very flat and easy to ride on.
Along the way there are restaurants you can stop in for lunch, or just for an ice cream.
Worth riding the entire 22 miles if you have the time and the energy.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    43
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I started out in Dennis and rode up to Nickerson State Park. We rented bicycles at Barb's Bike Rental - right at the entrance in Dennis. The trail is smooth, and not to much traffic. On the way back we stopped at Guapo's for lunch - very tasty....

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great morning/afternoon trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Unless you are a serious biker, don't even bother putting your bikes in the car. Rent from Idle Times at the head of the trail (very reasonable rates) borrow a helmet and go.

Extremely flat, mostly shady, and cutthroughs available to food/drinks/ice cream. You can bike past Marconi Beach, the site of the first cross-Atlantic telegram, and Nickerson state park, which is beautiful. Go as far or short as you want, it's a great way for those who aren't serious bikers to spend part of a day.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, NH
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice, shaded, good way to get places, somewhat boring”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Most of the trail is not along the water, but otherwise, it is a nice, long, mostly flat and shaded trail.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“good bike ride but lack of views or anything interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife and I rented bikes from Barb's bikes in Dennis. The shop is right next to the bike path and at the end of the trail. Consequently it was a simple matter to head eastwards.

The trail is very simple to follow and, unusually for the US, is very well signposted. It crosses a road every mile or so but the crossings are very straightforaward. As there is only one fork in the trail, a few miles from Dennis, there are only two options of direction to ride: east or north. As we're getting on in years, we chose the shorter branch to Chatham.

The old railway is well surfaced so the trail is excellent to ride on. The way is mostly flat with only the occasional slope. It could not be much easier to ride on. Even at our ages we had covered 20 miles before we began to feel it.

Unfortunately there is very little to see. Having ridden on several bike trails, compared to others there are no views, nothing of interest and no history along the trail. The route is often hemmed in by trees and all you can see is fields, houses and light industry units. Chatham is a charming, elegant and pristine town - but we had already spent an afternoon there. As a result we got bored before we got tired.

All in all, a pleasant couple of hours, and the exercise was welcome after a long flight but, although the trail is excellently constructed and easy to ride on, the route is bland and far from the best.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Cod Rail Trail also viewed

 
South Yarmouth, Cape Cod
 

Been to Cape Cod Rail Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Cod Rail Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.