We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, shaded, good way to get places, somewhat boring” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Cod Rail Trail

Cape Cod Rail Trail
MA
508 896-3491
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 215 Activities in Cape Cod
Type: Biking Trails, Hiking Trails, Trails, Sports
Activities: Biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This bike path runs 25 miles, from Dennis to Wellfleet.
Manchester, NH
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice, shaded, good way to get places, somewhat boring”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Most of the trail is not along the water, but otherwise, it is a nice, long, mostly flat and shaded trail.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    44
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“good bike ride but lack of views or anything interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife and I rented bikes from Barb's bikes in Dennis. The shop is right next to the bike path and at the end of the trail. Consequently it was a simple matter to head eastwards.

The trail is very simple to follow and, unusually for the US, is very well signposted. It crosses a road every mile or so but the crossings are very straightforaward. As there is only one fork in the trail, a few miles from Dennis, there are only two options of direction to ride: east or north. As we're getting on in years, we chose the shorter branch to Chatham.

The old railway is well surfaced so the trail is excellent to ride on. The way is mostly flat with only the occasional slope. It could not be much easier to ride on. Even at our ages we had covered 20 miles before we began to feel it.

Unfortunately there is very little to see. Having ridden on several bike trails, compared to others there are no views, nothing of interest and no history along the trail. The route is often hemmed in by trees and all you can see is fields, houses and light industry units. Chatham is a charming, elegant and pristine town - but we had already spent an afternoon there. As a result we got bored before we got tired.

All in all, a pleasant couple of hours, and the exercise was welcome after a long flight but, although the trail is excellently constructed and easy to ride on, the route is bland and far from the best.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I rented bike's from Barbara's bike rental and rode 13 miles to Chatham had lunch went shopping and rode 13 miles back. We are in decent shape but not super great and we had no problem. There were many families riding along the way. Great time!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“All Hail the Rail Trail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Rode 32 miles on Rail Trail - Brewster to Wellfleet and back. Trail is in great condition and easy to ride because it's flat. Towns and mileage are well marked. It can be a little hot at times. My favorite part of the trail is actually off the official path. It's Ocean View Road in Wellfleet. Enjoy the breathtaking view and the unique beaches. Stop at Arnold's fo

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A wonderful ride!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

One of my favorite rail trails. It's in excellent condition, it's incredibly scenic, there are multiple opportunities to stop and see a sight or grab some food (bring a map or smartphone)...and most importantly, even though it can be very busy, everyone on the path is exceedingly polite. It's a truly great ride.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Cod Rail Trail also viewed

 
South Yarmouth, Cape Cod
 

Been to Cape Cod Rail Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Cod Rail Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.