We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A learning curve” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant to your Saves list
Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Crossbank, Ravenstonedale, Kirkby Stephen CA17 4LL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A learning curve”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Arrived at the Fat Lamb tired and hungry. Given keys to a room, it smelled fusty and the decor dated bed clean but uncomfortable no shower. There was a shower head on the bath for use when washing hair etc. Not enough bath creme or shampoo. Nothing replaced at all. Dirty towels left refolded for our whole stay which was disappointing.

Found it difficult to get up the stairs with heavy case. No one around to help. Found that for the money I was paying, the service could have been better. It is very overpriced it really is.

The food good, but I have had better. Food was brought to the table but vegetables failed to materialise and we had to keep asking for orders. I found one or two members of staff very unhelpful and unfortunately the owner is very condescending and unwelcoming. I couldn't have cared less perhaps he does not realise just how rude he can be..... He is a bore.

Room Tip: B&B with only saving grace being location
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cowbank, Manager at Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
We are sorry that this customer did not enjoy their stay at the Fat Lamb - certainly in regard to their comments about the decor and amenity in the bedrooms we would have to agree they were due for an overhaul, which we are happy to say is now well underway (including fully refitted bathrooms with power showers and newly tiled floors).

As for the other feedback about the poor service we can only say that we strive to provide the highest level of care at all times and are successful in the vast majority of cases. We realise that it can only take a few things to go wrong to spoil an otherwise pleasant experience, and that seems to have happened in this case. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest service so feedback like this is valuable to us.

In regard to the comment about the owner's condescending manner and being a bore, this is of course upsetting but we appreciate that guests who are not having a good experience at the Fat Lamb are likely to have a negative perception of the people there - please be assured that we all work very hard to be as welcoming to our customers as we can, and to help out in any way to make a visit more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    117
    30
    18
    5
See reviews for
39
207
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

I have just spent an amazing week at The Fat Lamb! How lucky to find such a fantastic place in such wonderful countryside. The inn itself has a welcoming and friendly atmosphere as soon as you come through the front door. The staff are extremely friendly, helpful and made me feel at home immediately - one other guest came down to breakfast in her slippers she felt that much at home! Being a wheelchair user I was a little apprehensive in booking but on arrival was pleasantly surprised to find wide doorways and easy access to the ground floor bedroom from the rear of the building via an ample car parking area for my vehicle. The food is totally awesome in quality, quantity and presentation and has to be seen to be believed! Chef David Henry is in a league of his own - him and his partner Kelly and all the other staff make a great team, making this such a memorable stay. I will certainly be back for seconds!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

Our party of 12 ( 6 Retired Couples) all of whom believe they are "Gourmet's" decided to arrange the annual 2 Day get together at the FAT LAMB, What a great choice of venue.
All the staff and the Kitchen brigade, led by Chef Dave, made our stay memorable and it was further enhanced by our wine find in the cellar of a few bottles of '97 Pouilly Fuisse Comte de La Chevalier, together with ''94 Cote de BEAUNE Lupes Cholet and '94 Gevery CHAMBERTIN Lupes Cholet all of which complimented Chef's menu's.
The November weather was normal, that is wet, however a few of us made an attempt to walk - others stayed in the bar!!! Our rooms were comfortable, clean and the central heating was great, you will not be cold in this place.
We all recommend THE FAT LAMB.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

We recently stayed at the Fat Lamb Inn after finding it by accident on a website. We stayed for two nights on the special offer of two nights half board and lunch on the last day. It was fantastic. There was a good choice of menu and everything was fresh and well cooked. The four course evening meal was brilliant. We were able to take our own wine along and then just pay corkage, which made that slightly cheaper. All the staff were friendly and had a good sense of humour. If you want to get away from it all for a few days and eat excellent, wholesome food, I would highly recommend this welcoming Inn.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

The previous comments about the food and lack of taste are totally unfounded, Ive recently left The Fat Lamb and can say that the food was brilliant, the staff great and the owner chatty and welcoming. I stayed for 5 nights and although the weather was a little bad the hospitality made up for it..... Yes the decor could do with updating but hey who cares ....... Staff members if you read this im just a little upset about not getting invited to the party !!
I will be back ........

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

Bit surprised to see the previous review when I logged on to leave this, but just goes to show people can have very different experiences. Had quite a chat with the owner Paul and he didn't seem a monster by any stretch

Anyway, I enjoyed myself, and though I agree with other peoples comments about the slightly dated decor I thought that rather added to the integrity of the place

Food I had was top notch, the selection on offer was nearly overwhelming (Bar Snacks, A La Carte and Restaurant menus!)

The best thing about the place are clearly the grounds. and the scenery / countryside. I'm a keen walker and the area is stunning. The previous comment is right about the odd beer crate around the place etc but overall the gardens are nice. The nature reserve is overgrown but it is a nature reserve, after all. I got poked in the eye by branches a couple of times but did manage to get all the way round.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

We visited this pub, upon recommendation from a close friend. From the moment we stepped through the door, to the moment we left, disappointment was the word that came to our minds. Evening Meal, although cooked well, lacked flavour and imagination. When we asked for our meal to be changed, the rude girl who served us shrugged her shoulders and said "what do you want me to do about it". This immediately put us on a downer for the night.

We stayed up late on our first night and had a pleasant chat with the manager, I think her name was Kelly.

Next morning, after a breakfast which had a VERY limited options, i.e. one Orange in the fruit bowl, we decided to go for a walk around the nature reserve. It was overgrown, un cared for, and was just generally untidy. The "beer garden" had empty crates/rubbish strewn everywhere.

When it came to our departure, the frankly rude, (and we presumed ungrateful for our business) man, who was the owner, didnt even bother to ask us if we enjoyed our stay. He questioned some errors on HIS copy of the bill with us, which he eventually realised were HIS mistake, and made himself look a bit of an idiot.

If you are looking for somewhere to get your head down, then the rooms are okay.. although ours didnt even have a shower facility. However, if you are looking for a friendly pub, with good, quality food, I would strongly recommend looking else where.

The Two Star rating that the pub has says it all.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cowbank, Owner at Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
We were quite distraught to receive this extremely harsh review - ordinarily we accept negative feedback along with the positive as helpful insight into how to offer better service to our customers. Unfortunately in this case we are left unsure as to what to do, given the extremely personal nature of some of the comments (which we were shocked to read, as we always treat our guests with the utmost warmth and respect). We can only address the specific details of this review, which are sadly few and far between.

In respect of the comments regarding our food lacking flavour and imagination we outright contest this - we are well known in the local area as somewhere which has a very good menu and produces excellent food. Similarly, the comment on limited options at breakfast time does not stand up to scrutiny - we offer a full cooked breakfast, toast, cereal, dates, grapefruit, fresh fruit and yoghurts. We apologise that there was only one orange left in the bowl, but unfortunately some items do occasionally run out.

It may have been the case that the garden was slightly untidy - the wind is quite fierce up here at times, and has been known to blow more than beer crates around - but we accept that it should have been tidied up promptly (and the beer crates should be neatly stacked away, as they usually are).

We have always had showers in the rooms, though previously they have been shower attachments for bath taps in some cases. These days all our rooms have modern power showers

Finally, I apologise for getting the guest's bill wrong - it does happen occasionally, and perhaps I do look stupid when it does.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant

Address: Crossbank, Ravenstonedale, Kirkby Stephen CA17 4LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Stephen > Ravenstonedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenstonedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, LateRooms, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fat Lamb Country Inn And Restaurant Hotel Ravenstonedale
Country Inn Kirkby Stephen
Kirkby Stephen Country Inn
Fat Lamb Country Inn And Restaurant Ravenstonedale, Kirkby Stephen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.