We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castletroy Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Castletroy Park Hotel to your Saves list
Castletroy Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dublin Road, Castletroy, Limerick, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Castletroy
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Seaford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“First class hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Recently stayed 5 days at this hotel as they hosted my son's wedding reception and we had a wonderful time, we were fortunate to have a suite as parents of the groom, but other family members had other types of room and the standard was equally high across the accommodation. The staff are extremely friendly and very professional and the food, whether in the dining room or the bar and conservatory lounge, was top class, and the breakfast buffet was fantastic!
Needless to add, the wedding reception was absolutely perfect, at 51 years of age, it's the finest wedding I have ever been to.
Thank you to Fiona and all her team.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGriffinFrontHouse, Front of House Manager at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear valandpete1

Thank you for taking the time to review the Castletroy Park hotel, we were delighted host your son’s wedding and are happy that you found it to be “the finest wedding “ that you had ever been to. We were also happy to learn that you found the food to be “top class” whether in the dining room, bar or conservatory.
Finally we happy to hear that both you and the wedding party were happy with your staying our hotel and found the different types of accommodation comfortable.
We do hope to see you again in the future at the Castletroy park hotel, for any further information or for a future reservation please do not hesitate to contact me personally on jgriffin@castletroypark.ie

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    91
    41
    12
    9
See reviews for
67
50
10
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

spent 3 nights here in this hotel.
good points: staff everywhere are friendly and helpful from reception to leisure centre staff; breakfast is great, plenty of choices - I'd recommend getting down early ~ 9am is the best time; leisure centre is fine, good pool, steam room/sauna/jacuzzi; location is great, 5 mins away from city centre and is the place to stay if visiting UL which is across the road; spar shop directly beside hotel is great for getting snacks; mini fridge is a great addition; brilliant shower with loads of hot water

bad points: hotel is grubby and lacking due care - it is more 3 star than 4, although it is due to be renovated so I'm sure this will be changed; attention to detail re finishings are dated and don't work ~ green carpet is patched and unprofessional looking; no music in bar so it is quiet at night with little to do

overall, this hotel is fine for a base and I would stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGriffinFrontHouse, Front of House Manager at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear N_K94

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, We were delighted that you found so many positive to say about our hotel, Firstly we are delighted to receive so many positive remarks about our team and we are happy that customer care is one of our best attributes.
We were also happy to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and you and your family enjoyed the different leisure facilities available at the hotel.
The Castletroy park hotel is proud to be directly opposite the entrance to the university of limerick and, as you rightly pointed out in your review we are “the place to stay” for people visiting UL. It is also good to know that thanks to the university, the grounds are accessible to all which is fantastic for leisure guests as they have many different trails for walking and cycling.
Also I am delighted to inform you that the Castletroy park hotel is currently undergoing an extensive renovation, The ground floor has undergone a transformation and that colors and furnishings now reflect a modern chic image and over the next few weeks 30 new rooms including a presidential suite shall be available, these rooms have undergone a massive transformation and will be more modern and comfortable for our guests.

We do hope to see you and your family return to the Castletroy park hotel in the future please to feel free to contact me personally on jgriffin@castletroypark.ie

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We (2 adults & 3 kids aged 7,5 &1) stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay overall. We met up with friends & they enjoyed their stay too. The hotel is clean. The staff are friendly. Some of the staff are quite young and seem to do their job "by the book", as in they wouldn't know how to add that homely or personal touch. One example, my friend wanted to change the filling in a sandwich but was told no. Silly really. Nice swimming pool. Kids were able to borrow goggles which was great. The rooms are very dated and I was worried about 5 of us in the one room but it was actually fine. I think they're redecorating the rooms at the moment. Kids went to kids club and really enjoyed it. The food was fine, nothing special but nothing awful. My main gripe was that the food was quite pricey, especially for the kids. Kids meal €7.00 with no dessert or drink or anything. Then for the evening tea we got them 2 ham sandwiches which cost €12.00 which I think is truly extortionate and reminds me of why I rather holiday abroad. Rip off Ireland at its finest. I was very disappointed at a family run hotel charging these prices. We did enjoy our weekend but left feeling a little robbed!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGriffinFrontHouse, Front of House Manager at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear TALKGalway,
Firstly thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, We were delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your experience here at the Castletroy Park hotel, and that the amenities on offer here at the hotel were enjoyed by your family and that the leisure club team were able to lend you goggles needed to better enjoy this experience.
We were also very happy to hear that you found our staff to be “Friendly” and the hotel to be clean. We welcome your comment on the “Personal” touch and we have adapted our lunch menu to include a “Create your own sandwich” which is currently available on our menu.
The Castletroy Park is delighted to announce that we are currently renovating one third of our bedrooms and they shall be available from the end of this month, We do hope to see you return to the our hotel, please do feel free to contact me personally to help organize your reservation by mail on jgriffin@castletroypark.ie
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Arrived at hotel and were made very very welcome by receptionist,Rooms were very very clean ,tea/coffee making facilities available in the bedrooms,also hairdryer,iron and ironing board,trouser press also available.Welcome pack from the hotel clearly displayed on table with lots of information on hotel facilities which include bar and restaurant,swimming pool,whirlpool,jacuzzi,steam room,sauna and also a beauty salon.very good prices on beauty packages which must be booked in advanced.

We had our evening meal in McLaughlin"s Restaurant,within the hotel and were greeted by a very friendly waitress called Louise who looked after us exceptionally well.The restaurant was spotlessly clean and the A La Carte menu was five star and very very good value just 30 euros for three courses.


The Merry Pedlar Bar was always very busy and the staff are all very friendly.Also very very clean place to dine.

The hotel offers free parking to all guests.I would highly recommend this hotel to all my friends .We had a fantastic time and will definetely go back again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGriffinFrontHouse, Front Of House Manager at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear IrishStarUpTyrone

Firstly thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, We were delighted to hear that your front office team took the time to make you feel at home, and that you found the many utilities in the room such as the hair dryer, Iron and trouser press a benefit to your stay. We were also delighted to hear that your experience in Mclaughlin’s resturaunt to be just as enjoyable, and that Louise our resturaunt manager looked after you “Extremely well” and that you found our menu to be be not only great value for money but also 5 star!
We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our different amenities such as the bar and restaurant and the leisure facilities which include the resturaunt, swimming pool, Whirlpool Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna.
Again many thanks for your wonderful comments, We do hope to see you return to the our hotel, please do feel free to contact me personally to help organize your reservation by mail on jgriffin@castletroypark.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed in the Castletroy Hotel for three nights on a Supervalu break, 2 adults and 2 children aged 11 & 12.
On our arrival the receptionist was welcoming. The bedroom and bathroom were very clean and everything required is supplied. Only complaint was the heat in the room - really hot. We believe that aircon will be installed at some stage soon? One great thing, the walls in this hotel appear to be well soundproofed, it was really quiet, in some hotels you can hear the people in the next room switching on the lights!!
Breakfast was excellent, porridge served with cream and honey really nice. The cooked breakfast was fab also. No shortage of juice, croissants, bread etc....
The leisure centre is basic but clean and not too stuffy, like others we have been too. Really friendly helpful staff in the pool reception area.
The bar food is excellent value, give it a try before venturing further afield...we ate in Chungs Chinese across from the hotel the first night, much more expensive than the hotel bar food. Good bar staff but some could be a little warmer towards the customers.
On our third night, the waitress made a mistake with our order which led to my husbands dinner being served later than the rest of us. She apologised and discounted our bill....great customer service. We noted another family complaining that their childs meal was too spicy and the waiter handled it really well and brought her something else instead. I would have no problem recommending this hotel to friends and family. Thank you Castletroy Park for an enjoyable break.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGriffinFrontHouse, Front of House Manager at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear AnnieBOD

Firstly thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, We were delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your three night stay in our hotel. We were happy to hear that the room and the different utilities made available were to your liking and that you noticed that our rooms have been soundproofed to a fantastic level, we are also happy to inform you that air-conditioning shall be available within days in our newly renovated rooms.
We were also happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast, that the little details in some dished such as the porridge did not go unnoticed, also that you enjoyed your cooked breakfast and that the buffet and its presentation were all to your liking. Also we were happy that you enjoyed the food available on our bar menu and that you found it good value for money.
Finally we would like to once again apologize for the error made in relation to your husband’s order on the third night however we are happy that it was dealt with in the appropriate manner.
Again thank you for your wonderful comments, I would welcome further information concerning the “bar staff that could be a little warmer towards the customers” however we do hope to see you return to the our hotel, please do feel free to contact me personally to develop your comments or organize your next reservation by mail on jgriffin@castletroypark.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossmaglen, co armagh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

From our first day of arrival reception staff were so helpful with all our needs. We took our two girls swimming everyday and facilities including complimentary use of jacuzzi, steam, sauna rooms and gym were second to none.
Breakfast and meals in restaurant were of a 5 star nature. We availed of the in house kids club and the girls thoroughly enjoyed this and we got a chance to relish our meal in the Mclaughlins
Restaurant.
Rooms were meticulously maintained and we will certainly be back to this hotel and highly recommend this to our family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGriffinFrontHouse, Front of House Manager at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Michelle F

Firstly thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are delighted to receive such fantastic feedback in relation to our team and how they made you feel welcome at the hotel and also that the different amenities were enjoyed by you and your family.
We were happy to learn that you enjoyed your dining experience in our Mc loughlins restaurant and that you found it to be of 5 star standards.
We at the Castletroy Park hotel pride ourselves by the levels of comfort and the cleanliness of our rooms and the public areas of the hotel and are delighted that you noticed.
We do hope to see you again at the Castletroy Park hotel please feel free to contact me personally on jgriffin@castletroypark.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

have stayed several times over the last 15 years, most recently in July. the warm welcome and service seems to have dropped to something closer to indifference...not rudeness, just no longer warm. rooms and decor could do with a refresh. on the positive, breakfast is still excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGriffinFrontHouse, Front of House Manager at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear doug s

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, Firstly wwe are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast at our Mcloughlins resturaunt. We are also happy to inform you that the Castletroy Park hotel has changed hands over the last couple of months and the new owner has brought on a new management team who together with an important refurbishment promise that the future of this hotel will be comfortable, very customer and service orientated with an aim to satisfy your guests wishes.
We do look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future, please do not hesitate contacting me directly by E-mail on jgriffin@castletroypark.ie
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Castletroy Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castletroy Park Hotel

Address: Dublin Road, Castletroy, Limerick, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick > Castletroy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Castletroy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Castletroy Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Castletroy Park Hotel is ideally located at the gates of the University of Limerick, and just over 2 miles from the hustle and bustle of Limerick City Centre. The new "Culture Factory" venue is just a few minutes' walk from the hotel. With its newly redesigned interior, there has never been a better time to rediscover the elegance of Castletroy Park Hotel. Contemporary chic, served up with a traditional twist, ensure that our guests sample a taste of luxury. Whether it is our renowned Afternoon Tea in the Garden Room, delicious dining in McLaughlins Restaurant or the Merry Pedlar Bar, your taste buds will be tickled. Offering complimentary car parking and Wi-Fi, the hotel is consistently the first choice for meetings and conferences in Limerick. State of the Art equipment and lighting ensure that all events are sure to Wow! The newly renovated 2nd floor of bedrooms offer a sense of charm, a taste of elegance and an abundance of style. Offering a variety of room types, a comfortable night's sleep is guaranteed. The hotel also offers extensive Leisure Facilities, including a fully equipped gym, Swimming Pool and Beauty Rooms. Other attractions within close proximity to the hotel include - The Hunt Museum, Thomond Park Stadium, Crescent and Parkway Shopping Centres, Limerick Racecourse, and Limerick Milk Market. All major credit cards accepted. Limerick is the perfect base when it comes to visiting the west of Ireland, all within an hour and a half from Limerick you could be enjoying visiting Galway, shopping in Blarney, walking along the lakes of Killarney, viewing the Burren, or visiting castles and abbeys in south Tipperary. Lough Derg, Ireland's pleasure lake, is renowned for game and course angling, boating, sailing, windsurfing and skiing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Castletroy Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castletroy Park Limerick
Hotel Castletroy Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castletroy Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.