We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish I could be more positive, but I honestly can't” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Castletroy Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Castletroy Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castletroy Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dublin Road, Castletroy, Limerick, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Castletroy
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Pennsylvania, USA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“I wish I could be more positive, but I honestly can't”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights. I'll begin with the few positives I can relate. The front desk staff were friendly, accommodating, knowledgeable. Housekeeping keep the room very clean. There was ample and varied food at the breakfast buffet. Now the negatives. 1. The "mini-bar" refrigerator in our room was all frozen up when we arrived so the inside was basically room temperature. Since we checked in on Sunday the front desk said that maintenance would take care of it the next day. Well when we got back to our room from an excursion nothing had been done. I got tired of waiting for the hotel to take care of it and I defrosted it myself with the hairdryer attached to the desk (putting towels inside to soak up the water of course). Then the refrigerator didn't even cool down anyway after that! 2. The wireless system is atrocious. They need to contract with a different provider. First trying to jump through all the hoops to get logged on with each instrument (smart phone, laptop) is excruciating. We had to ask the front desk to help us, twice. Then you have to obtain a new voucher each day in order to continue using the system. I have never stayed at a hotel with such a terrible wireless system. 3. the bed was HARD. My wife had to sleep on top, using the padded bed cover and the spare blanket folded into 3 layers under her to provide enough softness for her to sleep. Sadly, my experience with this supposedly 4 star hotel was not enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGriffinFrontHouse, Front of house manager at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Abonda
Firstly thank you for reviewing our hotel, We were delighted to hear that you found our front office staff to be “friendly and accommodating” and also knowledgeable of the surrounding areas and services available. Also we do pride ourselves by the cleanliness of our property with extra attention to the rooms which are often complemented as being “very clean”. We are also delighted that you found our breakfast.
The Castletroy park as you may have seen is currently undergoing an extensive renovation and welcome your comments, We are glad to inform you that a large number of our rooms are currently being renovated and comfort of these rooms shall be greatly increased. Having already received feedback on our wifi connection we have met with other providers and are stongly considering a more easily accessible network. Finally our hotel dose not offer a mini bars service however in some our rooms there are fridges, these fridges have all been reviewed following your comment and some have undergone the necessary maintenance.
We do hope to see you return to the Castletroy park hotel in the future, please feel free to contact me personally with reference to your previous stay on jgriffin@castletroypark.ie.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    61
    29
    7
    5
See reviews for
44
32
7
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oban
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a mid week break this week, it was staffed by lovely people they were very kind and accommodating on all levels, special mention to Brian in bar and Milan in beauty salon a great wrap and discount of 20% for residents a free good sized swimming pool. smoking rooms and outside areas also food is great and room service.

It is an old hotel but is slowly being renovated and it suited our needs very well; excellent bathroom lots of hot water and good shower with, large fluffy white towels and Products. The bedroom was great good size with a window that opened all the way in lots of lovely air and two big beds with clean sheets and lots of good pillows. Large tv in room and tea and coffee also iron and board, trouser press too.

Smoking rooms and areas too thanks

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGriffinFrontHouse, Front of House manager at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Annieboban
Firstly thank you for taking the time to review the Castletroy Park Hotel, We were yet again delighted to receive such a positive review complementing both members of our team and the range of leisure facilities on offer within the hotel.
We were delighted to learn that you were that you found the quality of the food on offer to be “Great”! and that you complemented our room service facility.
The Castletroy park hotel has been in existence for the past twenty years offering high levels of service to all our guests, and even though you enjoyed the comfort of your room we are excited to announce that our hotel is turning a page with an extensive renovation which is now almost complete on ground floor, however our new executive rooms that shall be available from the 1st of September of this year so we do hope to see you again at the Castletroy park hotel, for further information of reservations please fell free to contact me personally at jgriffin@castletroypark.ie
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Pat Mc Donagh has already brought his mark to this hotel in both quality and excellence. We recently had a family meal in the Mclauglin restaurant and it was excellent from beginning to end. We had the end section of the dining room which in itself gave us great privacy away from everybody else. The meal was superb nothing was left to chance. They were generous with the root vegetables which tasted delicious. Their house red was very easy on the palate and resonably priced; the staff very both gracious, efficient and thorough. There was absolutely no hurry on us. They also left a nice spell of time between courses. So if you are solo or in a group this is a very nice place; reasonably priced and excellent quality all round

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGriffinFrontHouse, Front of House Manager at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Frank 2510

Thank you for taking the time to review your meal in our McLaughlin’s Restaurant. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed both the food and the service in our restaurant. The area in towards the end of the restaurant best know as the “the bay” it may be reserved with advanced bookings and truly gives you “great privacy” be it for a family event or a business meal.

We are also delighted that you mentioned the wine which “was easy on the palate”, as we have only recently changed our wine list introducing a range of new age and old world wines and several wines sold by the glass.

Thank you also for mentioning our staff many of whom have been with the Castletroy Park since its opening and are truly do their best for every client.

Finally it is true that Pat Mc Donagh has brought his mark to the Castletroy Park Hotel, the hotel has just seen an extensive renovation both to the ground floor, the garden room and ballroom our aim is to now continue the renovation of other floors and also to improve on an already excellent standard of service at offer in our hotel.

We once again hope to see you here again soon at the Castletroy Park hotel and thank you for your review.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

When we arrived at the Hotel in our car the first sign we saw indicated hotel car park to right of the entrance so we drove around to this car park. With lots of luggage in hand we spied a sign indicating RECEPTION up stone steps and on through garden up other steps. We finally reached Reception puffed and irritated only to discover that had we driven past that sign we would have found a fine set down area and other car parks nearer front door. Stayed in this hotel for four nights in June. Rooms lovely,but no air conditioning which normally would not matter in this country but we were there during the glorious week in June and could have done with it. Reception area and ground floor areas are really comfortable. Food served all day in lounge and there is a lovely resturant. Food was superb and good value. Hotel is in a good location with Llimerick University across the road, with lovely grounds for walking and with a very good concert hall. While there we enjoyed an excellent performance of the" Three Sopranos". Overall we enjoyed our stay there and would recommend this hotel to our friends..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGriffinFrontHouse, Front of House Manager at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Ms Catherine12333,

Firstly thank you for reviewing the Castletroy Park hotel, we were delighted that you found our hotel to your liking.

Firstly we are happy that you found our hotel to be “really comfortable” and our rooms to be “lovely” despite the fact that there was no air-conditioning in your room which I am happy to inform you is currently being installed as a part of our extensive renovation.

It was also fantastic to hear that you also liked the ground floor of the hotel which has been newly renovated.

The Castletroy Park also prides itself by the quality of our menus whether in our award winning “Mcloughlin’s Restaurant”, the newly refurbished “Garden Room” our in our “Merry Pedlar” bar our guests and other clients can dine at their ease non-stop from 7am to 9:45pm.

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed “The Three Sopranos” in the University Hall of Limerick which received fantastic reviews both locally and nationally.

Finally we would like to thank you for choosing the Castletroy Park hotel and we do hope to have you stay with us in the future, for availability or a reservation please do feel free to contact us at jgriffin@castletroypark.ie.



Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Myself, my wife and four young children decided to have a staycation this year, travelling from Galway heading north first and then down the east coast, down to cork and and Kerry, before hitting limerick as our last leg of the journey.
It was here in limerick on the 15th of June that we experienced our finest one and half hours of our holiday. After reading some descent reviews for the Castletroy Park hotel on trip advisor we decided to have a spot of lunch here.
The kids can be quite picky when it comes to food and jack our oldest boy has some food allergies but our waitress Michelle was so knowledgeable about the Manu and she catered to all the the kids needs, Michelle was also so good with the kids and made them laugh so much that they are still talking about her now that we're home. My wife and I also both loved our food, and Michelle's waitressing skills are just as good when it comes to serving adults too.
We've been lucky enough to eat in some fabulous restaurants around the world, but if you are looking for five star service and very good food, check out this little gem, and hopefully Michelle will still be working there and won't have been headhunter by the Ritz.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGriffinFrontHouse, Front of House Manager at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Paul O

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of the Castletroy Park hotel, we are delighted that you chose to stop off at our hotel for your lunch. We pride ourselves not only by the quality of our food but also by the professionalism and standards of service offered by the members of our staff. We were delighted to find in your review that it was here in the Castletroy park that you experienced your “finest one and a half hours” of your vacation largely contributed by Michelle, who took the time to explain the menu with respect to your sons allergies and also personalized your experience by making it enjoyable and memorable experience. It is also great to hear that having travelled extensively you enjoyed the food and service and are happy to recommend us. Finally we hope to see you when you next travel to Limerick and hope that you, your wife, Jack and other kids enjoy your next visit with us as much as the first.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel is close to the University of Limerick and probably used by visitors to the University more than anyone.

Nice hotel with a great swimming pool much to my surprise.

Room was large and very comfortable. Breakfast and dinner were average but not exceptional.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGriffinFrontHouse, Front of House Manager at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Canstantf,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are proud to be the only the only four star hotel in Castletroy that welcomes both leisure and business guests from the University of limerick and the surrounding areas.

We were delighted to hear of your surprise as to the many amenities we offer our guests such as our 20M swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and gym.

We are happy to hear that you found our bedrooms to be “large and comfortable”.

Finally we were surprised and disappointed to hear that you did not find our breakfast to be “exceptional” as we often receive many complements on our buffet banquette, our full Irish breakfast and our “A la carte menu” in our Mcloughlin’s Restaurant

We do hope to see you again on our hotel in the future for any further assistance or reservations please feel free to contact us at jgriffin@castletroypark.ie



Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed two nights in this hotel. It is still a very pretty hotel, but it is just about due a major upgrade. The bedrooms are still very comfortable, but things are just getting tired. The hotel corridors, urgently need a big upgrade, however the reception area is okay. The staff were very friendly and breakfast is very average. Internet was very good and is free of charge. If the hotel corridors were painted and new carpets, the hotel would once more be a wonderful place to stay in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGriffinFrontHouse, Front of House Manager at Castletroy Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Group T,



Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Firstly thank you for complementing our staff here at the Castletroy Park Hotel, many of our team have been with the Castletroy Park Hotel since it opened some twenty years ago and they continue to show the same enthusiasm today as they did when the hotel first opened.

We were also very happy to hear that you found our bedrooms very comfortable and that our high speed internet access provided by bitbuzz was to your expectations.

I am happy to inform you that that the Castletroy Park is currently undergoing renovations whereby our corridors, bedrooms and meeting rooms shall be freshly renovated, we do hope to see you stay again with us at the Castletroy Park Hotel so please feel free to contact me personally for your next reservation on jgriffin@castletroypark.ie.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castletroy Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castletroy Park Hotel

Address: Dublin Road, Castletroy, Limerick, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick > Castletroy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Castletroy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Castletroy Park Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Castletroy Park Hotel is ideally located at the gates of the University of Limerick, and just over 2 miles from the hustle and bustle of Limerick City Centre. The new "Culture Factory" venue is just a few minutes' walk from the hotel. With its newly redesigned interior, there has never been a better time to rediscover the elegance of Castletroy Park Hotel. Contemporary chic, served up with a traditional twist, ensure that our guests sample a taste of luxury. Whether it is our renowned Afternoon Tea in the Garden Room, delicious dining in McLaughlins Restaurant or the Merry Pedlar Bar, your taste buds will be tickled. Offering complimentary car parking and Wi-Fi, the hotel is consistently the first choice for meetings and conferences in Limerick. State of the Art equipment and lighting ensure that all events are sure to Wow! The newly renovated 2nd floor of bedrooms offer a sense of charm, a taste of elegance and an abundance of style. Offering a variety of room types, a comfortable night's sleep is guaranteed. The hotel also offers extensive Leisure Facilities, including a fully equipped gym, Swimming Pool and Beauty Rooms. Other attractions within close proximity to the hotel include - The Hunt Museum, Thomond Park Stadium, Crescent and Parkway Shopping Centres, Limerick Racecourse, and Limerick Milk Market. All major credit cards accepted. Limerick is the perfect base when it comes to visiting the west of Ireland, all within an hour and a half from Limerick you could be enjoying visiting Galway, shopping in Blarney, walking along the lakes of Killarney, viewing the Burren, or visiting castles and abbeys in south Tipperary. Lough Derg, Ireland's pleasure lake, is renowned for game and course angling, boating, sailing, windsurfing and skiing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Castletroy Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castletroy Park Limerick
Hotel Castletroy Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castletroy Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.