We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel with excellent cafe for breakfast and dinner next door” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Limerick Castletroy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Limerick Castletroy to your Saves list
Travelodge Limerick Castletroy
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Park Point | Dublin Road, Castletroy, Limerick, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Castletroy B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“good hotel with excellent cafe for breakfast and dinner next door”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our stay was overall good, staff was helpfull and friendly. Room was nice and big, bathtub should have been bigger to be comfortabel to sit in. There was a very cold café next door were one could have breakfast and also very good dinner or lunch.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    51
    41
    11
    11
See reviews for
43
38
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked the travelodge as it was the cheapest accomodation close to UL. Hotel was very comfortable and great value for money, very convenient to the university. Continental breakfast turned out to include cooked breakfast / all you can eat. Impressed overall

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Firstly, I booked four rooms but was informed on arrival that I booked only two rooms. However, I was charged for four rooms despite not seeing my other rooms. Getting into my room ir was a blast furnace from the heat. No A/C means opening the windows all night with all the noise from the road below giving me little or no rest at all. The shower was also a nightmare to operate and simple instructions would have made life much easier.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiapoi, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For the price, you'd expect less than average hotel - but not with Travelodge Castleroy in Limerick. I booked a twin room, and it was clean, yet simple (which Travelodge warns about on their website). The bathroom was clean as well, but the extractor fan made loud clunking sounds like someone was dropping a metal bucket from high. It might have been related to the strong winds outside, but it was very annoying to get to sleep with. The wall, flat TV also didn't have remote, so changing channels and sounds level was annoying. Cafe Noir next door - we had dinner, had it was good. I would stay here again, if it was myself and one other - has they don't really have rooms to cater for family of five or more.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

Easy to book, easy to get to, good service, good room, friendly staff. Guy at check was very helpful, friendly and efficient ( good news after 9 hours travelling). Room was clean and big with a comfortable desk to work at. Bed was very comfortable.


  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

I have stayed in many Travelodge's across the UK and this was the 2nd time I visited the Castletroy Limerick hotel. As always, the rooms are presented well, they're spacious, comfortable, clean and modern. The television has several free-view channels, available Wi-Fi and tea/coffee etc. The bathroom is clean and meets all your needs. I would recommend a Travelodge to anyone of any class. For this particular hotel the Café next door 'Café Noir' was MAJOR let down with breakfast. The traveldoge website advertises breakfast at 7.50 euro with the following statement "All you can eat buffet - choose from toast, cereal, orange & grapefruit segments or yoghurt plus hot drinks including a choice of Twinings Teas and chilled juice - for the perfect kick-start to the day!" We received a half cooked fried egg, rock hard toast with one tiny block of butter, two sausages the size of a fat thumb and a skinny strand of bacon. It was a complete let down as the quality and quantity wasn't there. Our previous stay was much better ranging from a full Breakfast with tea/orangejuice/coffee bacons sausage egg black&white pudding and toast. But again, this was not unlimited. We approached the staff members at Travelodge just to make them aware of our comparison (we never complain but thought it worth noting) and they said that Travelodge isn't linked with Café Noir however they make a cut from the custom that travel lodge receives as they're right next door. For 7.50 euro I would NOT pre book breakfast-even for convenience. You can pop up the road the 'Parkway' shopping centre with a couple of cafes that will provide a better breakfast. This was the only element that reflects badly on Travelodge however in hindsight shouldn't, as Café Noir is not part of Travelodge.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

A good location with comfortable rooms and friendly staff, but spoiled by noisey
groups of girls going out at midnight and returning at 3am. It would be a good idea to put groups on a separate floor, instead of letting them wake everyone else up. The bathroom could have been cleaner with balls of hair on the floor behind the door.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Limerick Castletroy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Limerick Castletroy

Address: Park Point | Dublin Road, Castletroy, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick > Castletroy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Castletroy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Limerick Castletroy 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Castletroy is a new 3* hotel, neighboring the University of Limerick. The hotel is 2 miles from Limerick City, Shannon Airport 25 minutes drive.At Travelodge, we provide everything you need for a comfortable night's sleep, whether you're on the road for business, or enjoying a city break.Excellent views overlooking the city. Free, secure underground parking. Café Noir is a classic French Café offers an extensive dinner menu, featuring a state-of-the-art open-plan kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Travelodge Limerick Castletroy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Limerick Castletroy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.