We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Piha Cafe

The Piha Cafe
20 Seaview Road | Lincoln North 0654, Piha, New Zealand
+64(0)9 8128808
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Piha
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Piha, New Zealand
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

When you can't be bothered to make dinner and you live local, then give the Piha Cafe's Pizza a go. My favourite is the Moroccan Lamb! They are on the money with the estimate of time needed, just give them a call and order one and then simply pick up.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    29
    14
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Poor customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our meals were not brought out together, and were incorrect. There was also a delay of up to half an hour. When this was mentioned to the staff I was made to feel as if it was my fault. It is a shame that a cafe in such a nice spot is ruined by terrible customer service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I stayed 4 days in Piha recently and ate here every day. I always felt welcomed, in a quiet way, and relaxed. The coffee was great, the vegetarian rolls delicious, cake slices were yummy and the eggs Benedict were superb. The staff were all unfailingly polite and friendly. Prices were very reasonable compared to UK. No, it maybe wasn't the fastest service in the world but neither was it slow. Piha is such a relaxed, slower-paced place and they have incorporated that feel into the cafe. Go to Auckland if you want super-quick, automaton service. I think you're all doing an excellent job - keep it up. The background music wasn't always on I don't think. The volume and music choice are vital to create the right ambiance in an small place like this. Such a small thing but it makes a big difference.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Food Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I ate at Piha Cafe a couple times while I was staying in town and really enjoyed the time I spent looking out to the ocean over an awesome cup of coffee. The food was delicious and of very high quality and the staff very friendly. My only complaint was having to wait an unusually long time for my food one morning but I was in no rush so it didn't put me out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice brownie v poor customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Atmosphere was OK, food nice, but order was messed up. It was busy and we were warned of the delay. When the order was delivered, it didn't come at the same time and was missing. When challenge the member of staff was rude and we were made out to have told lies. Not impressed with the customer service.....

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Piha Cafe also viewed

Piha, Auckland Region
 

Been to The Piha Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Piha Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.