We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to relax for a few days” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Piha Beachstay Accommodation

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Piha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Piha Beachstay Accommodation
Save
You added Piha Beachstay Accommodation to your Saves list
38 Glenesk Road | Piha Beach, Piha 0772, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Piha
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“Lovely place to relax for a few days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I stayed in the ensuite room at the end of the house, which was well presented and comfy. There was a nice little terrace as well. In the main area is a large communal kitchen, and some comfortable seating. The local area is gorgeous with some walks and beaches nearby. Perfect little getaway from Auckland.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    9
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
17
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I spend one night Piha Beachstay Accommodation, more than friendly is one of the best Hostel i ever visited. The place have an excellent view, the rooms have a lot of natural light. And you can enjoy of the facilitienes like tv, movies, games. The kitchen is espectacular

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I have been meaning to write a review for years! That's how great Piha Beachstay is, I've been coming out here for the last 6 years and will continue to for many more :)

The place is well designed and laid out to cater for your backpacker style lodging or you can have a private room with a bit more space with an ensuite including a bath to really relax and unwind.

Piha is a magic part of NZ and the beachstay is a brilliant place to really help take it all in and enjoy all that the area has to offer.

It is peaceful and beautiful with everything you need for a wonderful stay. From the huge kitchen which is fully equipped with everything you need to whip up a meal, make a coffee and sit by the open fire, chill out on the massive deck overlooking the garden,stream and hills (which you can walk up and take in the views from the top) It's always clean and people always friendly. You can't complain about anything here the only thing that will leave you wanting is time... you will wish you never have to leave :)

As always a wonderful stay, thanks Geoff :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is an attractive, well-run establishment from which one can easily walk to several trailheads leading into the forest, or to the beach for surfing. The one en-suite room which we took has a private deck, a large bathroom, cable TV, nice ironed sheets and good towels, and is decorated with quite good taste. You know you are in a hostel since there are lots of youngish people hanging around (very nice, all of them), self-serve laundry facilities (quite handy), only soap in the bathroom, and no daily cleaning service. One can walk to the only dinner place in town -- the RSA -- and to two places that serve good coffee and breakfast. Or one can cook at this hotel - but we didn't.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trier
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

It was our first night in NZ and we wished we had booked for a whole month. It's definitely a place you don't want to leave. So it was love at first site with NZ, the Lodge (it was fun to meet all the international and Kiwi guests on the terrace with a BBQ and open fire space, a wonderful garden where a stream runs through and with butterfly bushes, the spacious living room and kitchen; very clean and modern bathrooms, toilets, showers, rooms), the owner and staff (very friendly, informative and uncomplicated), and the setting (beautiful beaches within a walk -Piha- or short ride -Karekare, where the Piano was filmed-, and waterfalls -Kirikiri Falls up the way after a half an hour walk and Karekare just a 3 minute-walk up the Karekare Rd from the Karekare Car Park).

Room Tip: the right corner ensuite room has a parking space right next to its terrace which is good if zou hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We only spent one night here, but what a night! It's only a few minutes walk to the beach. It's quiet and the place is really nice. When we went there was only a few others there and it made it that more enjoyable. There's a big kitchen and main area and our private room was very nice and relaxing. The owners were very welcoming and helpful and the area is just beautiful. Would loved to have stayed here longer!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I am Mkt Administrator for a big Confectionary Company and we organized our conference in Piha.. Piha Beach Stay has been an amazing location to share pleasent moments! Its lounge room is very confortable and it's easy to transform it in a meeting room :)
The kitchen is big and it has everything!
Thanks for the amazing services provided!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Piha Beachstay Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piha Beachstay Accommodation

Address: 38 Glenesk Road | Piha Beach, Piha 0772, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Piha
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Piha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique guest lodge at Piha Beach. Great location, close to everything in Piha. Bunkrooms, private rooms and en-suite bathrooms. Off street parking, surfing swimming, bushwalks sunsents and sunshine. Often the best things in life are free! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piha Beachstay Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.