We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We felt cheated and disrespected!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Donjon

Save Saved
You added Hotel du Donjon to your Saves list
Hotel du Donjon
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Donjon
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   4 rue des Hivers, 17470 Aulnay, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Aulnay B&B and Inns
Royan, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“We felt cheated and disrespected!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

This stay was VERY UNPLEASANT.
The staff did not understand english. We were promised wifi in the room but there were no wifi at all. The reception closed early and we got locked out for over one hour in the evening, apparently the staff forgot to give us the code in to the hotel.
In the morning when we were about to pay we asked if it was possible to get a better price since there was no wifi and we got locked out. We were very polite and calme when we asked about this. Before we got the chance to finish the owner of the hotel got furious and started to act like a total nuthead.
We stood there like two quiestonmarks and did not understand a thing. The owner shouted and screamd at us, then she started to run around in the hotel yelling and threatening us. This made us very uncomfterble and we did not understand why she got so angry. We felt very disrespected and threatened for no reason at all.
We do not recomend this hotel at all since the owner seemed violent.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tivetshall St. Mary, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This hotel is a great place to stop on a long drive to Southern France. Well situated to explore the Charente-Maritime region, the hotel is clean and very tidy, with a very friendly welcome awaiting you. Rooms are a good size and the ones on the front overlook the market square while others have a very pretty garden view. Beds were good and service very swift throughout our stay. Our one complaint was that we had to ask for new shampoo each day as they only left it in our room on the first day - strange for a hotel that was so efficient in all other aspects. The Thursday morning market is wonderful with great local cheese and produce. This is a good place to stay and we are sure it will work well for you too.

Room Tip: In the high summer a garden room would be a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Hotel du Donjon is a perfect stop off for your north south across France. After a long day on the road back towards Paris, we were made to feel very welcome on arrival. Rooms are clean and comfortable with Wi-Fi and TV.

The only slight downside is that the hotel does not serve dinner, but there are two small bars in the square in Aulnay where you can get steak/frites and pizza for the kids so its no big deal.

Breakfast in the morning is fresh from the boulangerie, together with cereals etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We've just enjoyed a two night stay at the Hotel Don Jon. A warm and friendly welcome greets you at this clean and nicely decorated hotel. Good continental breakfast and in the centre of the lovely little town of Aulnay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed here for three nights recently. Very comfortable. Very clean, lovely rooms. We felt very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Continental breakfast was great and enjoyed coffee in the garden. Situated in the heart of Aulnay so shops, cafes etc close at hand. Market on Sunday morning. I'm sure we'll be back.

Room Tip: The garden room looked especially lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

A good value hotel within easy reach of the A10 motorway. The owners were friendly,helpful and spoke good english. Our room was well furnished and clean and had WIFI access. It was a Monday evening so most of the local restaurants were closed but the hotel provided a lovely simple but tasty dinner. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

This is one of the nicest small hotels that we have visited, and we are constantly drawn back to it. It makes a very good stopover en route from Brittany where we live, to other parts of France.
With mobility problems we are always grateful for the garden room which has a beautiful wet room type of bathroom.
We love to take tea in the garden, surrounded by the scents of jasmine, honeysuckle and clematis. The owners are charming and will do anything they can to make one's stay more pleasant. The hotel has recently been awarded a third star which it certainly deserves.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel du Donjon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Donjon

Address: 4 rue des Hivers, 17470 Aulnay, France
Location: France > Poitou-Charentes > Charente-Maritime > Aulnay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Aulnay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Donjon 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel du Donjon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Donjon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.