We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our wedding at the Plough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Plough

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Plough to your Saves list
The Plough
5.0 of 5 Inn   |   Cow Brow, Lupton LA6 1PJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Lupton B&B and Inns
Ingleton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our wedding at the Plough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

We had our wedding at the Plough. I can say enough positive things about it. Both my husband and I and all our wedding guests were overwhelmed how wonderful the venue looked, the fabulous service and the beautiful food.
I stayed overnight in the Torsin room and it was perfect for the entire bridal party to get ready in with lots of space and beautiful surroundings and most importantly a huge bathroom.
My parents and my sister also stayed and we enjoyed an excellent breakfast, which prepared me for the day. I really recommend the muesli!
Abi - the manager has been from the first a wonderful factor in the preparation of our wedding. At times she has even been a great friend and confident and is supremely well organised and well versed on what you do and don't need and how to arrange the perfect day! I also cannot praise the staff enough. This quality of service is sadly rarely found.
My advice would be that provided you are organised they will ensure the day is flawless.
We had three options of menu. We were overwealmed by the fantastic standard of food. Wedding food is rarely this good. We had a jazz band and disco which the Plough could easily accommodate. It suited all age groups with a wide variety of seating and areas to sit.
We had all the rooms booked out at night so we and family and friends could stay and a lovely family breakfast in the morning.
I have really joyous memories of our day and the Plough was key to it. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it!

The Browns

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    35
    17
    11
    1
See reviews for
28
92
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband booked The Plough as a birthday treat for me on the 27th July and what a treat it was. We stayed for 2 nights in the Torsin room and wished we could have stayed longer. The room was magnificent and huge with a wonderful, luxuriously and comfy superking size bed. The bathroom, also large and out of this world with a gorgeous, refreshing waterfall shower. The food in the hotel could not be faulted with lots of choice on the dinner menu. The only criticism we would make was breakfast was continental with an extra charge for a cooked breakfast. I did think this was a little naughty as it was not explained on their website. Apart from that the whole experience was a joy and we intend to visit again in the autumn

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
290 helpful votes 290 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Perfect setting, easy access to Lakes AND Dales.Lovely helpful manager and very big comfortable rooms with super sized bathrooms and loads of hot water.Food very good and well priced..asked for veggie sausages and they got in before we arrived! Nothing too much trouble.Recommend...you wont be dissappointed!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My partner and I stayed at The Plough at Lupton in August 2011. The booking process was really easy and the staff on reception were so friendly. We stayed in the Torsin Room which was everything a boutique B&B room should be. It was spacious had all the mod cons but with real character, in fact although we'd come up to see friends and of course the great out doors we would have liked to spend more time in the room.
We ate in the restaurant one evening and the food was really good. The atmosphere was also really nice and warm. We had breakfast in our room on the Sunday morning before we left and what a feast.
I would love to return here at some point and would highly reccomend this B&B. I have family that live near by and they all rave about the food too.

Room Tip: The Torsin room is excellent with the added feature of a stand alone bath and a huge shower if you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We booked this as a last minute stop due to poor camping weather, and were very impressed. Great rooms, service and food, will definitely return, rain or sun!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We had read a glowing review of this inn some months ago in the travel section of the Sydney Morning Herald and booked a midweek 2 night deal with dinner on one night. We were not disappointed, although the Torsin suite which is said to be the best room wasn't available. We stated in the Harrington suite which was beautiful with a luxuriously appointed bathroom with lovely toiletries. Breakfast included was continental only so it was extra if you wanted a hot breakfast. We loved having large wooden tables for breakfast with lots of room for the newspapers which were provided.
Dinner menu was excellent with the garlic prawns a particular standout.
Although the inn is on the main road there is not much traffic noise and we found it easy to drive around the Lakes and back in one day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Starters of lamb kofter and mackerel pate really tasty and would have liked more, main course of cod with mash and steak good but slow down the rushed service! Didn't expect to be finishing main course 30 minutes after arrived. We and next table purposefully delayed ordering desserts to try and enjoy surroundings and atmosphere. Plus missed an opportunity to sell us wine during eating. Also tip for kitchen, if the garlic butter you place on steak isn't melting it isn't hot enough or in my case cold! Almost great!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough

Address: Cow Brow, Lupton LA6 1PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lupton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lupton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plough 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your The Plough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Hotel Lupton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.