We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great homestay/b&b on the NorthShore” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albany Fairview Heights Bed & Breakfast

Albany Fairview Heights Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Albany Fairview Heights Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Albany Fairview Heights Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   129 Fairview Avenue, Albany 1311, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Albany B&B and Inns
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great homestay/b&b on the NorthShore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I've stayed a few times now at Fair View Heights on the North Shore to visit family and friends and its a real Kiwi home from home. Craig and Karen can't do enough for you, the place is clean, easy to find, has parking and close to all that the 'Shore' offers. Just outside Albany, 10 mins from Long Bay Beach, Waike Beach and Browns Bay; I can't speak highly enough about the place. Looking forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: Just have a chat with Karen and Craig and let them know what you like - they're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
4
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Craig and Karen were very welcoming and friendly. They were a fount of information for interesting places to visit, places to eat, where to catch buses etc. The house and room were spotlessly clean and even a request for laundry to be done (at a small charge) wasn't an issue.
I would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Karen and Craig are the most welcoming host I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. We stayed 6 nights and the entire time they made us feel like it was our home. The room was large and very clean, Breakfast was fantastic with so much to choose from and not an issue to have a cooked breakfast with an additional charge. The home is large with views to the city of Auckland and when there are more than one guest room booked you would hardly know anyone else was around. We will be back for some more Kiwi hospitality.

Room Tip: City views at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Karen and Craig really went the extra mile for me and my granddaughter over the 14 nights that I stayed here! The place was spotless and the service was beyond reproach. Karen even put me on a detox diet- because I wanted to shrink my waist line- And it worked! Cheers Karen!! On learning about my granddaughter, they upgraded my room without me asking so that she could stay here whenever. I've been in the hospitality trade for the last 20 years and I would like to hope that people think as much of me as I do of Karen and Craig- your doing a first class job! It's been worth the 26,000 miles I've traveled to stay in a place like this. I'm 80 years old and never been looked after like this is my whole life. I think that Karen, Craig and Jackie have made a friend for life in my 13 year old granddaughter who's been able to stay with me whenever she liked. Very well done the Duncan family! God bless you.

Room Tip: All the rooms are outstanding with fantastic views all way round!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Great experience! Excellent and immaculately cleaned rooms. Fantastic bed and linen - probably the best I ever had (better than in 5* hotel). However the most important - B&B hosts Craig and Karen. Their hospitality, friendly smiles and good advises (sightseeing) over healthy and fresh breakfast are second to none. Thank you very much - I really enjoyed staying at your place and our interesting conversations. Hope to see you again, with best regards, Denis

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This has been an outstanding 3 weeks for me at this hospitable & courteous B&B lodging serviced by Craig & Karen. Warm couple and make you feel really at home with their fantastic service offering and home made food. The entire house including its rooms, toilets, kitchen, garden is more the clean and tidy. I had a fantastic time and will definitely be back to stay with my family members for the house is very spacious and has rooms of different sizes to suit both families and singles.
Keep it up guys....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Hamilton
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This B & B is a good place to stop and stay. The hosts are very friendly and relaxed - easy to get to know. The location is quiet even though it is in Auckland and near the motorway. There is a little nature reserve (or similar) next door to the property. The place was clean, the room was quite spacious, the bathroom was modern and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was nice. The only negative was a slight smell of damp in the bedroom but it wasn't bad.

Room Tip: We only saw our room and we had a nice view but there were no room numbers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albany Fairview Heights Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany Fairview Heights Bed & Breakfast

Address: 129 Fairview Avenue, Albany 1311, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Albany
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albany Fairview Heights Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Albany Fairview Heights Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Fairview Heights Bed & Breakfast Auckland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albany Fairview Heights Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.