We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab country pub!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lion & Unicorn Country House Hotel

Lion & Unicorn Country House Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thornhill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lion & Unicorn Country House Hotel
Main St, Thornhill FK8 3PJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Thornhill B&B and Inns
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fab country pub!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Was recommended this wonderful little pub by a friend.....so glad we listened to him.
Lovely surroundings, with log fires on the go!!! Service was fast, courteous and friendly. The food was delicious, the adults had scampi and our son had the kids burger - all portions were huge and beautifully presented. Decent prices too!!!
Will we go back.....most definitely!!!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    13
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
14
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I was on my way driving from Aberfoyle to Edinburgh and saw this place on the side of the road. I was famished having just finished a go ape adventure and saw a sign that said home cooked food. A very charming atmosphere, wonderfully nice staff, and the best meal I've had in awhile. I had the steak burger with fries and salad. I had read about toffee pudding but never had any. I don't know if I'll try it anywhere else, it was so good I would like my memory of the dessert to not be changed from the way they made it. Delicious meal and divine dessert. I will return on my next visit to the country.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Frequented the Lion and Unicorn a few times as my girlfriemd introduced me to it as her gran was evacuated to Thornhill during the war. Never stayed over but deserves a 5* all round based on the meals. Beautiful steak pie and roast beef awesome homemade soups and fresh seafood. Please visit great place for a meal. Staff really friendly and helpful such a cosy place to relax especially during the winter days when the coal fire is roaring. Latest visit 1/9/13

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We just had a fantastic meal at the Lion and Unicorn. The baked camembert and wafer thin croutons to share stuck to our lips and were a delight to our taste buds. Local Scottish mussels in white wine and garlic were immaculately prepared for my fussy son. Our mains were oven baked skate in caper and lemon butter sauce, chicken breast stuffed with haggis and served in a creamy whisky sauce which were cooked to perfection and very tasty. My son rated his home made steak burger an 8/10 due to his suspicion of vegetables! in the home made tomato sauce which I finished off my chips with. I just managed to finish my knickerbocker glory with amaretto cherries and fresh peaches and the cranachan and chocolate brownie were met with gusto by my family. I live close to this pub/ restaurant and regularly eat here. I have always enjoyed the food thoroughly and have met many happy tourists and locals who would rate their experience as absolutely top notch.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Visited the Lion and Unicorn for a bite to eat whilst on our way to doune. We only had about an hour to have lunch which we thought would be plenty of time. Turns out we only had time for a starter. There only seemed to be one waitress serving tables, even though there were 3-4 memebrs of staff walking around. We were seated and got a drink and ordered a small starter each. This took 20 minutes to arrive. We did both really enjoyed it but thought this was very slow for what it was (one bowl of soup with a roll and a small chicken salad.) We then sat with empty plates for 10 minutes before they were cleared and asked if we would like a dessert - which we did. But it wasnt until 15 minutes later the waitress came back with the menu. By this time we didnt have time for a dessert so asked for the bill instead. 10 minutes later we still hadnt had our bill so we had to go to the bar to pay for it there. So all in all we were in for 50-55 minutes and only managed one course. It's a shame because it is a very nice little pub with nice decor and nice food, just wish we had had the chance to try more of the food!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Food was ok, good sized portions and wide menu choice. I ordered the steak pie which looked lovely but I found it to be very salty, vegetables were nicely coooked and the chocolate brownie was very nice. Two of my party ordered the fish in batter which was very large but the batter looked pale as if it needed to be cooked for longer. The service was very slow indeed and the hotel was not very busy. It took 2 hours 20minutes to have 2 courses and that was with us reminding the waitress that we hadnt placed our dessert order. It had been difficult to even locate a waitress. When dessert did finally arrive one of he sweets was mising so we had to chase this too. A little disappointing given other reviews.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the wigwams nearby and visited here for both breakfast and dinner. The food was lovely on each occasion. Massive portions as well, very impressed! The staff were friendly and the owner was lovely. Very chatty and attentive. Would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lion & Unicorn Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion & Unicorn Country House Hotel

Address: Main St, Thornhill FK8 3PJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Thornhill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Thornhill
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional family owned country house hotel, pub & restaurant tucked away near Thornhill just outside Stirling, serving the finest food & ale since 1635. For the homely touch, we have 3 log burning fires, including a huge open fireplace in one of the dining rooms. The accommodation upstairs is of an excellent standard and the views from the windows capture the essence of being in the heart of Scotland with the magnificent scenery on its doorstep. The Lion and Unicorn is the perfect place to spend a few days soaking up the true Scottish hospitality that we all want to discover. Full of friendly locals, it is one of the few Free Houses left in Scotland, with reasonable prices on beer. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lion & Unicorn Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lion & Unicorn Country House Hotel to your Saves list