We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cajun Delights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue's Bayou Cafe

Blue's Bayou Cafe
899 Marchant Rd., Central Saanich, British Columbia V8M 1B5, Canada
250.544.1194
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cajun Delights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Blue's Bayou is situated on the waterfront, and has a delightful ambience. The food is judiciously spiced and I have always greatly enjoyed my meals there. It is a little hard to find, but worth the search.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    29
    13
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Nice Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

We stopped in for a light lunch. We had the roasted onion soup with one crouton on top with a wee bit of cheese. It was perfect. French onion without getting bogged down with cheese. The broth was tasty. We shared a chicken wrap sandwich. The greens were fresh, chicken real and delicious, and it had a subtle heat from the peppers. Spectacular view. Will definitely go again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“It has been way better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We visited the restaurant , September the 17th. 2012 to celebrate our anniversary and our son's birthday. I have made a point that on every visit to Victoria we go out to the Blue's bayou for dinner. This time i was not very impressed. We sat on the patio and watched a beautiful sunset.
For appetizers we had the Voodoo dip, Crab cakes and oysters. they were good and nicely presented. The main course was Jambalaya, coho salmon and bayou chicken. None of the main courses were anything to rave about. dessert were bought, and we ended up with a bill of $240 for 4 people. Too expensive for what we got. the service was nothing special either.
It seemed to me that they don't really care about the business. Also when we left nobody said good bye or thank you.
Having been in the Hospitality industry for over 45 years, i was not impressed with what we received.
I will not go back for dinner until the management starts looking after their guests much better.
Unfortunately i will also no longer recommend the Blue's bayou to my friends.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Delicious casual dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

OMG the mussels were incredible! I was staying at the Brenwood Lighthouse BB (fabulous place) and walked twice to this little gem. Great house salad as well. Not everything is Loiusiana focused.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“dependable quality, food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We live close and have been here several times. Last night the service was fabulous, the halibut and ribs were great and we had a wonderful meal. The price seems to be climbing, but the quality is great.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue's Bayou Cafe also viewed

Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Blue's Bayou Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue's Bayou Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.