We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brentwood Pub

Brentwood Pub
849 Verdier Avenue | Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa, Central Saanich, British Columbia V8M 1C5, Canada
888-544-2079
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Central Saanich, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The food was just ok and so was the service, have been here a number of times over the years and the staff and menus change frequently. Went for a College Graduation family dinner on a Friday night and it was more of a party place. Also noticed very young people drinking and knew for sure that at least one of them was 2 years under age. Not a great atmosphere for the money you pay for the food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    20
    15
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We liked this place so much we returned...... Twice.

The views are good, the atmosphere is great, the food is great and the service is very friendly. Just about all we could ask for in a pub. Recommend the pizza which is very home made indeed, thin and superb flavour balance - not too cheesy. The fries are pretty good as well, plus the fish. Moules frites were a starter for sharing but I had this as a main course. Just right. If we are in Brentwood again, we will eat here

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb Pub Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

For pub food this is a must. This is totally unlike any pub food that is normally experienced in the UK. Portions are huge, food is freshly cooked and tasty. Excellent value.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Xcellent...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Xcellent...Xcellent...Xcellent...Cold beer with great pub fair including peel and eat shrimp, Fanny Bay oysters, popcorn shrimp and much much more...loved the atmosphere of the place...outdoor patio with heaters and huge fire pit...inside was like an high end ski lodge...we really loved this place and are already planning our next trip there...not much more to say than that...Xcellent!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great value, great view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Wanted to have a light meal at the end of the day and our friends suggested this Pub. The view is spectacular, overlooking the ocean. The meals, nicely portioned and very affordable. I had the special at the time, chilli with a caesar salad. Very filling. Our friends had the Fish (Halibut) and Chips and the fish tacos. I tried some...Mmmm good.

I have not "ticked" some of the amenities of the restaurant below, as I don't know whether they offer them or not.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brentwood Pub also viewed

Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Brentwood Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brentwood Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.