We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just stunning!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butchart Gardens

Butchart Gardens
800 Benvenuto Avenue, Central Saanich, British Columbia V8X 3X4, Canada
250-652-4422
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$788*
and up
Private Tour: 3-Day Wine-Tasting Tour Through...
Type: Gardens, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Outdoors
Activities: Walking, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These internationally acclaimed floral display gardens started over 100 years ago and remain privately owned by the family. Jennie Butchart wanted to make her husband's depleted limestone quarry look better and the result is the Sunken Garden. Other gardens include the Rose Garden, the Japanese Garden and the Italian Garden. The gardens are meticulously maintained and provide a riot of colour for much of the year. During the summer, special lighting subtly illuminates the gardens, musical entertainment takes place on the Concert Lawn, and there are ten spectacular Saturday night Firework Shows. The Magic of Christmas season also has beautiful lighting and evening entertainment, and an outdoor skating rink. Spring offers hundreds of thousand flowering bulbs and Autumn is the time for dahlias, chrysanthemums and fall colours. The Gardens is open daily, year round.
UK
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
145 attraction reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
319 helpful votes 319 helpful votes
“Just stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband first visited these gardens 20 years ago before we met and he has mentioned them so many times that when we got the chance to take a day trip to Victoria from the US I knew I had to visit Butchart Gardens.

They did not disappoint, the gardens are stunning, the displays amazing and the colours incredible.

We ate lunch in the cafeteria and all of the food seemed freshly prepared even though it was premade. I only wish we had longer to spend in the gift shop, we had taken a tour from the ferry terminal to get to the gardens and so we were bound by their return times.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,930 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,350
    412
    117
    33
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“You're going to love this if you love begonias”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We visited Butchart gardens today and were very impressed by the outstanding begonias they had on display! The colors and the variety were really quite spectacular. We weren't super impressed with the Japanese garden because we have a fantastic Japanese garden in Seattle - and nothing was in flower. The Italian garden was very colorful.

One thing I will say is that they went a bit overkill on flowers that are quite easy to grow: geraniums, petunias, pansies, and daisies. The flowers that were more unique, were much harder to locate...

Also, the paths are very narrow with tourists constantly stopping to take group photos. This can be somewhat annoying given that the person taking the photo is usually on one side of the path and the group being photographed is on the other. Perhaps these tourists have never seen flowers before?

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great choice if you've never seen flowers before”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

These gardens seem to be rated as the must-see attraction for the region around Victoria, including the city itself. We found the gardens to be artfully presented and well-cared for. However, the overall size of the gardens is small for the amount of people that visit, and we had a hard time enjoying them with so many other patrons around. We even took the advice of one of our guidebooks and visited in the late afternoon (4.30p - 6p), but there were so many people that we were often stopped (waiting) along most of the garden's paths. If you've been to the botanic gardens at a major American city (Chicago, Huntington Library, Portland's Japanese Garden, etc), you're not going to experience much 'wow' factor here unless gardens are really your thing.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“amazingly beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This drop-dead gorgeous in any weather, any time of year. The layout is easy to maneuver, and they have marked the wheelchair-friendly route. There are a few options for eating, all pricey, but the servings are generous. The employees are like all Canadians: soooo nice and helpful. We purchased the tickets, with the bus transport, on the Victoria Clipper.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Sunken garden and boat ride. Also enjoyed tourists from all over the world. We went back the second day for only an additional $3.00 per person.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butchart Gardens also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Butchart Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butchart Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.