We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do NOT give this guy your money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Becker's Lodge Bowron Lake Adventures Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Becker's Lodge Bowron Lake Adventures Resort
Bowron Lake Road, Wells, British Columbia V0K 2R0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Alberta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Do NOT give this guy your money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The irony of this is, he has a tripadvisor decal on his office door. Does he not care what people are saying about him. Do everyone a favour - Dont give this guy a cent and save yourself frustration, aggravation & bad advice. He is abusive, evasive and condescending. He takes every chance he can get to be a jerk. There are great campgrounds to stay at other this his, there are other cabins to rent other than his, and canoe outfitting is abundant other than his. Be warned - I wish I had been. Its too bad he has such a nice place and that he can be successful depsite himself.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    8
    5
    7
    15
See reviews for
23
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maple Ridge, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We booked our first Bowron Lake circuit trip with Becker's Lodge. This beautiful resort has a stunning view of Bowron Lake. The charming, well-constructed trapper cabins that we stayed in were water tight, sufficiently heated by a wood-burning stove, with firm mattresses, warm bedding, and very clean. Our favorite fully equipped cabin was the Betty Wendle with a large deck, bbq, and breathtaking view of the lake. The coin showers were hot and the gravel covered campround provided great drainage.

Becker's had everything we needed for our trip. For the four of us, our circuit package included 2 nights stay in trapper cabins, 1 canoe and 2 kayaks equipped with paddles and lifejackets and 3 carts. We also rented storage containers and dry bags which we were very grateful for during the rainy weather and when we accidentally tipped our canoe. The carts were lightweight and sturdy which were better for attaching to kayaks while paddling.

Upon our arrival, our host Lothar was friendly and helpful and had a unique sense of humour. He transported us with all of our equipment to the head of the parking lot for the first portage. He gave hands on demonstrations on how to attach the carts to the boats. He even had a safe to keep your valuables that you did not want to take with you.

Where the service was really exceptional was when 2 of us had to be pulled out half way through the circuit due to an emergency. Loftar was concerned and very accomodating which greatly helped to alleviate our worries. When we got back from the hospital, he checked up on us frequently to make sure we had everything we needed. The lady who ran the general store was also wonderful. She helped us choose food to get us by until the rest of our family was back from the circuit, and she helped me find a beautiful gift for my father's 80th birthday.

We would definitely return to Becker's and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our Becker's experience began with Tara, the customer service agent in Quesnel BC, who handles all of the bookings. Tara offered great suggestions about travel routes (avoid the logging roads) and also on the type and size of accommodation we could choose. As an experienced paddler, I knew exactly the type of canoe I wanted, I asked for it, and Tara took care of the rest. On arrival, we checked in with Lothar, and were directed to our cabin (Frank Kibbee Cabin). The cabin was immaculately kept. Not a speck of dust, dirt or grime anywhere. In fact, you can tell that Both Lothar and Bettina take tremendous pride in their establishment by how organized and well kept the place is. We purchased a few last minute items from the General Store, and spent a great evening getting all of our gear organized for the big trip! The next morning, Lothar had our Canoe waiting for us and drove us to the Provincial park orientation centre and wished us well. He took the time to give our boat a final inspection, and even pointed out a small dent in the thwart and made sure we knew it was no fault of ours. When we finished the circuit, Lothar mat us at the landing point and congratulated us on a job well done.

For those who are worried about "dealing with Lothar"...Don't...he's GREAT! I recommend the following however:
- If you are dealing with him, be genuine! He is a VERY interesting man and if you take the time to get to know him, he will take the time to get to know you!
- Your "first-world problems" like a 2-day car ride from California, or the fact that you need to stay up past 10:00PM are not his problems.
- If you ask him a question, wait for the answer. You might learn something.
-Bowron lakes is literally in the middle of nowhere. Don't expect all of the conveniences of urban living. There are no fixed telephone lines, therefore no credit cards or internet connections. There are no power lines, therefore everything is generator power (when it goes off, there is no power). So don't complain when you can not use a credit card, or operate something requiring electricity after 10:00PM.

You can expect the following:
GREAT equipment
Exceptionally clean facilities
a comfortable bed
a well stocked store with any last minute items you may require
excellent overall value for your money
a paddling experience on the Borwron lake circuit that is truly unmatched!

Room Tip: The Kibbee Cabin sleeps 4-6 very comfortably
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Subject: Becker's Lodge Bowron Lake Adventures Resort
Location: Wells, Cariboo, British Columbia, Canada, North America
Title: Best place to stay before beginning the Bowron Lake Canoe Circuit
ID#: 138126303

Great cabins overlooking Bowron Lake. We stayed in the Frank Cushman Chalet I and it easily accommodated six of us and had a small fully outfitted kitchenette and bathroom. Lovely trees on property and views of the lake. Perfect place to stay the night before embarking on the amazing Bowron Lake Canoe Circuit trip and they offer canoe and canoe cart rentals as well as transport to and from the lake if needed. Excellent, efficient service from the owner and he spent time telling my husband all about the history of the area and his lodge (unlike some Trip Advisor reviews that said the owner was rude. He is just forthright and very busy.) Fantastic holiday cabin. Kathy Richins, Find Strength in Action Life Coaching

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I highly recommend using another outfitter! The owner provided the worst customer service I have ever encountered. He was condescending, confrontative and unprofessional. Reservations had been made but he demanded payment in cash even though this had not been previously arranged and then charged an extra 5% for using credit. He provided an inferior product. Both kayak seats broke 2 days into the trip and our coats had to be rolled up to provide a backing. On return he accused us of breaking the seats even though it was obvious that they had been epoxy glued previously. His rude rants and horrible behaviour almost ruined a wonderful trip. He is not "the only show in town". Choose another outfitter.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wells hotels

edmonton
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Ditto to all the people who have experienced Lothar and his belittlement of you. He was extremely blunt about all the regulations. Even the staff shudder as he barks out orders to them in front of customers. The guy has no idea about service. Too bad because it is a nice place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

After researching the website for this establishment, we learned that they accepted Visa and MasterCard and also had a fleet so large we didn't need to make reservations. After driving 2 days from the US thank goodness this story has a happy ending, but it could have gone very, very wrong thanks to the rude, uncouth, and downright mean proprietor, Lothar.

Upon our arrival, road weary and looking for gear for the next morning's departure, we met with Lothar at the front desk. At first, we thought his abrupt, crass conversational style was a joke. We quickly realized the joke was on us and this guy was truly just a jerk.

He proceeded to berate us for not having a reservation or bringing enough cash to pay for our gear. When we tried to tell him about what we had seen on the website he said that didnt matter. He refused to take our Visa card because it looked different than he was used to, and thank God we had a Mastercard that apparently looked acceptable enough for him to take.

The next day, he delighted in calling me "little lady," in a demeaning way and when he handed me my canoe paddle said, "For the lady." Then he jerked it out of my reach and said, "If you are a lady. . . "

This guy was horrible. The only reason we're glad we went there was the cleanliness of our cabin and the good canoe.

If you do rent from him, get a canoe cart somewhere else. The one we got from him had teensy tires. Bowron Lake Outfitters and even the Registration Center has much better carts with wide tires.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Becker's Lodge Bowron Lake Adventures Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Becker's Lodge Bowron Lake Adventures Resort

Address: Bowron Lake Road, Wells, British Columbia V0K 2R0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Cariboo > Wells
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Becker's Lodge Bowron Lake Adventures Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Becker's Lodge Bowron Lake Adventures Resort to your Saves list