We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite Camping Spot on Hornby” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bradsdadsland Campsite

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hornby Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bradsdadsland Campsite
Save
You added Bradsdadsland Campsite to your Saves list
2105 Shingle Spit Road, British Columbia V0R 1Z0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Favourite Camping Spot on Hornby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I'm not sure why this place has been getting such bad reviews - I've been here several times and always enjoyed it! It's true the owners can be a bit prickly, however I've found the views and facilities more than make up for it.

You're right on the beach, and, since Hornby is so small, you're not far away from anything. The campsite has a nice, simple playground, and the people there are always great.

I have great memories of this place!

Room Tip: Pick a site carefully - it admittedly helps if you've been once and seen the sites in person. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Recently stayed here with another family. It was our first trip to Hornby and we chose this site as it was advertised as "family friendly" (we were travelling with two toddlers). When the two little boys were up at 7am, the owner came over and rudely asked "who is screaming?!" We confusedly explained that we had two toddlers on our site and was he referring to them? He instructed us to keep them as quiet as possible. I was highly offended. I understand it was early, but for a family-friendly site, the noise of toddlers playing should be welcome (they were definitely not crying or upset, just laughing and playing).

In addition, we had two vehicles with us and asked at check-in where to park the 2nd vehicle. The instructions were vague, and we arrived back to find a note on our car (as well notes on the 4 other cars parked around us) telling us we had to move. So, when we moved the car to our campsite (other sites have parked RVs on them so we figured it wasn't an issue), we were also informed we were not allowed to have 2 vehicles at the campsite. The entire trip was highly frustrating and we will definitely not be returning. Hornby is a beautiful place, but this is not the venue you are looking for to enjoy it!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

One of the attractions of Hornby Island is that there is limited development so that it remains relatively unspoilt. One consequence of this is that there are only a few camping sites. Bradsdadsland takes full advantage of this and charges exorbitant prices. We are charged almost $35 a night for a tiny site with neighbouring tents 6-7 feet away on both sides. The facilities were generally clean, but there were sheets of toilet paper at the bottom of the steps that bring you down to the beach. Quite revolting.
One gets the impression that the owner is out to make as much money as can. He is obsequious and oily when you sign in, but once your money has been handed over, his attitude changes dramatically.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

This campsite setting is beautiful. The owners/caretakers are very helpful (yes - stickler for the rules, which I appreciate). The campsites are all large, fairly private, and there are lots of trees (and blackberry bushes!). The campsite has everything you need and more - wifi, showers, laundry, flush toilets, etc. Now for the bad - we probably have one of the worst sites in the campground. Having never been here before, we didn't really know what to ask for. Our site backs onto the main road, mere feet away from cars and only a few km from the ferry terminal - so every time the ferry unloads, the traffic is very noisy. We like to go to bed early, and sleep in, so this did disturb our sleep. We are also directly in front of a row of seven outhouses - now as far as outhouses go, these are admittedly not too smelly and they are well-maintained, but we do frequently get whiffs of it, which is rather unpleasant. I can imagine that if you had a site away from the road and overlooking the ocean, it would be so wonderful. I guess we know for next time!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Arrived on Hornby island without booking ahead, luckily we had a vehicle and time to check out all 4 campgrounds on the island; 3 campgrounds' sites were either way too small / open, or total party/boozefest central.

If you want a well kept campsite with impeccably clean facilities, great access to the beach, and quiet/peaceful surroundings, BradsDadsLand is the place! It cost a couple bucks more than some other places, but totally worth it - without question the best campground on the island (and one of the best I've been to ever!). The guy who checked us in (owner?) was absolutely friendly and helpful, and clearly has a passion for the place. I would totally go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bradsdadsland Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bradsdadsland Campsite

Address: 2105 Shingle Spit Road, British Columbia V0R 1Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Hornby Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Hornby Island
Number of rooms: 50

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bradsdadsland Campsite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.