We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Sweet Time Porch Sitting and Osprey Watching” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breezy Bay Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saturna Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Breezy Bay Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Breezy Bay Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
131 Payne Road, British Columbia V0N 2Y0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Huntsville, Alabama, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Sweet Time Porch Sitting and Osprey Watching”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed at Breezy Bay in June 2012 and had a delightful time. Megan and Matt prepared amazing breakfasts - orchard pears topped with fresh whipped cream and a spring of mint was my personal favorite. The house has all the charm and character befitting the oldest house on the island. The surrounding flowerbeds were blooming riotously. We spent several peaceful evenings sipping wine on the front porch while we watched the ospreys guard their nest and feed their young. Our room had views of Boot Cove, Breezy Bay and the osprey nest. We were fortunate there was no rain during our stay but with a well-stocked library and a common room filled with antiques, I'm sure we would've been cozy and content indoors too. Breezy Bay is a great place to stay for a laid-back experience on a lovely island.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganMatt M, Manager at Breezy Bay Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The osprey have been putting on quit a show this year. At one point, when there young were first hatched, the Osprey had to battle with the Bald Eagles to defend there nest. An amazon display. Come on back for some pears any time. This year the pear trees are doing very well. It seems we will have alot of canning to do!
With big smiles! Thank you for this review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    4
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

This was one of the greatest B&B experiences I've ever had! The location is magical and I hope to return as soon as the new season starts. The food was top notch and the hosts are a wonderful young couple that will make you feel at home. Live deer frolic nearby if you're lucky enough to catch a glimpse. The house is filled with history and be sure to check out the wonderful library.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganMatt M, Manager at Breezy Bay Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you for your review. It is great that you got to see the deer. Some days they are standing right out side the breakfast room windows (eating from our flower garden). Saturna has so much wildlife; eagles, humming birds, feral goats, bats, jelly fish, deer, just to name a few. All of which visit Breezy Bay farm. I should mention to you this year we have 2 new residents on the farm, 2 minature horses, Chocolate and Moe. They are so cute and quit friendly.
Hopefully we see you again in 2012!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

I had an absolutely wonderful stay at Breezy bay. It was an unforgettable experience! Rich in history and super cozy with such a rustic feel, I was in heaven. Hands down would reccomend this to anyone looking for a true sense of calm. The house is beautiful, its history and antiques are stunning. The food I had there was a real treat, so much of the food I had was from the island its self. The caretakers were amazingly welcoming, always eager to make the stay more comfortable. It was refreshing to have such a young couple to talk to, good company. So sad the season is over, can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganMatt M, Manager at Breezy Bay Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Good news, Breezy Bay B&B is open again for the 2012 season and this year we are staying open all winter. So you can come see what its like on this little island in the quite days of winter, maybe even catch an awesome winter strom! Thank you for posting the picture of your favorite spot! Looks relaxing! It's nice to hear you found calmness here and that you liked the food! You'll have to come again and we can chat some more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We have stayed at Breezy Bay three times in the past year with a wonderful experience each time. Breakfast was served according to our time frame (not set times as in most B&B's) and was not your standard B&B offering. There were a variety of choices throughout our stays with fresh fruits from the farm, home made breads and jams, eggs benedict with fresh homemade hollandaise sauce, pancakes and other delights. Nothing is too much trouble for the hardworking couple that run this Bed and Breakfast as seasonal managers. They went out of their way to ensure that we had a good stay. My elderly father (80 year old) and aunt accompanied us on our last visit and were thrilled with this delightful home and farm and it's peaceful surroundings.
There is a surprising amount of activities to participate in on this tiny island, but we have been just as happy just chilling on the veranda with a book from the private library collection, as exploring the beautiful beaches and coves on the island, hiking or visiting the Vineyard. A truly beautiful and very rustic Island.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganMatt M, Manager at Breezy Bay Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Your words are so sweet, thank you! I'm sure we will be seeing you again in the future. I will make sure Matt make the eggs benny just for you and we'll have plenty of tea on too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

breezy bay is an AMAZING bed and breakfast, i would reccomend it to anyone who appreciates the raw beauty of nature. I so look forward to coming back. Being there felt like taking a trip back in time in the best way and i absolutely loved every second i spent there :D

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganMatt M, Manager at Breezy Bay Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was nice having you and your group of friends here. You all filled the house with laughter for 2 days. We are so glad that you enjoyed your self and we would be pleased to accommondate you all again! The house is always available for renting for large groups, weddings, reunions, clubs, or birthday parties.
Hope we see you again some time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

This is a glorified hostel with B&B prices. We were looking for a quaint farm house B&B which is what it looks like from the website. The farm house is over 100 years old and it looks like nothing has been done since then. The rooms are tiny, the paint is chipping in parts, there are animals that are allowed to roam in the house and worst of all the kitchen and eating area had a distinctly foul smell (and im not normally that finicky about these things). We have seem almost every B&B and cabin on Saturna, we were there for a week and made it our mission to get the lay of the land. We think the two nicest places by far are the Four Winds B&B and the Saturna Lodge (which is a few hundred meters away from Breezy Bay B&B.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganMatt M, Manager at Breezy Bay Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
We have made it our personal goal to work hard to repair and maintence what we believe is a historic treasure. We do admit there is some work to be done. This will take some time but we are motivated. Coming into our third year here it is feeling more like it is home and therefore we want to give this home the needed TLC it deserves. Last year we experienced a septic issue which was delt with this winter. We aploigise for the possible offencesive smell.
We do have a dog named Holly. She spends most of her days on the veranda but does enter the house on occation and sleeps in our quarters. We do not let her in guest bedrooms and she rarely goes up stairs where the rooms are located nor is she alowed in the kitchen or breafast room. We are a pet friendly accommodation but there are rooms available that are 'no pet rooms.'
The Four Winds B&B and the Saturna Lodge are beautiful accommondations. We believe we offer a different experiene then one might get at those locations. Breezy Bay is a rustic experience no hot tubs or TVs but books, some dating back to the mid 1800's. We are a working 1800's farm house. We are always open to give tours of the green houses, orchards or herb garden. Clearly this experience is not for everyone, however, we appreiciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I visited Breexy Bay Bed and Breakfast late in August (2011) with my boyfriend for 2 nights. The young couple who run the b&b Matt and Megan were great! They cooked delicious breakfasts and were knowledgable about the island and things to do. We also kyaked with Brad and Katherine of Kelp Reef Adventures and had a great 3 hour paddle which included lunch. It was the perfect short getaway - affordable and comfortable with a balance of relaxation and adventure.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganMatt M, Manager at Breezy Bay Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
Thank you for your review. We really appreciate you taking the time to say such nice thing about Breezy Bay and Saturna! We are so glad you enjoyed your self!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Breezy Bay Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breezy Bay Bed and Breakfast

Address: 131 Payne Road, British Columbia V0N 2Y0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Saturna Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saturna Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Saturna Island and take a step back in time at Breezy Bay Bed & Breakfast. Our beautiful and rustic 1890's home, still a working farmhouse, is situated on a fifty acre organic farm, approximately 2km from the ferry. Our home was restored last in the 1970's keeping as much original character and charm as was possible. The evidence of its long and diverse history emanates from every room. We offer four unique guest rooms, a library, large common rooms and a breakfast sunroom for vacation getaways or longer stays. Our wholesome, gourmet breakfasts are homemade using local produce; with some ingredients coming straight off the farm.The driveway is lined with Maple, Linden, Hawthorne, Walnut Trees and century-old Lombardy Poplars for almost a furlong and the house itself is nestled amongst Orchards, Flowers, Scented Lindens, and more. A wide veranda overlooking the orchard stretches along the length of the house; an ideal environment for reading, relaxing, and/or bird-watching. Also on the property are short hikes, a pond and private beach, suited for kayak launching or sun bathing. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breezy Bay Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.