We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whale hat trick” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean EcoVentures Whale Watching

Ocean EcoVentures Whale Watching
1721 Cowichan Bay Road, Cowichan Bay, British Columbia V9L 3X3, Canada
250-748-3800
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ocean EcoVentures' whale watching excursions depart daily from the seaside village of Cowichan Bay.Our Whale Watching tours focus on the Southern Resident Orca Whales, Transient Orca Whales, Humpback Whales, Grey Whales and Minke Whales. You will also encounter Sea Lions, Bald Eagles, Harbour Seals, Dalls and Harbour Porpoise.A small, owner-operated family business, Ocean EcoVentures is committed to providing you with an intimate and informative whale watching tour.
Duncan, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Whale hat trick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

The four of us were out for the afternoon with Simon, We saw Big Momma the humpback with her 3 month old calf, J-pod killer whales, too many to count, including Granny the 103 yr old. Highlight was the three that swam inches under the boat! We also got to see a Minkie Whale on the way home. Simon's knowledge and interest in the whales made the trip a great memory. Was my second trip with this company and will be making it a yearly event!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    15
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An amazing whale watching experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

What a wonderful trip we had yesterday. We saw a jumping Humpback whale and killer whales. I was very emotional. Simon did all the extra's to make this trip a wonderful experience.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Whale of a great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Simon clearly has a passion for whales and the sea, and has a great enthusiasm for sharing it. I have been on many whale watching trips (in Hawaii and California) and this one ranks at the top. What a difference when you go out with the owner/operator! Simon checked with the group to be sure everyone had time to hang out 'a bit longer' with the humpbacks. And what a thrill when we got to see a full breech. Not an every day occurrence. The other commercial operators with the fifty person tours had already moved on to keep their appointed schedule. Once again, I am convinced that it pays to "buy local". Thanks for a great day!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Bay, Canada
1 review
“A grand day out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My son (9 years old) and I had a wonderful time this afternoon (1pm tour). This was the first time we had ever gone on such a tour and it was great. Simon took us north to see very playful orcas. He also showed us seals and a bald eagle in their habitats. It was a great way to learn about these amazing animals. I enjoyed the small group (only 6 people), Simon, the personable and knowledgable guide and the great sightings. He also kindly offered to email some photos shot with his fabulous camera. The tour took approx. 4 hours, which was fine with me. It may be a little long for younger kids. Bring snacks!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Another Amazing Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Yet another amazing trip. Safe in the capable hands of Simon, we set off for the waters just off Tsawwassen. Once there Simon quickly located J Pod and the amazing 103 year old Granny. Perfect weather, flat calm seas and lots of happy orca doing what orca do best, catching fish and jumping for joy. About three hours of absolute bliss watching these incredible animals in their natural habitat. We are lucky enough to go whale watching quite frequently and with Simon have had a 100% success rate over the last three years.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean EcoVentures Whale Watching also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
 

Been to Ocean EcoVentures Whale Watching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean EcoVentures Whale Watching, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.