We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to recharge and so beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Farm Bed and Breakfast

Old Farm Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cowichan Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Farm Bed and Breakfast
2075 Cowichan Bay Rd., Cowichan Bay, British Columbia V0R 1N0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Cowichan Bay B&B and Inns
Edmonton, Alberta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to recharge and so beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

Laurids and Vivianne are amazing. They are the most gracious hosts who treated me like royality. The room was beautifully furnished in a 1908 home and was so clean! The breakfast they served had vegetables from their garden, fruit from their trees, freshly baked goods from their oven and eggs from the local farm. The food was simply delicious! The view of the estuary from my bedroom window was remarkable, and their grounds around their house were so beautiful. I woke up to the birds singing and the smell of the west coast. Cowichan Bay is an interesting little coastal town worth exploring with many wineries to visit in the area. The whole experience was a 5 star rating!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yakima
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

We stayed in the cheery and comfortable Cowichan Room. The beautifully kept yard overlooked the tide flats of Cowichan Bay with its herons and geese. We had a very relaxing evening watching the sunset and the tide come in. The resident gray goose, Robert, added to the beauty of the sunset by swimming in the reflecting water. ViviAnne and Laurids treated us like family and were most gracious hosts. The breakfast was a phenomenal and healthy feast. It could have feed at least 5 people. Homemade breads and rolls accompanied a nice selection of fresh fruit, cheese, salmon spread, preserves, yogurt & granola, omelet, sausage, fried potatoes, salad, freshly squeezed juice, and coffee. If that wasn't enough, the meal was topped off with a tray of cookies and dessert pastries. Fortunately ViviAnne provided a Zip-Lock bag so we could take them with us to eat on the ferry ride back to Washington. We highly recommend the Old Farm B&B and will stay there again if we return to Cowichan Bay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

We stayed in the Koksilah Suite for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The century-old farmhouse overlooks the tidal mud flats of Cowichan Bay. The tranquil grounds included several fruit trees, a gazebo, and hot tub. Our room was quiet and comfortable. The hosts provided a huge delicious breakfast each morning. While the inn is only about a mile from the small fishing village of Cowichan Bay, I wouldn't recommend walking since there are no sidewalks along the busy roadway.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PITTSBURGH,PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2006

My husband ans I have just returned from a wondeful trip to Vancouver Island. Our stay at "Old Farm" was the highlight of our trip! The new owners add a lovely european touch to the service. The breakfast we had was "incredible" ! Beautiful omelets, fresh squeezes oj, a large selection of homemade breads and muffins, wonderful locally made yogurt and granola...
We highly reccomend the place- the setting is as beautiful as it gets!

  • Liked — location and meal
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2004

Our first time and first night on Vancouver Island at The Old Farm B & B was very nice. The home is very old but completely restored with all the modern comforts you could want. We stayed in the Robert Service Suite which contains a fireplace, very comfortable kingsize bed, full kitchen, large bathroom with jacuzzi tub and separate shower and dressing table. A large deck looks over the garden and the river. We would recommend this B & B, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2004

Wonderful hosts and a a great B&B facility. We have stayed at B&B's all over Western Canada and the Old Farm ranks as one of the best. The loation is perfect for tourists enjoying southern Vancouver Island and the gulf islands. We will certainly return to this facility when we are vacationing in the area again

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2003

We have had the pleasure twice in being guests at the Old Farm B&B.
Barb and George are wonderful hosts and have a truly unique home. It is modern and comfortable with the natural feel of a century-old house.
Barb's culinary efforts are worth the rates and that makes the lodging seem free. Staying with them is like visiting close family without the sibling rivalry. They provide the yardstick for all other lodgings to try to attain. May they live forever!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2075 Cowichan Bay Rd., Cowichan Bay, British Columbia V0R 1N0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Cowichan Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cowichan Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Old Farm Bed And Breakfast Cowichan Bay, Vancouver Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Farm Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Old Farm Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list