We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just relax, kick back and enjoy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skeeter Jacks

Skeeter Jacks
9398 Sunshine Coast Highway # A, Powell River, British Columbia, Canada
(604) 487-1997
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 61 Restaurants in Powell River
Price range: $10 - $20
Restaurant details
Calgary AB
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just relax, kick back and enjoy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We just returned from a trip to Powell River to visit family and were introduced to Skeeter Jacks by our daughter. Since we were staying in a campground and didn't want to dress up we were hesitant but told not to worry, that "this place is relaxed". What a find! Miss the fish and chips already! Upon arrival, we were pleasantly surprised by the feel of the place. It's totally alive with people, music, laughter and a truly "down home" feel. We were greeted and seated by the most incredible lady with THE best sense of humor! She's totally amazing and always has a smile!
The menu is varied and more than fairly priced for what you get. Fish and chips were the best ever and their homemade salad dressing is to die for. My husband had their Jack Attack and I'm pretty sure it's enough for any meat lover!
We went 3 nights in a row and thoroughly enjoyed the food, drinks, atmosphere and fabulous staff! This place needs a visit from Guy Fieri I'd say that pretty much sums it up! If you're ever in the area, check it out!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Powell River, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Skitter in at Skeeter Jack's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

One of the very few noshing spots on the 27-km drive between Powell River proper and the ferry at Saltery Bay, Skeeter Jack's used to be renowned for its take-out fish and chips and an odd arrangement of entrances and exits. The eatery had the climate of hurried afterthoughts.

That's evidently long in the past. Now the wide, welcoming porch has attractive sit-down space, and the front door lets you into a comfortable space of wooden tables where dining is plainly a local priority. Service is prompt and you'll have your local "Townsite" beer set in front of you in minutes.

Fish and chips (never my dish of enticement) is still the house specialty, offering one to three pieces of cod or halibut from $7.95 to $17.95, complete with home fries and salad. There are four appies, two of them vegetarian. Seven types of burger, from veggie through fish or chicken to beef, also come with salad and fries. Until 4 p.m. you can order five types of sandwich and add soup, salad or fries for an inexpensive meal, nine or ten dollars. At 4:30 the kitchen switches to fish, ribs, steak or lasagna dinners. Weekends, you can choose from half a dozen types of pizza. Four salads, a pasta dish, beef dip, a kids' menu and the usual comforting additions, like onion rings or strips and fries round out the ample menu.

I had the chicken quesadilla with caesar salad, at $12.95; my friend took the beef dip, which came with coleslaw and fries, for the same price. With a glass of Powell River's micro-brew, it went down very well.

Skeeter Jack's is a good spot to remember on your way south of town or at that awful moment when you're staring glumly at the plastic sandwiches in the so called cafe on the BC ferry that serves Saltery Bay. Wait! Don't touch the junk food! There's real food at Skeeter Jack's just a few kilometers further, on your right.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We decided to go out for lunch today and so we went here, it was great! Quite, service was fast and friendly! Always a great place to eat!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great, friendly service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Service was good, busy night for them and the server kept up with a smile! Decent menu plus nightly specials. Our chicken dinner was okay...thought a side of gravy at $1.95 was a bit much.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Local Joint!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I had heard that on Monday Nights they have sushi, so we decided to try it and what a surprise it was!! Soo good and fresh!! Also it was a great price!! The only complete I have is that we were there at 5pm and didn't get our food until 6ish, they were way to busy with the takeout service, but the Qulity Of The Food Made Up For That! We will be going back forsure!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skeeter Jacks also viewed

Powell River, Sunshine Coast
Powell River, Sunshine Coast
 
Powell River, Sunshine Coast
Powell River, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Skeeter Jacks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skeeter Jacks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.