We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skeeter Jack's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skeeter Jacks

Skeeter Jacks
9398 Sunshine Coast Highway # A, Powell River, British Columbia, Canada
(604) 487-1997
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 55 Restaurants in Powell River
Price range: $10 - $20
Restaurant details
Powell River, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Skeeter Jack's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This restaurant is a hidden gem in Powell River. The food is excellent and the price is very reasonable. They have the best fish and chips in town.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Powell River, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic food,friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Have been going here before they converted the store to restaurant seating to accommodate dinners! Love the fish and chips, but especially love the homemade cheesecakes!!!! Soooooo good.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, Canada
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
“Key Lime Pie Heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The mains are pretty good - decent fish and chips, burgers, etc. The real draw here for me are the amazing home baked pies. So good we have ordered whole pies to take home for special occasions There are limited good spots to eat in Powell River. Skeeter Jack's is one of the best casual dining choices. Unpretentious, good service and decent food.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“SO GOOOOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I will now make a point that every time i come to town i have to eat here. So good and great service, the cheesecakes look and taste amazing. Fish and Chips are top notch!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Fish and Chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

My Husband and I are always on the lookout for good fish and chips.So on the recommendation of fellow ferry passenger going up the sunshine coast we decided to give Skeeter Jacks a try.The restaurant (about 10km south of Powell River)reminded me of an older dinner that you sometimes find in smaller towns.But do not let that stop you from eating there.We order the 3 piece Halibut and chips to share.They spit it up for us on two plates and we actually ended up with 2 good sizes of fish on each plate,with a generous side of fries and a small salad.The batter on the fish was light and crispy and the fish moist and not overcooked.Yummy!!!!
Skeeter Jack does not just have fish and chips ,they do have quite a few other things on their menu and all is supposedly very good .And give their deserts a try,they are to die for,all is homemade. Would we go back, definitely.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skeeter Jacks also viewed

Powell River, Sunshine Coast
Powell River, Sunshine Coast
 
Powell River, Sunshine Coast
Powell River, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Skeeter Jacks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skeeter Jacks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.