We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be put off by the views, this is a cracking place to stay, the room, food and staff were all brilliant.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Courthouse Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Courthouse Inn to your Saves list
The Old Courthouse Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6243 Walnut Street, Powell River, British Columbia V8A-4K4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Powell River
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wiltshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't be put off by the views, this is a cracking place to stay, the room, food and staff were all brilliant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

Once we got over the shock of the paper mill next door, we loved the 3 nights that we stayed here. The room, food and service were all really good, we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    33
    9
    8
    4
See reviews for
29
47
10
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2008

We stayed in room 11. It has 2 bedrooms. The rooms and bathroom were very clean. There is a little kitchen downstairs for any of the hotel guests to use, which saves on buying meals.
The beds were comfortable. There was a nice selection of complimentary teas to choose from.
The location is only 10 minutes from town. The mill that the hotel is in front of was not noisy at all.
The downfalls are that there is no deadlock on the door, nor is there an inside sliding lock! Every hotel room I have ever been to has an inside lock for that added bit of protection. So we did not feel safe sleeping without a good lock on the door. (it is just one of those push the knob and turn to lock types)
The mini fridge was so noisy I had to unplug it at night, even though I had food in there. It kicks in every 10 minutes or so and even earplugs wouldn't block out the noise.
Overall I would go back, but to a room that had a better lock on the door(some did)

  • Liked — Very clean bathroom!
  • Disliked — No safe lock on the door!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

Very friendly staff which makes all the difference. The Inn has a lot of character, and though I am not into antiques, I can appreciate the attention to detail that went into decorating this historic courthouse. My husband and I didn't seem to notice any malodor and I feel that the history of Powell River starts with the the paper mill and the fact that they were once the largest paper producers. Hot powerful showers, a small fridge, coffee machine in the room. Powell River is a quaint town with natural beauty that cannot be manufactured. Those who are seeking a "touristy" area will be disappointed but if you are looking for spectacular scenery (hiking/kayakin), beautiful weather, amazing sunsets and star gazing that take your breath away... go to Powell River.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff.
  • Disliked — communal iron - no iron in the room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonWS
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2008

We had one week left for holiday's and had never been to Powell River on the Sunshine Coast. After two Ferry rides from Vancouver (and a winding road drive in-between), we arrived and noticed that the Town was built on a hill, and most of the houses had ocean vews. We continued on the main road and eventually ended up in the Historical Townsite. All the houses were older character homes, and were amazed at how neat every yard was and how well kept everything in the Townsite looked.

We came to what looked like the "original down town" and noticed the historic Court House Inn. Found out that it was indeed an original Court House, that had been coverted to an hotel. As unique is the historic townsite, so is the Court House Inn unique.

We entered and were given a tour of the rooms that were available. Each room is different, the hallways have a plethora of antiques, pictures of the original townsite decorated the walls. We decided to stay in this unique hotel. The rooms are also decorated with aniques, certainly not a 5 star accomodation, but was comfortable, freindly, and took us back to better simpler times. We loved it.

We could see the owners also had a sense of humour, there is a sign in the bathroom (which had upgraded modern facilities), that said "this building is old the hot water will come".

Being once a court house, the building probably has many stories of times past. Being a court house the owners are guilty of providing friendly, comfortable, and unique surroundings. If your looking for a great place to stay that will take you back in time, this is highly recommended. If you want 5 star accomodations, big screen TV, wireless internet, this is not for you. If you want a place to relax, and explorer historic times, quality (not plastic), antiques, and a friendly atmosphere, fill your boots.

  • Liked — Loved the antiques
  • Disliked — Nothing that comes to mind
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2007

My experience at the The Old Courthouse Inn was extremely positive. As a frequent traveller I stay in many hotels all across the continent and from hotel to hotel they all start to look the same. The folks that own the The Old Courthouse Inn have put their heart and soul into what I would say is an amazing place. The owners are very friendly people and very hands on being fully committed to the day-to-day operations, making sure they uphold their integrity.

The decor will bring you back a few years and leaving the building as original as possible brings a lot of great character. If your looking for something unique and special, and would like to get away to one of Canada's best kept secrets in Powell River, I would highly recommend The Old Courthouse Inn.

  • Liked — The people and the Antique character
  • Disliked — no phone in the room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
white rock
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2007

We don't think that it really matters 'why' you are staying in Powell River, we would definately recommend spending a night or two in the Old Courthouse Inn. The owners/staff are a treasure and full of valuable 'local' information. One of the most friendly places we have been in a long time...truly B.C.!
The rooms and halls are filled with treasures, memories, nostaltia and a really comfortable feeling. The peace and quiet of the room made our visit relaxing. We had some real quality time as a couple there. This was our second stay and not our last.
Room 12 is our favourite so far...less of a view, but real character.
Room 4 ...well...why don't you find out for yourselves. Each room is uniquely different.
We loved that we could have Thai takeaway in our room, or pizza or choose to use the kitchen facility provided, or dine on elegant cuisine without having to leave the building.
On our first visit we chatted in the hallway with other visitors from England. Unpretentious and casual.
Maybe we will see you there.
B & K Johnston, White Rock

  • Liked — all the great stuff to look at.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2007

We booked the Old Courthouse Inn because of the one and only review on Tripadvisor, the nice pictures on their (OCI) website and the reasonable price. But, before I tell you more let me go back to our Ferry ride across to Powell River.

It was a beautiful sunny day, blue skies and the water was dead calm which made for a perfect journey to Powell River which we had not previously visited. To the left we could see what was clearly a pulp mill and to the right about 3kms away was the main town and wharf.

On exiting the Ferry, we followed our MapQuest directions which took us left in the Pulp Mill direction. As we got closer and closer, the smoke/emmissions from the Pulp Mill became more visible. We got to our last maneuver and couldn't believe it, but the Old Couthouse Inn is right out the front of the Pulp Mill and I mean right out front! The smell was quite pungent and could affect those who are sensitive to such things, and the outlook is totally destroyed and dominated by the Pulp Mill.

We were coming to this part of Canada to enjoy the water and mountains, not sleep outside a factory. I appreciate the need for industry, but was disappointed that this fact had not been disclosed by the other Trip Advisor reviewer or the official OCI website.

The rooms were full of what I would call as 'old' furniture. The beds were very average and looked like they were made by a child. On top of this there is no air-conditioning which if the owners will need to install if they want to stay in business for the long-haul and stay next to the Mill. Otherwise, they need to relocate the entire building in another part of town!

Powell River is an interesting place and has a lot of potential as a tourist area, but the locals have a lot to do if they want to capitalise on the natural beauty and attract tourists for more than a one night stand. The same of course applies to many places, but this area has potential if developed properly.

Next time we will stay elsewhere or simply pass through like most others on the Ferry.

  • Liked — Leaving!
  • Disliked — The location.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Courthouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Courthouse Inn

Address: 6243 Walnut Street, Powell River, British Columbia V8A-4K4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Powell River
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Powell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Old Courthouse Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel guests can enjoy the unique charm and character of each of the 8 rooms. An eclectic mix of antiques and collectables adorn the rooms and halls reminding guests of the days gone by. Enjoy a free breakfast at Edie Rae's Cafe with your overnight stay. Our guests can also take comfort in the modern Amenities of today. We welcome you into our Quaint and Unique Little Heritage Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Courthouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Courthouse Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Courthouse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.