We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful heritage inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Courthouse Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Old Courthouse Inn to your Saves list
The Old Courthouse Inn
6243 Walnut Street, Powell River, British Columbia V8A-4K4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off weekends only
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Powell River
Penticton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful heritage inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Lovely, charming heritage inn. Comfy bed, clean room and very pleasant staff. Really enjoyed all the history throughout the inn. The breakfast at Edie Raye's was great, too! A lovely place to stay while enjoying the beauty of Powell River.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    28
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
28
40
9
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Campbell River, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Beautiful nostalgic building with beautiful antiques and artifact and history through-out. Staff were extremely accommodating. Breakfast was five star all the way! Eggs Bene were perfect.

The view outside is lacking due to the mill, but, enjoy the beauty and comfort with-in.

Beds and rooms were supper cosy and clean!

Love it!

The Stars

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The Inn is exceptionally clean and well appointed. It's period appropriate charm holds true, right down to the crystal ring holder at the bedside.

The view of the mill on the water a few blocks down, is a small price to pay for the spotless nature of the accommodation, centralized location between Lund and the ferry terminal, and yummy gourmet quality breakfasts that are included in one's room rate.

We were in Powell River looking at real estate, thus drove by many resorts and hotels and was not once disappointed at our having chosen The Old Courthouse Inn.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

A beautiful quaint guesthouse without peers for a wonderful welcome and absolutely the best breakfast anywhere. JP's M&M pancakes made my nephew's holiday. Check out Canada's oldest cinema just across the road for a truly historic cinematic experience. Wonderful

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

The owners clearly love the hotel and the breakfasts are excellent, especially if you like eggs benny. The old townsite area of Powell River is fascinating and the view of the mill from the front of the hotel is fantastic (billows of what I was assured was just steam, nothing more toxic, although that was not the case in the old days.)

However there was no desk in my room (room 4) and only a tiny tiny table so it was very difficult to work. The internet access was a bit erratic. The other rather odd thing is that there is no phone in the room. I know most people, including me, have cell phones but still that seemed odd.

Room Tip: If I weren't staying at the hotel for business I would have rated the rooms higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We found ourselves stranded in Powell river for a night in May. After looking around for accommodation we stumbled across the Old courthouse. Jp the proprietor was so engaging and gracious, he gave us a history of this lovely boutique hotel and made us feel very welcome. This place is not like your run of the mill guesthouse/hotel. It's delightfully and thoughtfully furnished, unique and on top of all that reasonable. Jp made us a fantastic breakfast in the hotel restaurant and even sent us on our way with home made treats.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

This trip to Powell River, we stayed in the "Sweet Suite", a gorgeous two-bedroom loft in Canada's oldest credit-union building. Champagne and sunsets gloriously framed by ocean, mountains, and the Historic Townsite steam stack created a unique ambiance. Breakfast at the Inn is intimate and scrumptious, the proprietors red-hot winners of a recent hospitality award. I would jump at the chance to stay in this one-of-a-kind venue again. A marvelous adventure!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Courthouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Courthouse Inn

Address: 6243 Walnut Street, Powell River, British Columbia V8A-4K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Powell River
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Powell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel guests can enjoy the unique charm and character of each of the 8 rooms. An eclectic mix of antiques and collectables adorn the rooms and halls reminding guests of the days gone by. Enjoy a free breakfast at Edie Rae's Cafe with your overnight stay. Our guests can also take comfort in the modern Amenities of today. We welcome you into our Quaint and Unique Little Heritage Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Courthouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Courthouse Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Courthouse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.