We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying at a favourite relatives” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Courthouse Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Old Courthouse Inn to your Saves list
The Old Courthouse Inn
6243 Walnut Street, Powell River, British Columbia V8A-4K4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off weekends only
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Powell River
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Like staying at a favourite relatives”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. What a wonderful experience. The rooms were very comfortable. The hosts were very welcoming. To quote my husband at breakfast in Edie's Cafe " I feel like I am staying at a friends or with family".
A definite must if you are staying in Powell River.

Thanks JP and Kelly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    28
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
28
41
9
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed over for night. The room was beautifully decorated - the lampshades were amazing. Don't be put off by the nearby factory, it's the character and hosts which make this such a great place. The Edie Rae cafe bar in the morning is worth the trip alone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great staff, great cafe/bar, great food. Beware of room 10, unconvincingly titled, by manager, as the European Room. From our direct experience two of the rooms on the first floor are nicely accommodating. Vegans can eat a good breakfast there. Order the Heavenly Hash.

Room Tip: Be sure not to be booked into room 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This place has to be seen to be appreciated, very quaint facility for sure. The owners were incredibly hospitable and made us feel very welcome. The included breakfast was a multitude of choices including eggs Benny! Where else can you find this? Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We picked this Inn from a web review, and were thrilled that we did. The whole inn, including the rooms, were decorated with antiques, and is located in an historic district. Yes, it is located next to the papermill, but so was the historic townsite,and at is a part of the history! We were welcomed by JP, one of the owners, who was a pleasure to meet - lots of information and suggestions. In fact, the cafe in the hotel is named after his mother, and the food was excellent. We would certainly stay here when we are back in Powell River.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We enjoyed this lovely old hotel - clean, friendly service, good breakfast on the large deck. The location worked well for us - a short trip to the lovely Lund and back, and mere steps away from the renowned Townsite Brewing and a funky little restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed one night at the Old Courthouse Inn in Powell River. The hotel itself is great. It's an old-fashioned interior, great decor with lots of vintage items. It has a restaurant as part of it with a nice deck you can sit out and eat on. The owner and all the people there are friendly, helpful and the service is excellent. Room was very clean and nice and thoughtfully put together. Everything worked fine. Dinner and breakfast were great. Dinner was very reasonable.
BUT, all of this was offset by the fact that instead of the great view of the sea that I expected as my room and the restaurant deck face out on the sea, there was a large, fully functioning wood pulp plant with large chimney stacks belching steam day and night and with the rumble, albeit fairly quiet, of machinery going on through the night. I would like to have been warned of this before going to the hotel. I would probably have chosen somewhere else. I had imagined a beautiful view of the British Columbia coastline. There is an all-pervading smell of wood pulp being processed. It's not noxious or anything but it is there most of the time.
So, I don't like criticizing but I do feel that visitors should be warned of the setting of this hotel and some people may be very happy with the history of the pulp mill etc. But it spoiled it for me. At least you should know before you get there.
I could add a photo of the pulp mill but it would not really be fair as I don't have photos of the inn itself to go with it and the inn is really nice.

Room Tip: I don't know what the other rooms are like. Mine was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Courthouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Courthouse Inn

Address: 6243 Walnut Street, Powell River, British Columbia V8A-4K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Powell River
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Powell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel guests can enjoy the unique charm and character of each of the 8 rooms. An eclectic mix of antiques and collectables adorn the rooms and halls reminding guests of the days gone by. Enjoy a free breakfast at Edie Rae's Cafe with your overnight stay. Our guests can also take comfort in the modern Amenities of today. We welcome you into our Quaint and Unique Little Heritage Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Courthouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Courthouse Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Courthouse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.