We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon B&B By the Sea / Spa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Powell River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beacon B&B By the Sea / Spa
Save
You added Beacon B&B By the Sea / Spa to your Saves list
3750 Marine Avenue, Powell River, British Columbia V8A 2H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Powell River B&B and Inns
Lethbridge, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Memorable Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I picked the Beacon based on the reviews here, and stayed two nights in July. It fully met my expectations. It was charming, clean, comfortable, quiet, with excellent amenities and outstanding breakfasts. Shirley and Roger are excellent hosts, and their attention to detail shows everywhere, from the mini-lighthouses at the gate to the fully-equipped bathroom. Why stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
47
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

From initial contact to final farewell, Shirley & Roger made sure that every moment of my stay was carefree and comfortable. Breakfast was awesome as were my hosts. My visit during Kathaumixw week was made especially memorable by staying in such a great B&B.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Roger and Shirley make you feel welcome immediately. They are very down to earth people with a great sense of humour. Their place has a great view of the water where you can watch eagles and the odd whale. Huge and delicious breakfasts, quiet clean rooms and close to town for suppers. We were on a motorcycle, there was a nice easy to park cement pad out back. We would stay there again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We only stayed one night but wished it could have been more after eating the breakfast! It was the best food we had on our entire trip. We wish now that we had taken pictures as the presentation was surpassed only by the taste! Shirley and Roger are warm and genuine hosts and we feel like family after just one night. Be sure to plan some time to sit on the deck at sunset to watch the eagles and get a first hand account of the history of Powell River and the Beacon B&B itself. Thank you again for your wonderful hospitality!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Shirley & Roger are a wonderful couple and welcoming hosts. Your generous offer to greet me at the airport was very much appreciated. The B & B is clean and comfortable, the view spectacular and the breakfasts outstanding. Look forward to seeing you again!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We had the ultimate pleasure of spending 7 days at Shirley & Roger's b&b. The food was beautifully presented, absolutely delicious and very healthy too. Remember to bring your appetite because the breakfast is big. The BEACON is kept very clean, the view is unbelievable and we really enjoyed Shirley & Roger. They're great! We will come back.
Russ & Penny

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Roger and Shirley did a fine job of making me feel at home. Room was not large, but was well ecqipped, clean, and comfortable. Bath is shared, but I was only guest. Breakfast was excellent, and Roger entertained with company and one liners. Thanks for you hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Beacon B&B By the Sea / Spa, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Beacon B&B Spa. We truly enjoyed the opportunity of meeting you. Just a little clarification on the rooms. Both our rooms have private bathrooms. The Sunrise has a private bathroom adjacent to the room and Serenity Ensuite has all bathroom facilities right in the room. We hope to see you back in BC sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beacon B&B By the Sea / Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon B&B By the Sea / Spa

Address: 3750 Marine Avenue, Powell River, British Columbia V8A 2H8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Powell River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Powell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a centrally located, adult oriented, 2 room B&B Spa featuring real Sunshine Coast hospitality. Come and marvel at our ever-changing ocean vista from our common area, complete with telescope and television. Enjoy awesome sunsets and soaring eagles. Relax with on-site massage from your hostess. Awake to a healthy, hearty breakfast! Free wireless internet or plug-in. Plan to spend at least 2 nights in this large, wonderful scenic and outdoor adventure area. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon B&B By the Sea / Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.