We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rodmay Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rodmay Heritage Hotel to your Saves list
Rodmay Heritage Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6251 Yew Street, Powell River, British Columbia V8A 4M8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Powell River
Nanaimo
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I stayed in the Rodmay last night. The bed was very comfortable, and despite being in a room facing the mill (this hotel was originally built to accommodate mill workers over 100 years ago), it wasn't very noisy at all! I had a screen in my window, not that it matters as it was snowing, and I had the heat cranked. TV was old, but worked well, and they even had in-room coffee that was good (can't say I've ever had 'good' in-room coffee at ANY hotel before). It is old and the floors may not be totally level, but it has soul, and was super clean and comfortable. I am allergic to mold/mildew, and found I was pleasantly surprised to wake up this morning with no bodily signs of being exposed to mold/mildew...which is pretty amazing for a hundred year old hotel!

If you want luxury, a basic room here is probably not going to amaze you (though I can't speak of their executive suites - they look amazing).

If you want character, soul and charm, and a comfy place to sleep, this IS the place to go!

The staff are very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    9
    7
    6
    6
See reviews for
6
14
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Discovered Powell River Townsite from the very helpful Guide at the Information Centre. Enjoyed the morning wandering around the Town admiring the 30s buildings and quiet streets overlooking the ocean. Came across the hotel at the end of our walk and were delighted to find a 50s cafe. The food was good and the attention to detail with memorabilia from the 50s made it a real museum piece. A well kept secret. The best of luck with your renovations - please keep them in line with the style.

Room Tip: Only ate in the Magpie Cafe
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, BC , Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed in one of the penthouse suites recently and enjoyed our experience greatly. Powell River is a delightful little town especially in this area where the historic townsite is a charming place to walk around and the beaches are free of crowds but fresh and clean and warm. The Magpie Cafe in the hotel is a screaming deal. The food is fresh and filling with plenty of choices for any crowd. The 2 gentlemen working there were cheery and welcoming, informative too.

Room Tip: It's an historic hotel so the front rooms which were originally for the mill mucky-mucks are awe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I visited the Rodmay over the Easter weekend 2012. I hadn't been in Powell River for many years. I am so glad I stayed here. What a treat! It's part of BC and Powell River's history. Expansive foyer, winding staircase, very large rooms (at least the one I was in), and quiet. Some of the amenities of new hotels not there, but then, the price was right and I'd rather have character than sameness. The Rodmay is going through major changes, thanks to the hardwork of its owners and board members (it's a society too!), and all of them good changes: Rainbow Room being updated ground space being developed for art studios, a very cool 50's feel restaurant on the premises. It's near to the waterfront and the historical Powell River mill (no longer pulp, no smell). The charming nPatricia Theatre is just up the hill and the at the end of the road is Lund, also an historical gem.
Rodmay is a great getaway, wonderful place to hold a retreat, weekend workshops, dance. Check it out!

Room Tip: Didn't see the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the unique Rodmay Heritage Hotel in December, 2011. It is being lovingly restored and expanded to include small businesses and local arts endeavors. Our room was super clean, cozy, with an excellent bed, and friendly service. We ate incredibly well in the Magpie Diner, the food was fresh and home-cooked and delicious at every meal - lasagna, great breakfasts and crab cakes were favourites. The hotel also includes a beautiful large banquet room, the Rainbow Room, a renovated heritage barber shop – The Madcap Beauty Spot, and a Liquor Store. Local art exhibitions in the beautiful lobby! And a great dance band at Mckinney's Pub on Friday night – the pub also has an interesting library available for a daytime visit! Our stay was memorable and we will definitely be back. Darcie and Gabriel

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayward, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Three of us visited for a weekend and loved the atmosphere. It is being lovingly restored. The food is great at Magpie's. It is very clean and comfortable, and the staff very friendly and accommodating. On the downside, the tv wasn't working and despite several requests, was never attended to. Hot water was slow, but to be expected in a building that old. I happen to love the old fir floors wood woodwork and original windows. If you want modern, forget it. It is a period building with all the quirks that go with it. As an owner of a similar business I can appreciate the hard work required to restore this lovely building. I would stay there again

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pub to avoid the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We only stayed here one night, it is a 101 year old hotel. It is old but the room we stayed in was very clean. The factory across the street is very noisy if you need quiet to sleep. We had no screens in our windows. The hotel needs some extra TLC but it depends what you are looking for. The beds were very comfortable & clean. Also, call if you need information, they are not very good at responding to emails. The hotel is ALL NON - SMOKING.

Room Tip: If you don't like your room ask for another, they are very accomadating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodmay Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodmay Heritage Hotel

Address: 6251 Yew Street, Powell River, British Columbia V8A 4M8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Powell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Powell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rodmay Heritage Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful full service heritage hotel located in historic district. Close to beaches, kayaking, hiking, theatre, restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rodmay Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodmay Heritage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.