We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place to Stay in Waterton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Northland Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Northland Lodge to your Saves list
Northland Lodge
408 Evergreen Ave, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Hagerstown, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The Place to Stay in Waterton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

My wife, mother and I stayed at the lodge in June 2010 for three nights. Despite two days of hard rain and chilly conditions, we had a wonderful time! Jeanne is an incredible hostess and helped make our stay very memorable. Since we were unable to participate in our planned activities Jeanne suggested building a fire in the historic stone fireplace, turning the atmosphere into a warm and cozy home away from home. It was the perfect solution to what would have otherwise been a dismal experience. We read and relaxed by the fire, socialized in the afternoon, and got to know Jeanne on a more personal level. She's a delightful person and innkeeper, and is very knowledgeable on the history of Waterton and the Northland Lodge. Breakfast was simple and included fresh, hot muffins, wonderful coffee, tea and orange juice. The Saskatoon jam was the perfect topping for the muffins. Our overall experience was great and I would highly recommend the Northland Lodge to anyone. It was extremely clean! Coupled with the historic charm, great location, spectacular views, sleep quality and value, the combination made this choice a place we'll want to return to again and again. Thanks for the terrific time Jeanne. We will always remember you and the wonderful experience you helped create for us. Please say hello to Brody from us and may God bless you.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    36
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
22
58
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

We spent two weeks in Glacier and the Canadian Rockier and relied heavily on Tripadvisor recommendations for lodging. This was the only one that was disappointing. When friends, who are going on a similar trip this summer asked for our itinerary, I noted that this was the only place I would not recommend. The town is cute and the park is beautiful. We thoroughly enjoyed seeing the deer and other wild life. We found the Northland Lodge to be dated and shabby and the innkeeper to be unwelcoming. Perhaps we caught her at a bad time, but she seemed very distracted and cool...really did not want to do anything more than quickly collect our money. We reserved a large room that was spacious, but found the bathroom to be small and the towels quite stiff and thin. The homemade muffins we read about on the website and in the reviews and been looking forward to were small and disappointing, and there was no space in the dining room area for us to comfortably sit. The innkeeper was singularly unhelpful. We went into town for breakfast instead. This is a great area, so don't miss it, but find someplace else to stay.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BessieandGrace, Manager at Northland Lodge, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
All I have to respond to this guest is that her stay was 4 years ago when there really was a different manager who is no longer employed by the lodge and further that we don't have any thin towels. I think the majority of the responses that are opposite from this review speak for themselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

The town of Waterton Lakes is a quaint village nestled in the Canadian Rockies. Beautiful and well appointed in both its setting and atmosphere. Good restaurants, nice stores and gorgeous scenery with ample wildlife viewing and hiking adventures to suit any taste. Travelers be warned that travel this far north require summer stays since by the middle of September many, if not most services, are shutting down for the long winter.

The Northland Lodge benefits from being at a great spot in this wonderful locale and from being one of only a few lodgings in the whole region to offer the ambiance of a B&B. An old home retrofitted as a B&B, it still maintains some charm but is in need of some updating. With nine rooms, there are generally plenty of other guests to interact with which creates a comfortable, friendly atmosphere. Furnishings are comfortable if a bit dated. The rooms can be small, so the use of the common area is a must for some guests. Breakfasts consist entirely of muffins, delicious and hearty, but for stays of more than two nights, it gets a bit old to have the same type of muffins each day. And for those bent on heavy duty hiking, not quite the breakfast to send you on your way for an active day.

For our stay, the hostess was nice and cordial. However, she was not that knowledgeable about the local activities (didn't get the timing or locations right), nor the local restaurants (1 recommendation only even though there were many in town). This may have been due to the fact that was over taxed as she had no help for a 9 room, fully occupied B&B, and as a consequence the service was not quite what one would expect at a nice B&B.

Overall, the Northland Lodge has real potential with a great location and an historic setting, but could use more staffing help for a nine room facility and is in desperate need of more variety for breakfast. If there were competition in the lovely town of Waterton Lakes, this B&B would have to pick up its game. As it is, if you want to stay in a B&B in the village of Waterton Lakes, this is your place.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaleden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

My wife and I attended a wedding at the Bayshore and we were glad that we stayed at Northland instead. Jeanne was awsomeand helpfull. She adds her personal touch in everything . Nothing too fancy, just comfortable,quiet, affordable, cozy, friendly and great muffins, Thanks Jeanne. Jose, A.J., Pegi and Joy.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

Quiet place away from the downtown yet within easy walking distance of town.
We stayed in the "bear den" Room 9 (basement)
Ask the host for the family story.
Enjoyed the scenery from the balcony at sunset. The room was clean and the beds comfortable.
The Northland Lodge staff made us feel right at home.
Restaurant recommendations were excellent.
During the breakfast we met interesting people staying at the lodge and went outside to find deer lounging in the back yard.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights late August. Hostess was out when we arrived, key and a note were there waiting for us. We checked ourselves in; each room is a bit different (I had gone online ahead of time and requested a specific room, which was all ready for us).

Waterton townsite is full of deer, and mom deer and her 2 fawn were the official Northland Lodge greeters!

Room was clean. Bed was very comfortable. It was very quiet (the area is quiet also). We could hear some people on the stairs, but after a day of hiking, most people conk out early (as we did the 3 nights we were there).

Breakfast in the morning is juice, coffee, tea and homemade muffins. If you ask, Jeanne will give you a copy of the recipe (i asked as they were quite good).

Jeanne is very amiable and is happy to give you suggestions (or to leave you alone if that's what you want). The nice thing about this place is that you an visit with other guests over breakfast, hearing about their hikes the day before, which may help plan your own. All in all, it was a pleasant 3 nights and we would stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

The Northland Lodge is the best choice to take, if you are looking for a quiet place with great hospitallity. Jeanne the manager is the one who can make your stay a memorable event ( if you like ;-). She is very handy to bring different people of all ages and origins together as friends. And of course she is a perfect guide for the waterton area too. Any helpful information needed? She got it! And we loved to listening a lot more interresting stories while sitting arround the fireplace. Jeanne is a wonderful host and the freshmade muffins with jam for breakfast are awsome. Northland Lodge "rocks"!!! .......to be continued.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Northland Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northland Lodge

Address: 408 Evergreen Ave, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Historic Lodge, built in 1928 for a family home of Louis Hill, the famous builder of The Prince of Whales Hotel, is sweetly located in the quiet part of Waterton and is a 5 minute walk to downtown. A stone's throw from the Waterfalls and the only B&B inside the Park and Town of Waterton serving our Famous Hot Muffins with Saskatoon Berry Jam, Coffee, Tea & Orange Juice every morning. Open your window and listen to the sound of the waterfalls all night or hang out on the large deck and watch the deer come off the mountain. Wireless in-room Internet free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Northland Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northland Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park
Northland Lodge Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northland Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.