We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clear Mountain Lake ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Upper Waterton Lake

Upper Waterton Lake
Upper Waterton Lake, Waterton Lakes National Park, AB, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta, Canada
403-859-2362
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Bodies of Water
Attraction Details
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Clear Mountain Lake ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The lake is very clear and surrounded by mountains. I loved walking by the lake or just relaxing on a lawn chair and taking in the beautiful scenery.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    11
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northridge, CA
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
85 attraction reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Went there on a very recent trip! Amazingly Beautiful, it made me stay longer than I planned. Be sure to walk around the town.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Lots of Big Horn Sheep”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This was a moderately strenuous hike around this lake but well worth the effort. We ran into a lot of snow on the trail about two hours into our walk and had to turn around, but found a lot of beautiful views to take in on the way down. A real treat was a herd of Big Horn Sheep on the trail in front of us while hiking down.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Ghost town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Waterton during the New years was an Ghost town and while it was relaxing to get away from the hussle and bussel we should have picked an area that had more activities going on.

BUT we fully understand that in the summer time this one of the more picturistic area of Alberta. We will need to visit again during the summer months.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kildare
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful places I have been to.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

While on a driving holiday in Canada in November, we happened upon Waterton. As it was out of season it was nearly deserted and I thought it was one of the most beautiful places I have been. the lake was cossetted by the Rockies and was spectacular. It is only a small place and we stayed in the hotel there. We had a beautiful meal and the next morning when we came out there were 3 moose around the car. I imagine that in Summer, whilst it would be busy it would just as spectacular. In relation to the other beautiful places I have been are Torres Del Paine in Patagonia, Mongolia and Connemara in the West of Ireland.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upper Waterton Lake also viewed

Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Upper Waterton Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Upper Waterton Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.