We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a cool place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Rock Canyon

Red Rock Canyon
Red Rock Pkwy. | off park access rd., 10 km (6 mi) north of Waterton Park, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta, Canada
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Such a cool place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We loved red rock canyon, drive there is beautiful, a nice scenic route. Great easy walking and biking trails. Stairs right down so you can walk in the water. Such a great family destination.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    103
    24
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Florida, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful drive with views and wildlife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Saw a hillside bear, people having fun in the river at the end of the drive, and beautiful meadows filled with wildflowers.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Must do when in Waterton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Every Waterton visitor needs to go to Red Rock Canyon. Go and see the beautiful canyon, the fossilized ripple marks in the rocks, and the transition from prairies to mountains. Things to do at red rock include a short hike to Blakiston falls, picnic at Lost Horse Creek, cycling on the trails, marvelling at the array of flowers that can grow in a 3 month season.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
red oak, ia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The scenic drive to get there was beautiful!!! We saw a bear crossing the road and stayed to eat! The canyon was pretty but not amazing! However; it was an interesting walk and had some history! We were not sorry we went!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing canyon and drive down the road”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Red Rock canyon was amazing. The canyon is really red! Very beautiful to see and photograph. Unfortunately the day we visited was very cloudy and rained on and off but it was still very beautiful. The road to the canyon had lots of wildlife. We saw 5 black bears in a few hours. All very very close to our car so we got some amazing photos! We hiked part of the trail and it had many amazing wildflowers. If you go to Waterton definitely check out Red Rock Canyon.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Rock Canyon also viewed

Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Red Rock Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Rock Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.