We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Rock Canyon

Red Rock Canyon
Red Rock Pkwy. | off park access rd., 10 km (6 mi) north of Waterton Park, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta, Canada
Improve this listing
Type: Canyons, National Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I first came to Red Rock Canyon in 1978 as a child and loved it. I spent hours playing in the river, climbing the rocky outcrops, exploring the woodlands around. My family used to come here often to barbeque and whilst I loved the place I didn't really appreciate quite how special it was until I came back as an adult with my own four children. It is simply stunningly beautiful. We found a new-fangled barbeque lodge where the old log cabin of my childhood had stood, just off the road up to the main car park (follow the signage for horse trailers). You really could be at the end of the earth, all alone. We spent a glorious sunny afternoon by the river, finding "treasures" among the stones, and just soaking up the beauty of the place. Unfortunately the old BBQ pits of my childhood have all disappeared: you need to bring your own disposable or portable BBQ if you want to do serious cooking, but there is a lovely cast-iron stove (with a relief picture of hockey skaters on the door) which you can use to heat up a camp kettle or, with the door open, roast marshmallows.

Waterton is full of beautiful hidden corners -- I could name many others -- but this one is particularly dear to me and really worth a visit if you want peace and seclusion.

P.S. There are bears around -- all year -- so be careful. We met a mama-bear and her cub on the road back!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    80
    19
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We took the walk around the canyon. It was very beautiful and got terrific pictures of flowers, rocks, and lots of other things .The waterfall is gorgeous. I highly recommend taking the full walk if you can. There are benches on the way around so you have places to rest.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery and WILDLIFE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Family spent a couple of days in this area. Hiked and cooled off in Red Rock Canyon. Found plenty of quiet places we enjoyed as a family. We were there in July and did not have traffic problems. Late afternoon was the time we spotted many bears and their cubs. Pack a lunch and enjoy the beauty and peace!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Traveled this loop several times a day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The loop through the Red Rock Canyon area was where we saw the majority of wildlife. We went several times a day and were never disappointed; there was always some sort of wildlife to enjoy and photograph. Since it was September, traffic was not much of a problem, but I imagine that there are some pretty good jams during the summer when people stop to watch the bears, moose, etc.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wildlife on way to red rock”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The drive out: two grizzlies and a black bear family. Gorgeous aspens. Great plains intruding into the mountains, much different scenery from Banff and Jasper.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Rock Canyon also viewed

Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Red Rock Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Rock Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.