We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Mountain Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Waterton Lakes National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear Mountain Motel
Save
You added Bear Mountain Motel to your Saves list
208 Mountainview Rd., Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada (Formerly El Cortez)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

We stayed here after driving all the way down from Calgary after a transatlantic flight. Naturally we were exhausted so we slept great. This was easily the cheapest place in town, and as the town site is so small, you are right in the middle. We woke up to a few inches of snow, which was romantic (can't promise that will happen to you!)
The motel was a little shabby, but it sells itself as a kitsch 1960's throwback, so it's exactly as advertised. The lady on reception was very friendly and recommended Zum's for something to eat (we had the fired chicken and slaw.... would also recommend it). We also had a great breakfast in Pearl's the next morning, and used the free wi-fi there - would also recommend.
One word of warning... we were passing through to cross over into the USA, and the border does not open until 09:00. Don't turn up at 06:00 like we did!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    64
    33
    10
    4
See reviews for
37
79
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

The bad - Rooms tiny, shower impossible to use, noise awful, internet poor
Good - location, but if you're in the town you're in the town - it's tiny

Had read the reviews but have to say it's the worst motel we've every stayed in - no plans to return although the town is nice

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Right in the heart of Waterton, this is a very charming motel with all the basics you could need. Small kitchenette with pots/pans, plates, etc, small bathroom (make sure you get your shower in first as you share your hot water tank with your neighbours) and a queen bed.

Accommodations were very clean, bed was comfy, can't beat that view. Lake straight in front of you, mountains to the left and right. Free coffee/tea/hot chocolate in the main reception, but a coffee house is a few minutes walk away. Staff were very friendly and informative.

Yes there is no phone and the TV is old school with rabbit ears, but who doesn't have a cell phone these days. We brought a deck of cards to pass the time, no need for TV (besides we were tired from all those hikes). We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Beautiful Waterton Park.. what a great place! The Bear Mountain Motel was good value for money. The room was clean and the bed was comfy. There is a small kitchenette so you are able to prepare meals if you wanted to. Unfortunately there is very limited TV reception (one channel) and there is no phone in the room. There is a public telephone outside of the motel. Coffee and hot chocholate is offered throughout the day. The staff were friendly and informative. There is all kinds of wildlife wandering around the roads... deer roam around freely picking on grass in the main street. Overall a great place to stay on a budget.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

staying here made our Wateron visit a huge success. friendly staff. a most excellent location right in town. updated, yet 'old-school' classic 60's motel. best mattress for our 3 night stay on our 3 week road trip. bathroom/shower stall is quite small, but acceptable. we did find a few ants in the room the first day, but hey it was late in the season and quite cold outside.....

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elysburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Single room with one queen bed was sizable and great for 2 adults. 2 rooms with 2 double beds and kitchenette very small. One bed was right out in front of stove and sink. The unit really only had one bedroom. Beds comfortable! Clean, very small bathrooms. Great price for Waterton. I would suggest single rooms. No TV reception.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

Fantastic place to stay as long as you're not looking for large rooms or modern conveniences. Super clean, staff is friendly, beds are comfy. Free coffee and hot chocolate in the morning. Hey, you're in Waterton, you don't really need anything else as one of the world's truly great national parks is outside your door waiting to be experienced! We'd return to the Bear!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bear Mountain Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Mountain Motel

Address: 208 Mountainview Rd., Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada (Formerly El Cortez)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Bear Mountain Motel Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park
Bear Mountain Hotel
Bear Mountain Motel Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Mountain Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.