We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World Class Hike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crypt Lake Trail

Crypt Lake Trail
Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta, Canada
Improve this listing
Type: Hiking Trails, Nature & Parks, Outdoor Activities
Activities: Hiking, Viewing wildlife
Attraction details
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“World Class Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hike has vista, waterfalls, lakes and wildlife to beat the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Band! The scenery is fabulous. The trail is lovely with just enough challenge to make you good and tired by the end of the hike. I would do it again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    18
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Quite a climb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is quite a long hike and steep in places, we never got to the top as we had smaller kids with us but it is beautiful . There is a chance of bears so be noisy and stay in a group for safety. The lake is at the end and top of the trail.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful hike that should not be missed!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I have done this hike numerous times ourselves, with friends, and family. It is a gorgeous hike with great photo opportunities and different scenery changing as you progress. We have seen grizzlys a couple times (no where near the path, rather the lakes below) which is pretty neat, but seeing bears in Waterton is no tough feat. I'm very timid of the ledge you have to hold onto the steel cable with, but in the end it is worth it. We will definitely hike it again, it's one of our regular hikes and would encourage anyone to try it. You will not be disappointed!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Two's company, three's a crowd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

14 or 15 k round trip if you skip the Hell's Falls detour. It\s all hard work and very narrow untill the last couple of k. It\s a great destination and i was lucky to have been first to the lake and back in Waterton by 1515.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very adventurous hike, a little scary but worth every step!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hike was very fun! The views, different sceneries, waterfalls are incredible!! You do need to be careful w/ your steps along the ledge, in the tunnel and along the steel cable, but I took my time and it was no problem! We visited Waterton off-season (end of Sept) so there were only about 20 of us on the entire trail!

It was a little stressful to have time constraints (ie. needing to finish at 5:30pm when the boat comes to pick you up). However, we turned out to be "average hikers" (actually more toward the end of our group) and finished w/ about 15 mins to spare.

There is a pit toilet right near the lake too.

I think that you do need to be in above average shape to finish this 11 mile hike. There is a lot of uphill and few places to rest on the narrow portions. Plus, you can't take your sweet time or you'll miss the boat!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crypt Lake Trail also viewed

Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Crypt Lake Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crypt Lake Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.