We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely romantic stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterton Glacier Suites

Save Saved
You added Waterton Glacier Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waterton Glacier Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107 Wildflower Ave | Box 51, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Golf Getaway!
New Rochelle
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A lovely romantic stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

After spending time in the small hotel rooms of Glacier National Park on the US side, we were thrilled to enjoy three nights in our large romantic suite in the Glacier Suites of Waterton. Though the views were only OK, the room was large, the king sized bed was very comfortable and the jacuzzi really hit the spot after our 8 mile hike on check in day. We loved our balcony with its comfortable swing, as well as the refrigerator and microwave plus free wifi. The staff was helpful and the town was friendly and convenient. All in all, it was a wonderful ending to a fabulous vacation.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    69
    36
    16
    9
See reviews for
52
117
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Union, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

We stayed here for two nights (in a deluxe suite) during our trip to Glacier-Waterton. I chose this hotel (over the Prince of Wales) for the wifi and tv to break up our nights of having neither while in Glacier. For the most part we were satisfied with our stay. I have to say it was much less luxurious than I was led to believe by looking at the website. The suite consists of a very small living room with a gas fireplace, couch and tv, a bedroom with a king bed and a dresser and another fireplace, a bathroom and a small kitchenette with a microwave and tv. The fireplaces were gas and worked well but the room for some reason was always very hot and stuffy although the temperature outside was quite cool. We didn't get maid service at all and when I went to the desk to ask for towels, they were very apologetic. The staff at the front desk were all very nice and let us check in a little early. You also get a 10% discount at the restaurants at the Bayshore Inn for being a guest at the Waterton Suites which was a nice surprise.

All in all, our stay was fine. Everything in Waterton is very expensive compared to Montana, so the cost to stay here is significant. This is definitely not the caliber of hotel you would expect to get for over 200 dollars a night in the US, however I'm not sure there are many better options if you want to stay overnight in Waterton.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

Our first visit to Waterton Lakes National Park. Suite was large. Nice bathroom. Small porch off 1st floor room. Not a great view, as hotel was in the middle of town, but we really weren't there to stay indoors. The surrounding area was amazing! Walked to dock, shops and restaurants. Needed our car to explore the rest of the park.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins, West Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

Pluses: convenient location on side street; helpful staff; generally clean.

Minuses: terrible bed; worse pillow; lots of noise from upstairs (walking, flushing, etc.); nearly useless "living" room; tv location makes it impossible for two to watch comfortably; some walls are stained and tattered looking; no attention to cleaning details.

It's OK, but I would try other options before I returned to this one.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

The hotel was clean, staff was great
The place is in need of redecorating. The jacuzzi was small and old - not appealing so we did not try to use it. The living room was small and seemed stuffy. It did have a screen door, that when used with the sliding glass doors in the bedroom created a nice breeze.
The "kitchen" is a microwave and small fridge in a closet near the bathroom. The coffee is single mug which creates a great deal of plastic waste to place in the trash. I would like to suggest they re-think this. Another place we stayed in had a full coffee pot thermous type that they filled for you each day - all you had to do was push a button and you had a full pot of gourmet coffee.
We also had to ask for plates and utensils.
The area is beautiful, but we felt that we did not get any better accomidations that would have been at thier sister property - the Bayshore - at a lower cost.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

We stayed two nights at the Waterton Glacier Suites and enjoyed our time there immensely.
We stayed in Room 203, a romance suite, and enjoyed the very clean, big and comfortable suite. The room had a king size bed, a two person jacuzzi tub and full bathroom.
The staff was at all times courteous, friendly and very professional. They ensured that we got the most of our time there.
The purpose of our trip was to get away from the hustle and bustle and enjoy some down time. We enjoyed sitting out on the deck and watching the multiple deer frolic and eat on the grounds below. There is so much to see and do in Waterton and would definitely recommend this hotel and the area for anyone looking for pure relaxation.
I can’t say enough good things about this hotel and area. We will be back again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Waterton Glacier Suites July 18 and 19, 2010. The room rate was the highest paid during our visit to Canada. However, room options are limited in this area and we were in "high season". The facility was clean and the rooms comfortable. We had two power outages that were corrected shortly due to heavy rain storms in the evening.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
This was an excellent location to explore Waterton Park and also Glacier National Park in Montana. You are a 45 minute drive from the US border entry point and 1 1/2 hours from Glacier National Park. We spent ten hours driving from Waterton down to Glacier National Park and back to Waterton. Well worth the time. Beautiful country and scenery. The "going to the sun" road in Glacier is spectacular.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waterton Glacier Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterton Glacier Suites

Address: 107 Wildflower Ave | Box 51, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterton Glacier Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterton Glacier Suites is Waterton's newest and highest rated hotel. We have three different types of suites - Deluxe, Romantic and Loft Suites with two full bathrooms! This all suite property boasts a fireplace, jetted tub, mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, in room safes and heavenly bedding in all our rooms. We are located in the center of the village and we are a non-smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Waterton Glacier Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterton Glacier Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park
Hotel Waterton Glacier
Waterton Glacier Suites Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterton Glacier Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.