We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Years Eve Meal at Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort

Save Saved
You added Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Clematis Avenue, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Red Deer, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great New Years Eve Meal at Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The New Years Eve Dinner was excellent. We didnt stay at the lodge as we stayed with friends who have a cabin in Waterton. But the meal was excellent. I had Elk, my husband had buffalo. Friends had steak and salmon. It was all first class.

However, New Years day buffet lunch/brunch was not so good...but I guess the staff had put their 'all' into the New Years feast, so can't complain.

Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    60
    46
    26
    19
See reviews for
51
92
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Went in October of this year (2012). Great because we could bring our two dogs. Decent room. Clean and cozy. Stayed 2 nights. Everything in town but the bar/resto at the lodge was closed so we ate all meals there and had some drinks there as well.

Food was fine - not amazing but not terrible at all. Staff was amazingly happy and helpful. Property seemed to be in great shape, we forgot bathing suits so sadly, we did not use the pool/hot tub.

We would definitely go back in the summer!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

On the Plus side: you get most of what you need in your bedroom. The hotel is well located close to shops and restaurants and is open even out of the main season. The lodge (main building) has a nice (but pricy) restaurant. You also get good service from the managers who will help with touristic options and special needs

On the OK side: wifi available in the room, though a little slow (probably due to location being surrounded by mountains)

On the Minus side: for that kind of price you could expect a little more. The rooms are a little basic: very poor acoustics, no fridge, very simple decoration, and you get no breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed here for two nights with our 2.5 year old and loved every minute of it! A 2 bed suite with a pull-out in the front room was perfect for us. We used the well-stocked kitchen to make snacks and late night teas. Our son went to bed exhausted after hiking and then swimming in the lodge's heated pool. We closed his door and went into the front room and watched Netflix on our laptop since the TV was in the bedroom. The hotel's wifi provided fairly consistent service. Every staff member we encountered was very helpful throughout our visit right down to a gentleman offering to brush the snow off our car windows before we left! I am rating it as excellent not because it is luxury but because it is exactly the kind of place you want to stay in Waterton. Comfortable, practical and located a short walking distance from anything you need. We would have loved to stay longer!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The room can get quite hot as we where on the 2nd floor, there is a ceiling fan in the room. The bathroom had a skylight which was great, no window to open so it would get quite hot. Maid service wasn't great. Took our shower soap but did't leave a nother one to use? Not sure why they took it. didn't clean the toilet or the countertop and sink. Location was handy but everywhere is Waterton is close and can walk easily around the town.

Room Tip: Good Location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Where to start!! We knew everywhere in Waterton was expensive but when you pay almost $200 a night you expect a lot more than what we got! Front desk were fine on arrival. There are no lifts in each block so if you are on the second floor you have to carry your bags up. Just something to note. Also the front entrances to the blocks are not well marked, we went up the fire escape stairs before we realised there was another main entrance.

The room was pretty small for what we paid but we were given a balcony as requested. The lighting outside the buildings is not great and there were times I wish I had a flashlight. And the lighting in the room was even worse!

The wireless in the room didnt work. I appreciate they are in the middle of the mountains but they also advertise free internet. It was 10.30pm and when I went to reception they told me I would have to rent an internet usb key for $7 a night!! Its not the guests fault that their location impacts on wireless connection so you shouldnt have to pay! Because we needed internet access we had to buy it. I asked to pay with a different credit card then the room was booked on and got attitude from the girl as it was past their time for adding up/closing up for the day so it was a hassle. She did take it though. I had a few other queries on the internet and again thought her attitude was surly.

Next day we slept late as we had arrived late. We left our room at 11.30am and when we got back the beds hadne even been made....the sheets had been pulled up but not properly made. The bin had been emptied but nothing else had been replaced (tea/coffee/sugar etc). Not acceptable for the price we paid.

We didnt eat in the restaurant attached as it seemed quite expensive and we didnt use the leisure centre so cant comment on those.

On a positive note, the location is excellent and there is parking at each block. Also the beds were comfortable.

But taking everything into consideration the facilities and service we got for the price were not acceptable. I will say that we didnt complain at the time as we didnt see the point!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Yes, the Waterton Lakes Lodge is an experience, I wish I could say a happy one.
Not so, the place is for Backpackers not Tourist, primitive to say the least at 5 star prices.
Zimy's restaurant, part of the Lodge, is an absolute disgrace. The food we ordered took over an hour to be served and when it was finally served it was burnt and cold. The chef is an amateur clown, least to say we refused to eat the meal and left without paying.

Room Tip: My tip is too AVOID and try somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort

Address: 101 Clematis Avenue, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort is located in the heart of the Waterton Lakes National Park town site. Surrounded by the Canadian Rockies, this property offers affordable rooms and suites; indoor pool and hot tub; fitness and recreation center; ski and snowshoe rentals; banquet hall and meeting space; and stunning mountain views! A good sleep, a good meal, and a great adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterton Lakes Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park
Waterton Lake Lodge
Waterton Lakes Alberta
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.