We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eh!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort

Save Saved
You added Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Clematis Avenue, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Vail, Colorado
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Eh!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Lodging is tough in Waterton. If you're not going to spring for the Prince of Wales, you'll have to settle for just average here at the Waterton Lakes Lodge. The location is just fine, and the "resort" is spread out across a couple of blocks in the center of town. It's a close walk to everything in Waterton (which is all about the views and hikes). Food in the restaurant was average, with weak service. The rooms are more like dormitory type rooms. At this price you should not have to contend with mildew in the showers. But the parking is very ample, and with the wildlife so bountiful, you'll quickly be distracted from the average nature of your dwelling. Layout of the place is a bit odd, and it is clear that this is run by lots of part time help, ready to skip off to the next resort where they will be working.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    60
    45
    25
    19
See reviews for
50
92
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
scotia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Spent two nights here at the beginning of our trip to the Rockies, mainly to do a day trip into Glacier NP. The hotel was fine, great location in town, clean and quiet. A little pricey, but then everything in Canada is expensive, especially the food. We were pleasantly surprised by the beauty of Waterton Lakes NP and loved our hike up Bears Hump.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The service sucked. No one came to clean our room or replace amenities. We went to the restaraunt for breakfast and the waiter dropped off menus without so much as a word and walked away. We were there for 10 mins. and no one came to take our drink orders or say hello, so we walked out and went somewhere else. We had booked a room there specifically because they had a hottub, but when were got there the hottub was out of service as was the wet sauna....no one had told us this during booking or check-in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels

Williams Lake, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I returned to Waterton Park and the Waterton Lakes Lodge at the end of Aug for my 2nd annual stay. The staff were helpful and friendly and the grounds and buildings were tidy and well kept. The rooms are perfectly fine as a base to explore and enjoy Waterton. Supper in the restaurant was very good and the service was good. The location of the hotel is central to everything in the townsite. I especially enjoyed having a lawn chair to be able to sit outside in the sun after a day hike, and enjoy my ice cream.

Room Tip: I like having a room with an outside entrance to the grounds so that you can sit outside to enjoy th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The place was falling apart. While our room was adequate, the service was abysmal. The bathtub didn't drain and no attempt was made to fix it, the cleaning crew threw away our beer, and there was no place for outside seating. The few was amazing and could have so easily been enjoyed.
Don't recommend it

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

My family have very little time to get away during the summer. Going to Waterton was the perfect vacation and the Waterton Lakes Lodge was perfect for our family. I have a young daughter and she could see the amazing water park and playground. this playground is seriously the biggest gym i havve seen in a town. My daughter was in heaven!
We stayed in a kitchenette suite. This was an under statement as the kitchen was small but you could cook any family dinner in it.
We like the games room and the pool was perfect for small kids.
We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The hefty price reflects the location, and though no big issues with the room, it was definitely overpriced. Room was just ok and everything a bit tired. Knob kept falling off the dresser. Everything else worked, was clean, bed ok, etc. No fridge and had to go to the main building for ice. The pool looked great but couldn't get pool towels so never used it. The little balcony was nice.
Loved the location. The village of Waterton Lakes is a delight. Close to the dock for the boat tour. Hot Dog restaurant across the street, and lovely restaurants in all through the town just a few steps away. We did not eat at the establishment on site. Short drive to wonderful hiking, etc.
If we return to WL (which I hope we do) I'd look for another place to stay, but would return here if nothing else turns up.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort

Address: 101 Clematis Avenue, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort is located in the heart of the Waterton Lakes National Park town site. Surrounded by the Canadian Rockies, this property offers affordable rooms and suites; indoor pool and hot tub; fitness and recreation center; ski and snowshoe rentals; banquet hall and meeting space; and stunning mountain views! A good sleep, a good meal, and a great adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterton Lakes Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park
Waterton Lake Lodge
Waterton Lakes Alberta
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.