We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little bit of Heaven in the Rocky Mountains” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort to your Saves list
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Clematis Avenue, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Alberta
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“A Little bit of Heaven in the Rocky Mountains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

I just spent four nights at a conference in Waterton Lakes National Park. I stayed at the Waterton Lakes Lodge in a Deluxe Room. This was a cozy room with a very comfortable queen sized bed, fireplace, jetted tub, and big bathroom. Waterton is a beautiful little town. So different from Banff. This is an ideal place for those who want to get away from it all. There are several nice restaurants in town, and some great little shops as well. I have stayed at other hotels in Waterton and this is definitely the nicest place to stay. There is also a swimming pool and fitness centre.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    72
    54
    34
    21
See reviews for
64
106
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Spacious, comfortable rooms, terrific food in Vimy's restaurant. Pool and fitness centre can be packed, try to go in there at off-peak times.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunt Valley, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Nice lodge feel to this hotel. Good in town location. Waterton was a nice low key town. Not as mobbed as Banff. Everything in town is walkable from the hotel. Enjoyed the pool. Room was clean and quiet. Bathroom was spacious. Beds comfortable. WiFi was a little slow. Would stay again.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We had trouble finding the place to start with because there are hardly any street signs . . . thank goodness I had caught a glimpse of the mustard coloured buildings on the internet site to help us find the place - also, the tourist information refers to it as the Waterton Lake 'Resort' to further try to confuse us. The room was nice but nothing special. Looks like it was all put together in a hurry - hard to find the 'proper' entrance to our lodge. Something fell behind the bedside table and in retrieving it, I see it has not been vacuumed behind the furniture for a while. The pool was a great addition but generally unkept - bits and pieces left behind, water toys and life jackets floating in the pool in the morning, all locker doors hanging open revealing a couple of used bandaids in one . . . just enough to show that no one gives a @#$! Restaurant was weird with quite a premium put on the dining lounge with a view . . . everything was quite 'tired' looking and unappealing so we went back to the Trapper's Grill where they do a great job and show of hospitality. Thank goodness the surrounding views are spectacular.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed just one night in June. The cabin and our room looked a little bit old, but it was clean. Unfortunately, the price was very high and the room not really worth the money. It is in a National Park, but I would still expect more for the price. Compared to all the other hotels in Waterton it might still be a good choice.

Room Tip: Rooms in the ground floor are noisier and the parking is right in front of your window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

This is a very intimate feeling lodge. My room was nice and the fireplace was a great addition. I loved the location and could walk all around town.

So glad I stopped in Waterton, and so glad I chose Waterton Lakes Lodge!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

This location was chosen for us by Anderson Tours. We found the accomodation clean, comfortable and inviting. The staff were friendly and helpful. Lodge is located near the lake and close to local shops.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort

Address: 101 Clematis Avenue, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort is located in the heart of the Waterton Lakes National Park town site. Surrounded by the Canadian Rockies, this property offers affordable rooms and suites; indoor pool and hot tub; fitness and recreation center; ski and snowshoe rentals; banquet hall and meeting space; and stunning mountain views! A good sleep, a good meal, and a great adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterton Lakes Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park
Waterton Lake Lodge
Waterton Lakes Alberta
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.