We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Prince of Wales Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Prince of Wales Hotel to your Saves list
Prince of Wales Hotel
Off Hwy. 5, Glacier Park Inc., Box 33, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
hexham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Avoid!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

one of the worst places we have ever stayed! The room was very small and the staff unfriendly. The place seems to attract elderly ,child unfriendly,over weight Americans. I would never stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    128
    89
    79
    60
See reviews for
108
243
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
clearwater, florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Lovely historic buidling stading proud on a hill...quite the sight. And what a view! It just can't be beat. It's a busy place, obviously popular..has a very warm feel with all the people coming in and out, enjoying the views and the bar and restaurant.

We scored a super cool corner room so we had windows on two sides. While the view was amazing, the room....well, not so much. Drab and dated with old carpet, soiled in places, and furniture that belongs in a yard sale. But it was big enough for the two of us, and we liked that the sink was outside of the bathroom so one of us could be showering and the other using the sink and mirror without getting a steam bath too. Neat, old fashioned shower with plenty of hot water and decent water pressure. There is a shared balcony outside the room that runs the length of the buidling, so you must keep your curtains shut if you want privacy.

The big bummer about this place is that lack of insulation. You can hear EVEYTHING in your room. We had a terrible time sleeping because of the noise of footsteps overhead (and creaking floorboards), suitcases being rolled down the hall, people out on the balcony, etc. The buidling also creaks and moans with the wind. So if you are a light sleeper and you covet a good night's sleep, maybe this is not the place for you.

We ate in the bar and the restaurant, both of which were not fabulous, but certainly decent and reasonably priced considering the location. Nice service in both. Front desk staff was also courteous and welcoming.

Overall I liked this place because it was historic and memorable. I can live without the sleep. With some updates to the rooms, it could be truly spectacular.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas, USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

When you first enter the front doors of the Prince of Wales Hotel, get ready because you will get a view that is spectacular! The entire back wall of this old lodge is glass giving you an awesome view of the lake and mountains towering in the background. Seated at the top of a sharp incline, the Prince of Wales looks more like a castle than a lodge. I love the comfort of this old lodge but if you prefer new, modern accomodations, this is not your place! If you enjoy the rustic beauty of the old lodges, look forward to views of the great outdoors and can readily live without a lot of amenities, then you will be happy here. The lodge offers high tea many afternoons, has a full service restaurant with great food, a bar with a spectacular view of the lake and mountains and a gift shop who wish to leave with a treasure commemorative of their stay. Rooms include a bed, nightstand and sometimes a chair but not much else. The beds are comfortable enough particularly after a day of hiking, shopping in the nearby town of Waterton or canoeing on the lake. My husband and I have stayed several times and will continue coming back to this majestic place.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I did not stay here but made a stopover for a breakfast on the way back to Washington State on September 2012. Breakfast was excellent, the wait staff was courteous. The view was excellent. We ended up staying for 2 hours to explore the hotel and just enjoyed the view!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This was my first time out of the USA, we traveled up through Glacier into Canada. The Prince of Wales Hotel was the peak of our trip. It's a beautiful historic charming place. Older "Swiss" charm, but that was one of the greatest elements to staying there. NO INTERNET OR CELL PHONE COVERAGE BUT THAT WAS GREAT!!! Anyone who complains about that is an idiot. That's what vacations are for!!!!!!! We loved every bit of it, including the old elevator (used only for luggage) so you have to climb the stairs to your room, which is GREAT! We cannot praise the staff at the hotel enough. Christian the bellhop, Jana, Stephanie waitresses...they were all sweet and amazing. Would love to go back again some day.

Room Tip: AWESOME views from every side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This was our second trip to the hotel exactly one year apart. The hotel is very elegant and we really enjoy staying here. The view from our room was beautiful as we were facing the lake. The beds were very comfortable. Bathrooms are a little small, but given the age of the hotel, no surprise. We didn't have any room noise whatsoever, but then again we were here the first couple days that they were open for the season! Not many people. Our 12 year old son, who I thought would not enjoy himself, loved the hotel. He asked if we could go back. He especially loved the "tiny" hand-driven elevator.

We also saw a lot of wildlife, including two young grizzlies that were wrestling for about 30 minutes. Got some great pictures!

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the lake. Gorgeous!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel was the most expensive of the 4 we stayed at during our trip to Glacier. We appreciate the age and size of the rooms, but found that some well-needed cleaning and paint would have made our stay more enjoyable. Loved the view from the lobby. Found the food to be extremely expensive so we ate in the village for most meals.Very glad that we stayed there despite these short-comings. It was an amazing sight as we drove from the Chief Mountain border crossing. You could see it from everywhere we went in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake can be noisy with wind shaking the windows - but the views are amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales Hotel

Address: Off Hwy. 5, Glacier Park Inc., Box 33, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the Prince of Wales Hotel is located on the bluff overlooking picturesque Waterton Lakes and the township of Waterton, Alberta Canada. This stately hotel, named after Prince Edward, offers 86 guest rooms and a traditional British atmosphere complete with Afternoon Tea, the Royal Stewart Dining Room, Windsor Lounge, and the distinctive gift shop, Princess Gifts. The Prince of Wales Hotel is a smoke free, 7-story facility with designated outdoor smoking areas. Check-in time is after 3:00 p.m. and checkout time is 11:00 a.m. All rooms are accessed via stairs and are sold based on view or room size. An antique elevator is available for floors 2 through 4 and requires assistance to operate. There are no ADA-accessible rooms available at Prince of Wales Hotel. The self parking lot is located a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Prince Of Wales
Prince Wales Hotel Waterton
Prince Of Wales Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince of Wales Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.